We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but watch out for those tiki lights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
22 Kaba Aye Pagoda Rd, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
+95 541997
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Woodside, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but watch out for those tiki lights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our last night in Yangon at La Planteur. We prepaid for the dinner portion as we were the end of a 18 day trip and didn't know how our cash would be at the end of the visit. [No ATM's or CC's.] We had the chef's recommended menu with several selections. The food was beautifully presented and accommodated lots of choices. It was very good but not excellent, certainly not something we will remember. The wine list was way too expensive with very few reasonable choices. The garden setting was lovely but there are several problems. 1. Yangon's pollution is increasing and you can start to taste it. We were there in 2004 and it isn't nearly as bad as Bangkok or Beijing but you can start to experience the taste. 2. But the real problem was their tiki lamps (kerosene oil in the bamboo lights with wicks that light the perimeter of the garden. We were near the lamps and they were irritating. Additionally they set a couple behind us who literally chain smoked the entire evening. There were four of us at our table and I had the corner where the fumes from the lamp and the cigarette smoke seemed to meet. I kept falling asleep. My husband asked me why I was slurring my words. I thought maybe I had caught some bug. It dawned on me way too late in the meal that I was getting the effect of that kerosene (or fuel) burning. We asked the waiter to move us to near the house and the bar for the last course and tea and I immediately felt different. How silly of me/us not to recognize this ahead during our dinner but that's how it is with gases. I am going to write the restaurant but I recommend that you find a table away from the lights. I wish they also had a no smoking section even if it is outside. AND bring some flashlights to read the menu. To achieve the ambiance they want you really have to work at seeing things on the menu and table. We usually aren't that sensitive to pollution and air borne effects but it seemed to be a perfect storm of all the events at once. Diners beware.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    110
    33
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth every dollar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After spending two weeks in Myanmar and eating some reasonably fine dining meals in various hotel restaurants I was slightly dubious about our booking at Le Planteur given some of the reviews. I had promised my partner Michelin Star food and was worried they would not meet our expectations.
From the moment we arrived my doubts disappeared. We were ushered to our table after being assured there would be a car to return us to our hotel. Service was efficient and professional. The amuse bouches were delightful if extravagant.
We both ordered the set menu and a bottle of wine and waited to be surprised.
The food was truly delightful and definitely met our expectations.
The desserts were overwhelming. The set menu included 3 different chocolate based desserts plus choices from the dessert trolley! The only surprise was to be charged for the coffee.
Extravagant yes but if you want a real fine dining experience Le Planteur is definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to Le Planteur during a recent trip to Yangon based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The setting, outdoor in a lovely garden behind a large manor house eating by candlelight and surrounded by modern and traditional outdoor Burmese decor was stunning. The menu accommodated all tastes and the wine list was extensive. The food was delicious and well presented and service was first class. Not overpriced by international standards for the ambience, food and service. Who would have thought that one would find fine dining of this calibre in Yangon. And the drive to the hotel in the Morris was indeed fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Superb setting but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Le Planteur on the recommendation of friends who had lived in Rangoon. The place is positively superb, South East Asian decoration at its best. The food, though, did not quite live up to the hype - good, but not more than that, and very much overpriced. In retrospect, we thought we should rather have had a drink and gone elsewhere for dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Food over-rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Setting is fantastic; food was good, but to the French woman who told us that it was the best meal she had ever had, I'd say 'you should get out more'!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Planteur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.