We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karaweik Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karaweik Palace

Karaweik Palace
Floating in Kandawgyi (Royal) Lake, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar (Formerly Karaweik Hall)
959459222222
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A truly unique palace in the centre of Yangon. Enjoy an evening international buffet with an amazing cultural show.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Karaweik Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I loved the cultural show, awesome, sort of Thai/Indonesian I thot. Food was good, awesome building, toilets are for short people, watch your head

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    55
    36
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Restaurant on the lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The restaurant looks like a huge boat floating on the lake. Looks beautiful at night. Had dinner there with friends. Nice cultural show, Average food, buffet style. Service was a bit slow. Very much a tourist place. Popular place for locals to take their guests for dinner. Most of the people at the restaurant were tourists.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner with cultural show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you want to take in a Myanmar cultural show with dinner included, I would strongly recommend the Karaweik Palace floating restaurant on Kandawgyi Lake. I have been there several times and the cultural performance there is worth seeing. It lasts for about an hour and half with traditional dances from the different ethnic groups of the country. Both the dinner and performance are included in the admission fee payable at the entrance. The fee was US$12 a couple of years ago, but has probably gone up by now to about $15-20. The dinner is buffet style, and includes Burmese, Thai and Western cuisine. Kandawgyi Palace itself is a photographer's delight. If you are staying in a hotel downtown, you can easily get a cab, and it should take only about 15 minutes maximum. The fare will probably be around 5,000 kyats.
The restaurant is located inside Kandawgyi Park. If you want to walk through the park tell the cab driver to let you off at the main entrance. The grounds are well lit at night. I think the cultural show starts at 7 pm, but try to go early, so as to catch the sunset and a great view of the Shwedagon pagoda from the lake. It's about a ten minute walk from the park's main entrance to the restaurant. If you don't want to walk, the taxi can stop right at the entrance of the restaurant.
Two years ago, the admission fee was payable in both Myanmar kyats or US dollars. However, I was a local at that time (still consider myself one). They will probably quote you in USD.
After the show you may have to walk to the main entrance to get a cab on the street. It is completely safe and should take less than 10 minutes. Again, if you don't want to walk, arrange for a hotel taxi to pick you up at the restaurant. I did that one time and used the same cab which we took earlier to get there. You might want to ask the girls at the restaurant's entrance as to what time the cultural show finishes. When we were there it was over by 9:45/10 pm.
TIP: Try to get a photo or two taken with some of the restaurant staff who are dressed in colorful costumes of the various ethnic groups. I had fun asking them which ethnic races they belonged to. They told me Chin, Mon, Kayan, Kachin, etc., but I knew by their accents that they were all from the Yangon area, but we had fun anyway because they knew that I knew too!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“In beautiful place terrible dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Food and service was terrible.To get soup there was 40 minutes wait. Show was poor. Overall ambiance was depressing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
273 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Visit if you have time otherwise give it a miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a relatively modern "bi-hulled" barge that is not built for sailing. It is a giant structure fixed at one end of Kandawgyi Lake and was built like a Royal Barge. Like many things in Myanmar it is golden and is noways a restaurant. It is not open to the public during the day time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karaweik Palace also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Karaweik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karaweik Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.