We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUr Best meal in Yangon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
80 University Avenue | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
+95 1 514 230
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: WE HAVE MOVED TO 80 UNIVERSITY AVENUE. Le Planteur opens a new restaurant on Inya Lake, at 80 University Road. Le Planteur (Inya Lake) upgraded even more to the next standard of finesse in quality, standard and ambience!! And so, Le Planteur (Inya Lake) remains faithful to its concept, in a stunningly attractive venue!! It is an exciting and wonderful evolution and change for Le Planteur - but the things you and I love about Le Planteur have not changed.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“OUr Best meal in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

the wagyu beef steak with foie gras was perfect- a local bottledRED MOUNTAIN red wine was exquisite- a pleasant surprise- grape vines flown in from France. If you should have only One (1) great meal in Yangon -this is the place:-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    133
    45
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Garden dining under the stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The large outdoor garden at the rear of the restaurant was a surprise to see in Yangon. Combined with dining under the stars and the fine food, it was an enjoyable experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

An atmospheric colonial style French restaurant in a beautiful garden setting: this is a must when visiting Yangon - fabulous food and a great wine list - overall a truly memorable evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly nsw
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Beautiful garden restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The restaurant is in a large garden displayed beautifully with soft lights and parasols. The tables were large and well ordered. It seemed to me that the night we were there the staff were on a training course. No real problems but only half of the table had their drinks order given them. Another had her entree before she received her aperitif. This is not a criticism, i think they are doing well considering the country is just opening up to tourists. The food was quite nice as were the wines which you could order by the glass or bottle. Not all at our table of 8 were happy with the standard of the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Le Planteur is some distance away from the city centre, but the management offers a complimentary car service in an ancient Vauxhall or Morris. On arrival you are shepherded into a beautiful garden and looked after by a bevy of black-uniformed staff. No one seems to be in charge, but everyone seems to know their job. However, our waiter mistook an order for carrot soup with orange and ginger with pumpkin soup. Sometimes one can be too clever in taking orders from memory! I was, however, in no pain, as a large glass of Chivas Regal at 5 dollars was cheaper than a bottle of water at 6 dollars. The carrot soup was exceptional, as were my wife's scallops. For the main course my wife had "fabulous" giant prawns in alight sauce, while I chose a strip loin of marbled Japanese beef with a light pepper sauce. This was competently prepared with a gratin of potatoes on the side. Personally I like some peppercorns to be rolled into the steak, and the quantity of sauce was somewhat meagre. Still, this seems to be unarguably the best restaurant in town and the atmosphere was superb. As we waited for our car to deliver us home, we were allowed to inspect the wine cellar, a magnificent collection, particularly of French Bordeaux. Our bill before service came to 172 dollars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Planteur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.