We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, friendly people and good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Classique Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Classique Inn to your Saves list
Classique Inn
No. 53 B, Shwe Taung Kyar St. (Golden Valley Road) | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 123 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, friendly people and good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I enjoyed my 2 night stay in the downstairs single room at Classique Inn. It is located in a wealthy area full of mansions, embassies and airline offices. The house is beautiful and definitely makes for a pleasant oasis from the center of Yangon. Though you have to navigate crumbling sidewalks and cross busy streets, it takes about 20 minutes to walk to Shwedagon Pagoda from the inn. To go to other places, you would need to arrange a taxi for about 3,000 kyat which is not cheap for a single traveler.

The single room is cozy, but fine for one person. The furniture seems a bit old and worn and not of the same standard as the rest of the house. The bathroom was almost the size of the room and came with a bathtub. The water pressure on the shower was good, and I had my best showers in Myanmar! Two things I did not like were the soft and lumpy bed and the lack of a safety deposit box. The wifi was sometimes slow but worked OK.

Kalya, Naw Lay and the staff at Classique Inn were great and always friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the breakfasts with both Western and Burmese options, and the personal French press coffee pot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    94
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
123
43
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Classique Inn for two nights when we first arrived in Myanmar and then again for two nights before leaving.
Whilst it is situated a little way from the centre , it is not a problem as taxis are not expensive. The staff and owner were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had the Bamboo terrace room which was nice although the weather was too hot to use the terrace during the day. I think that I would choose the Teak deluxe room upstairs next time, it is a bit larger.
Whilst I enjoyed the Mohinga ( traditional Myanmar breakfast) , I did think that the breakfast menu was a bit limited for the price of the rooms.
I would stay at Classique Inn again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent two nights here at the start of our Myanmar trip. It's in a very upscale neighborhood north of the city center so you do need to take a taxi to downtown. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The outdoor patio area is very nice. We had a downstairs room, which is smaller than the upstairs rooms and a bit cramped, but we knew that going in. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are bigger, try for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Classique Inn has repeatedly been my guest house of choice in Yangon, a city which desperately lacks affordable and clean hotel rooms. Situated in the quiet residential area of Golden Valley and only 5 minutes by taxi from the Shewdagon Pagoda and 10 minutes from downtown, the Classique Inn is a true treasure. The teak rooms upstairs are a bit more expensive but simply gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose Park, PA USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I began our trip to Myanmar at the Classique Inn and also spent our last night there. Both of the rooms we had were comfortable, clean and pleasant. The first also had an outside deck. The smaller room we had on the 2d floor was very tastefully decorated and delightful. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful both in giving advice about touring Yangon and assisting with travel plans to Mandalay. Breakfasts outside were full - juice, fresh fruit, eggs, toast and coffee or tea, with a choice also of Corn Flakes. It is true that the Classique Inn is off the beaten track, but taxi fares into town were very modest. The neighborhood itself is very upscale (including several embassy residences) and withing walking distance were several art galleries. I highly recommend the Classique Inn.

Room Tip: The somewhat smaller room on the corner of the 2d floor was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed in downstairs room and everything was just fine. Quiet neighborhood but only 5,000 kyat taxi to downtown. Excellent supermarket and French restaurant are both walking distance away. Some fine old colonial homes in the area too.

Room Tip: Busy place in winter and choices are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been living there for almost two months while working in Yangon and I must say that Kayla and her staff made me feel like at home. Classique Inn is a very nice, quite and comfortable place. Service is excellent and breakfasts are delicious. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Classique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classique Inn

Address: No. 53 B, Shwe Taung Kyar St. (Golden Valley Road) | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Classique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classique Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Classique Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.