We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food over-rated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
22 Kaba Aye Pagoda Rd, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
541 997
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Food over-rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Setting is fantastic; food was good, but to the French woman who told us that it was the best meal she had ever had, I'd say 'you should get out more'!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    226
    93
    25
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“À magic dinner under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This must be the best place in Yangoon! A perfect setting in a lush garden. Very good European and Asian food and an excellent wine list. The service is also the best we have seen in Burma. They even drove us back to our hotel, in a 1950s red Morris. This will be burkas first restaurant to get a Michelin star!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Surprise in Yangon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had dinner at restaurant on the first evening and we were surprised after driving threw Yangon streets. It was like oasis, very beautiful garden siting, very nice service. Our food was preset menu and was good but not excellent. There was also show, ordered by tour group and show was very nice, very nice costumes and dancers. We had great evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming delight full diner in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a very nice experience at Le Planteur, a charming decor beauty full garden with romantic lights. Very attentive service. The chef is an experienced Swiss chef from Zurich, the food is remarkable, try the ravioles and the fish, fine wines, go in the evening to enjoy a fairy atmosphere! The menu is very French and it is in my opinion the best restaurant in Yangon ! Have returned already !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not worth the money. Dinner was ok, but nothing special. One of the courses was foie gras, which we don't eat. Rather than offering an alternative, the course was just skipped, and $10 was deducted from the bill. Service was very messy. Hugely disappointing experience. Garden setting was nice though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Planteur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.