We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Parkview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Summit Parkview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ahlone Road, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Manly nsw
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“A nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were part of a group so don't know the cost of the room. The hotel was large, air conditioned comfortable and clean. The staff were very kind and helpful. We were able to exchange our $US there for a good rate (best with large bills). The breakfast was great and a large variety to choose from. Freshly cooked eggs, lots of hot coffee a d tea.. The view was great. Dinner l.,at
night was on the terrace and looked very romantic. The Music from outside the hotel was quite, loud and we were told it would be finished by 10.30pm. We were woken up by loud music early in the morning and we were told this was the chanting by Buddist monks who rise at 4 am!!

Room Tip: Perhaps at the back of the hotel. We were on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    228
    139
    17
    4
See reviews for
42
128
44
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very nice compared to the other hotel we tried in Yangon. We stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas. Even got to meet Santa Claus and heard a great choir singing Christmas Carols. Clean room, good TV channels, great friendly staff and a good breakfast. I did miss the cheese though. I can recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a somewhat dated and faded sort of hotel, but the service was mostly quite good, and the rooms are clean, although in need of renovation. Best of all we really appreciated the location during the two 1 night visits here. It is very close to the wonderfull Shwe Dagon pagoda, and only a few minutes taxi ride to the city center and market. It is also only a km or so away from the Feel Myanmar restaurant, a really great place to eat local food. The hotel is surrounded mostly by park greenery. I will very likely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiari, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We only stayed one night in the Summit Parview, coming from a much more expensive and luxurious hotel. At a glance the hotel isn't particularly attractive: it's a fairly old, fairly ugly building, with a classic business hotel kind of look to it. No wood, no pagoda-style roofs, no "it feels like asia" kind of stuff; but the hotel delivers anyway.
The rooms (I stayed on the 5th floor, I understand others had different experiences) are good, clean, simple, and if you're on the right side of the hotel, you get to fall asleep watching the Shwedagon Paya, beautifully lit throughout the night. The restaurant is also pretty great, we had a wonderful Myanmar set dinner, with foods that although spicy were absolutely adequate for westerners. The pool was kind of a let-down, it seemed much more like a training swimming pool than a hotel one, and the position was not great (it felt a bit cramped up).
The hotel delivers good value-for-money, although it doesn't offer that much; but if you're staying in middle-high level hotels you may want to hit the Summit, especially if you're not expecting to "live" the hotel, but you only use as a stopover.

Room Tip: 5th floor, ask for Shwedagon Paya view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Good value. Room was adequate but nothing special. The included breakfast was just OK. Prices in restaurant for other meals were on the high side but the food was good. The massages offered on the second floor were excellent and great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 2 days at Summit Park view and our stay was enjoyable. The friendly staff, good service and good breakfast buffet made up for slightly stuffy rooms. Location is great, very close to Shwedagon pagoda and just around the corner from Dagon neighbourhood where you can escape Yangon traffic and enjoy a shady stroll along quite alleys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I don't know why but I was surprised to find a hotel of this quality in Yangon. It was selected for me by the office on my first visit by the fact of its having a room available (really difficult to find, it seems, anywhere in the country) and I ask(ed) to stay (t)here every time I come/came back from up-country. A good 4-5 star hotel (I'd like to give it four and a half stars) with good, warm, Burmese service and all mod cons.
Rooms are spacious and from my second visit onwards had a big double bed (worth asking). Big flat screen TV with a good selection of international channels (albeit no BBC), quiet air con, fridge, hair dryer, complimentary bottled water, tea/coffee makings, lights in the wardrobe, good quality linens and an excellent laundry service. Being on a discount rate, I did not get the fabulous pagoda views but then I am not/wasn't there as a tourist.
The restaurant has an amazing multi-national buffet breakfast and a similary wide ranging a la carte menu with some extremely good dishes and nothing that disappointed except the roast potatoes (my fault, perhaps, for ordering them but I was bored with rice and noodles). The quality of the meat, fish and seafood is very high and the chocolate cakes are a delicious temptation. Wines are expensive and not that good - I suspect they have not travelled well or not been well kept, since many are household names - although the Australian white wine by the glass is very drinkable. Draught Tiger beer is excellent.
I found the music in the bar too loud for comfort and if I try hard to find fault I would say that the pool is perhaps not as clean or as deep as it might be, but - hey! - it's a pool.
Massage and facials on the second floor, also a doctor and dentist on the premises, some good shops, (regional) newspapers to read in the lobby if you can find a seat between the big tourist groups coming and going. Gym and health club outside by the pool.
Best of all, they offer unlimited free wifi and internet as good as any I have found in Burma (including the office).
I have become quite a fan of this place. It's also very near my office and on a direct run to the airport (but beware horribly rush hour traffic) so the location was great for me.
NB All power sockets are UK-style three square pin, unlike some cheaper hotels up country where there is a selection of sockets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Address: 350 Ahlone Road, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.