We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
80 University Avenue | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
+95 1 514 230
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: WE HAVE MOVED TO 80 UNIVERSITY AVENUE. Le Planteur opens a new restaurant on Inya Lake, at 80 University Road. Le Planteur (Inya Lake) upgraded even more to the next standard of finesse in quality, standard and ambience!! And so, Le Planteur (Inya Lake) remains faithful to its concept, in a stunningly attractive venue!! It is an exciting and wonderful evolution and change for Le Planteur - but the things you and I love about Le Planteur have not changed.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Superb setting but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Le Planteur on the recommendation of friends who had lived in Rangoon. The place is positively superb, South East Asian decoration at its best. The food, though, did not quite live up to the hype - good, but not more than that, and very much overpriced. In retrospect, we thought we should rather have had a drink and gone elsewhere for dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    134
    45
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Food over-rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Setting is fantastic; food was good, but to the French woman who told us that it was the best meal she had ever had, I'd say 'you should get out more'!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“À magic dinner under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This must be the best place in Yangoon! A perfect setting in a lush garden. Very good European and Asian food and an excellent wine list. The service is also the best we have seen in Burma. They even drove us back to our hotel, in a 1950s red Morris. This will be burkas first restaurant to get a Michelin star!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Surprise in Yangon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had dinner at restaurant on the first evening and we were surprised after driving threw Yangon streets. It was like oasis, very beautiful garden siting, very nice service. Our food was preset menu and was good but not excellent. There was also show, ordered by tour group and show was very nice, very nice costumes and dancers. We had great evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming delight full diner in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a very nice experience at Le Planteur, a charming decor beauty full garden with romantic lights. Very attentive service. The chef is an experienced Swiss chef from Zurich, the food is remarkable, try the ravioles and the fish, fine wines, go in the evening to enjoy a fairy atmosphere! The menu is very French and it is in my opinion the best restaurant in Yangon ! Have returned already !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Planteur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.