We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUr Best meal in Yangon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
22 Kaba Aye Pagoda Rd, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
541 997
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OUr Best meal in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

the wagyu beef steak with foie gras was perfect- a local bottledRED MOUNTAIN red wine was exquisite- a pleasant surprise- grape vines flown in from France. If you should have only One (1) great meal in Yangon -this is the place:-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    97
    28
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Garden dining under the stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The large outdoor garden at the rear of the restaurant was a surprise to see in Yangon. Combined with dining under the stars and the fine food, it was an enjoyable experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

An atmospheric colonial style French restaurant in a beautiful garden setting: this is a must when visiting Yangon - fabulous food and a great wine list - overall a truly memorable evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly nsw
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Beautiful garden restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The restaurant is in a large garden displayed beautifully with soft lights and parasols. The tables were large and well ordered. It seemed to me that the night we were there the staff were on a training course. No real problems but only half of the table had their drinks order given them. Another had her entree before she received her aperitif. This is not a criticism, i think they are doing well considering the country is just opening up to tourists. The food was quite nice as were the wines which you could order by the glass or bottle. Not all at our table of 8 were happy with the standard of the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Le Planteur is some distance away from the city centre, but the management offers a complimentary car service in an ancient Vauxhall or Morris. On arrival you are shepherded into a beautiful garden and looked after by a bevy of black-uniformed staff. No one seems to be in charge, but everyone seems to know their job. However, our waiter mistook an order for carrot soup with orange and ginger with pumpkin soup. Sometimes one can be too clever in taking orders from memory! I was, however, in no pain, as a large glass of Chivas Regal at 5 dollars was cheaper than a bottle of water at 6 dollars. The carrot soup was exceptional, as were my wife's scallops. For the main course my wife had "fabulous" giant prawns in alight sauce, while I chose a strip loin of marbled Japanese beef with a light pepper sauce. This was competently prepared with a gratin of potatoes on the side. Personally I like some peppercorns to be rolled into the steak, and the quantity of sauce was somewhat meagre. Still, this seems to be unarguably the best restaurant in town and the atmosphere was superb. As we waited for our car to deliver us home, we were allowed to inspect the wine cellar, a magnificent collection, particularly of French Bordeaux. Our bill before service came to 172 dollars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Planteur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.