We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every dollar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
80 University Avenue | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
+95 1 514 230
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: WE HAVE MOVED TO 80 UNIVERSITY AVENUE. Le Planteur opens a new restaurant on Inya Lake, at 80 University Road. Le Planteur (Inya Lake) upgraded even more to the next standard of finesse in quality, standard and ambience!! And so, Le Planteur (Inya Lake) remains faithful to its concept, in a stunningly attractive venue!! It is an exciting and wonderful evolution and change for Le Planteur - but the things you and I love about Le Planteur have not changed. A new Chef arrived at Le Planteur! The team is proud to welcome Chef Gil Dumoulin who will be in charge of the fine dining restaurant.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth every dollar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After spending two weeks in Myanmar and eating some reasonably fine dining meals in various hotel restaurants I was slightly dubious about our booking at Le Planteur given some of the reviews. I had promised my partner Michelin Star food and was worried they would not meet our expectations.
From the moment we arrived my doubts disappeared. We were ushered to our table after being assured there would be a car to return us to our hotel. Service was efficient and professional. The amuse bouches were delightful if extravagant.
We both ordered the set menu and a bottle of wine and waited to be surprised.
The food was truly delightful and definitely met our expectations.
The desserts were overwhelming. The set menu included 3 different chocolate based desserts plus choices from the dessert trolley! The only surprise was to be charged for the coffee.
Extravagant yes but if you want a real fine dining experience Le Planteur is definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whatever141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to Le Planteur during a recent trip to Yangon based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The setting, outdoor in a lovely garden behind a large manor house eating by candlelight and surrounded by modern and traditional outdoor Burmese decor was stunning. The menu accommodated all tastes and the wine list was extensive. The food was delicious and well presented and service was first class. Not overpriced by international standards for the ambience, food and service. Who would have thought that one would find fine dining of this calibre in Yangon. And the drive to the hotel in the Morris was indeed fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb setting but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Le Planteur on the recommendation of friends who had lived in Rangoon. The place is positively superb, South East Asian decoration at its best. The food, though, did not quite live up to the hype - good, but not more than that, and very much overpriced. In retrospect, we thought we should rather have had a drink and gone elsewhere for dinner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cloudtail10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food over-rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Setting is fantastic; food was good, but to the French woman who told us that it was the best meal she had ever had, I'd say 'you should get out more'!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“À magic dinner under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This must be the best place in Yangoon! A perfect setting in a lush garden. Very good European and Asian food and an excellent wine list. The service is also the best we have seen in Burma. They even drove us back to our hotel, in a 1950s red Morris. This will be burkas first restaurant to get a Michelin star!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hartwig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing