We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aung San Suu Kyi House

Aung San Suu Kyi House
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Worth the effort?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

You can stop outside the closed gate of The Lady's house & take a photo, and that for some is significant enough. We also got our driver to stop at the NLD headquarters where we stumbled upon 2 Spanish ladies explaining Spain's transition to democracy post Franco. We sat & watched many Burmese hanging on every word that was said, followed by applause. EXCELLENT. We then asked our driver to go to the other side of the lake so we could walk & see the house from the rear. A great couple of hours.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    42
    73
    35
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cannot see much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Don't waste your time you cannot see anything only the back door all covered not worth to see . We were in total 4 adults but were disappointed it was the back door all around the house were fenced but we cannot view the house in full

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The house of "the lady"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is simply enough to see where she lives but you can't see much and you certainly can't visit but just seeing and knowing is enough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can stop by the outer gates now and take photos which is great. Standing there you think of this courageous lady and past images of her talking to her people from the top of the gate.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
195 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Even Posing For Picture Outside the Gate Was Memorable For Me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our tour guide said that we were not allowed inside the house but we could stand outside the gate and pose for pictures. That was good enough for me. The location of the house was good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aung San Suu Kyi House also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Aung San Suu Kyi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aung San Suu Kyi House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aung San Suu Kyi House to your Saves list