We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely family home in a quiet part of yangon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Classique Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Classique Inn to your Saves list
Classique Inn
No. 53 B, Shwe Taung Kyar St. (Golden Valley Road) | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 123 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lovely family home in a quiet part of yangon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

stayed at classique inn for 2 nights after travelling in bagan n mandalay. the palce is quite far from central yangon (abt 20mins drive) room was small (teak room downstairs) and felt a bit crowded for 2 with our luggage; but the common living area, service, comfort and the cleanliness totally made up for it.
food options are limited in the area - a small, slighly expensive but tasty room service menu and allamanda inn's restaurant. but a few shops/restaurants a longish walk away. easy to get taxis to take you anywhere else for USD 3-4 - their 'butler' of sorts is ever-willing to call for one.
i would happily stay there again next time am in yangon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    94
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
123
43
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Classique is nestled in a residential neighborhood in Yangon giving it the feeling of staying at the owners home. Kalya was lovely, welcoming us and helping us with our remaining travel plans - including confirming flights and early morning taxis. Breakfast was delicious and I heartily recommend the coconut noodle soup, just ask for it the day before. The hotel is a bit out of the main town, but I found it to be a nice escape. Just make sure to ask the owner for the hotel's address on a card in Burmese - many taxi drivers has trouble finding the place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here with a friend while I was doing some local project work. Everyone was friendly and particularly helpful. We used them to organise a couple of side trips + we found their prices competitive with other places with the added bonus good clear explanations + useful information. If you are prepared to spend a small amount on taxis there are plenty of good eating places in close proximity

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days at the Classique Inn. The location is in a safe, quiet diplomatic and airline office neighbourhood. There are 3 food options walking distance (Ginki Kids, Acadia tea salon and Alamanda) and taxis are only 3000 kyats into down town.

Although previous reviews of the small rooms downstairs, we found both our rooms very adequate and not sure why people are complaining about that.

Everything was great and enjoyed but one complaint is that in one room the mattress was very hard. Not uncomfortable when asleep but worth mentioning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Yangon and had a wonderful experience thanks to Kalya and her staff. Kalya responded to all our emails and we were able to book rooms at the beginning and end of our short trip to Myanmar. She answered all our questions and even recommended a place to stay in Old Bagan. Kalya also booked our internal flights from Yangon to Bagan, before we arrived. We had a very early flight from Bangkok and they offered to let us enjoy breakfast on their patio until our room was ready. They had Burmese and Western choices and in a few minutes we had fresh juice and breakfast. The bed and breakfast consists of two buildings, one of them being their family home. We stayed in the main building on our first night and the second building where her family lives, on our last night. Both nights, we had rooms located upstairs which we was very comfortable and nicely decorated with teak furniture. Classique Inn is located in a quiet, residential neighborhood but everything was just a 2000 or 3000 cab ride away. We had a very early flight to Bagan. Kalya woke up very early and even packed us breakfast to take with us to the airport. We had such a wonderful time, thanks to Kalya and her staff. One of her employees, Thawdar, is incredible. He helped us and all the other guests, with anything that we needed, carried our bags up and down the stairs, served us breakfast, etc. He was one of the best employees that I have ever seen in all of my travels. We really enjoyed the quiet location of the Classique Inn, as well as the wonderful service from Kalya and her employees. We were made to feel very welcome and had a lovely experience thanks to everyone at Classique Inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our upstairs rooms in both buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here at the start and finish of our 2 week stay in Burma, initially in the old part and then the new section, both upstairs rooms for $100 a night.

Positives:
Nice, leafy, quiet location. Kalya was exceptionally helpful with information and helping to make calls for reservations, onward bookings etc. Rooms were clean and a good size (upstairs, we did not see the small rooms downstairs that have received multiple complaints).

Negatives:
Airconditioner, especially in the older part, needed to be serviced as it was not working well during a very hot time of year. Wifi was patchy. However, the thing that spoilt my generally very positive view of the Classique Inn came on the last evening when the mother got very upset about me changing my payment from USD to Kyat, which I had previously agreed 24 hours before in case I was left with too much local currency. After trying to short change me on the exchange rate agreed, telling me my USD bills were too old (they were not) and then trying to make me feel guilty by telling me to leave without paying the full bill when I had purposefully checked in advance that there would not be a problem, the situation was resolved but it did leave a sour taste in the mouth.

In conclusion, a decent option if you chose an upstairs room and don't mind taking taxis to / from everywhere but they need to make sure that bathrooms, air conditioning and wifi are in good condition as they raise their prices. Also, charging 4 times the normal cost of an airport transfer is unnecessarily high.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel was correctly described, and in general we found it O.K. The people were very nice and helpful. However, we had the small room in the old section downstairs and this was very unsatisfactory. So this review does not reflect the hotel per se but just this room.

The room is very small with little space to put anything, let alone two suitcases. Their web site says 18-20 sq. meters I measured the room out of curiosity, wall to wall including the bathroom, at 95 sq. ft. or 8.8 sq. m. If you look at their picture you will see little space between the bed and one wall. The other wall is the same and at the foot of the bed is some furniture mostly taken up with the TV and some storage in front of the bathroom.

Although we are experienced travelers we never realized how a tiny room could spoil a stay. We didn't see the rooms in the new building but I would suggest asking about these first. Really, we didn't look forward to returning to this room; it was just too small and not worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Classique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classique Inn

Address: No. 53 B, Shwe Taung Kyar St. (Golden Valley Road) | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Classique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classique Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Classique Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.