We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and conveniently located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel

Save Saved
You added Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 294-300, Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 84 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
SIngapre
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average and conveniently located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed 1 night with my family (2 adults 2 kids) during our holidays in Myanmar.
Old fashioned deco, but convenient location.
Restaurant serve mainly Chinese dishes.
Recommended for short and affordable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    50
    93
    21
    6
See reviews for
7
59
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is old but the room is comfortable and all the necessary amenities are there. The hotel is also conveniently located. Not just because of its central location but also there is a supermarket just around the corner. Lastly, the hotel does live up to its name. When Lonely Planet said there would be "vague" views of the Shwedagon Pagoda from the hotel, I wasn't quite sure what to expect but hey!, there is a view of the Shwedagon from my room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was no doubt a bit dated but it was clean, breakfast was excellent and staffs were very helpful. The rooms were also spacious, and it's close to the market and a bakery which serves pretty good coffee.
$150 is probably quite expensive for what it is but then, accommodation in Yangon is not cheap either.
I'd not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay here for one or two nights as a starting point to their Myanmar travel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked in here after we had problems with a flight and found ourselves in Yangon for an extra night.

Staff are lovely but the Hotel is a little tired. Seemed to cater for european package tourists.

Rooms were goos size, clean and airconditioning worked well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here only because our preferred hotels were fully booked and it was abundantly clear when we checked in why they still had space.

The location of the hotel is very central but it sits right next to an underpass with a depressing view of the highway out of the windows.

The lobby and rooms are quite worn around the edges but are serviceable.

We didn't try breakfast as it seemed pretty clear from the rest of the hotel experience that meals would be average at best (we went out for a delicious and cheap tea house breakfast instead).

On the plus side the staff are pleasant and try to be as helpful as they can.

The cost for what you get is fairly outrageous but with a shortage of hotel space in Yangon you may not have much choice.

I wouldn't mind staying here again if needed but I would not seek it out.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you don't get traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Panorama in December 2013.

I found the hotel staff to be very nice.

The hotel was booked for us by a tour operator and we found that the room met our standards - clean bathroom, comfortable bed and air-conditioning. The hotel wi-fi is pretty good and can be used in the rooms as well. If this sounds like a strange comment, we have stayed in other hotels in Myanmar where wi-fi was only accessible from the lobby.

The breakfast was fine. Not fantastic but not terrible.

The location is very good and is within short walking distance to many eateries, shops, money exchanger and the Sakura building where there is a decent massage place called Genky.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed there one nigt only. We arrived by plane from Bangkok at the evening. From in front windows it was not very agreeable view to some demolished buildings at the morning. But everything else was OK: good breakfast with relative big choice of food, trip around historical places of capital city and in the afternoon we continue our trip accros country to Bago and Taungoo. It was my first acquaintance with golden country - Myanmar. Not bad for begining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: No. 294-300, Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 84 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Panorama Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.