We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
22 Kaba Aye Pagoda Rd, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
541 997
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb setting but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went to Le Planteur on the recommendation of friends who had lived in Rangoon. The place is positively superb, South East Asian decoration at its best. The food, though, did not quite live up to the hype - good, but not more than that, and very much overpriced. In retrospect, we thought we should rather have had a drink and gone elsewhere for dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    100
    28
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Food over-rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Setting is fantastic; food was good, but to the French woman who told us that it was the best meal she had ever had, I'd say 'you should get out more'!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“À magic dinner under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This must be the best place in Yangoon! A perfect setting in a lush garden. Very good European and Asian food and an excellent wine list. The service is also the best we have seen in Burma. They even drove us back to our hotel, in a 1950s red Morris. This will be burkas first restaurant to get a Michelin star!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Surprise in Yangon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had dinner at restaurant on the first evening and we were surprised after driving threw Yangon streets. It was like oasis, very beautiful garden siting, very nice service. Our food was preset menu and was good but not excellent. There was also show, ordered by tour group and show was very nice, very nice costumes and dancers. We had great evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming delight full diner in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a very nice experience at Le Planteur, a charming decor beauty full garden with romantic lights. Very attentive service. The chef is an experienced Swiss chef from Zurich, the food is remarkable, try the ravioles and the fish, fine wines, go in the evening to enjoy a fairy atmosphere! The menu is very French and it is in my opinion the best restaurant in Yangon ! Have returned already !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Planteur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.