We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food over-rated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
80 University Avenue | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
+95 1 514 230
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: WE HAVE MOVED TO 80 UNIVERSITY AVENUE. Le Planteur opens a new restaurant on Inya Lake, at 80 University Road. Le Planteur (Inya Lake) upgraded even more to the next standard of finesse in quality, standard and ambience!! And so, Le Planteur (Inya Lake) remains faithful to its concept, in a stunningly attractive venue!! It is an exciting and wonderful evolution and change for Le Planteur - but the things you and I love about Le Planteur have not changed. A new Chef arrived at Le Planteur! The team is proud to welcome Chef Gil Dumoulin who will be in charge of the fine dining restaurant.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food over-rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Setting is fantastic; food was good, but to the French woman who told us that it was the best meal she had ever had, I'd say 'you should get out more'!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“À magic dinner under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This must be the best place in Yangoon! A perfect setting in a lush garden. Very good European and Asian food and an excellent wine list. The service is also the best we have seen in Burma. They even drove us back to our hotel, in a 1950s red Morris. This will be burkas first restaurant to get a Michelin star!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hartwig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Surprise in Yangon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had dinner at restaurant on the first evening and we were surprised after driving threw Yangon streets. It was like oasis, very beautiful garden siting, very nice service. Our food was preset menu and was good but not excellent. There was also show, ordered by tour group and show was very nice, very nice costumes and dancers. We had great evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruzannaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming delight full diner in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a very nice experience at Le Planteur, a charming decor beauty full garden with romantic lights. Very attentive service. The chef is an experienced Swiss chef from Zurich, the food is remarkable, try the ravioles and the fish, fine wines, go in the evening to enjoy a fairy atmosphere! The menu is very French and it is in my opinion the best restaurant in Yangon ! Have returned already !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LordJim1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not worth the money. Dinner was ok, but nothing special. One of the courses was foie gras, which we don't eat. Rather than offering an alternative, the course was just skipped, and $10 was deducted from the bill. Service was very messy. Hugely disappointing experience. Garden setting was nice though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia_Rosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing