We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milking the market” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Parkview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Parkview Hotel to your Saves list
Summit Parkview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ahlone Road, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Holte, Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Milking the market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

6 months ago a double at the Parkview was 55 USD. Now it is 143 USD at corporate rate. Such are the laws of supply and demand.
Had the Parkview changed their mouldy old carpets, their stained blankets or their worn furniture it might have been acceptable. But they have not. Facilities are the same. The Fitness centre may be one of the best equipped in Yangon, but it still sucks. On the upside, service is good and staff is friendly and helpfull, breakfast is nice with a good selection - and even good coffee - Myanmar Robusta - which is rare in hotel restaurants. The main restaurant is actually quite good for both lunch and dinner and very reasonably priced compared to other hotel restaurants with drinks as the exception.
Finally, you cannot beat the location. You have 500 meters to the Peoples Park - go there early morning (6-7) and enjoy burmese family workout and take the western entrance to the Shwe Dagon Pagoda. You can also go round the corner to the official southern entrance.
In the vicinity you have both the Signature Restaurant (Upmarket Asian/Western) on Bahan Rd and the brilliant and very reasonable Bangkok Kitchen on Natmauk Rd - both overlooking the Kandawgyi Park.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the western side with a view to the Shwe Dagon pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    193
    128
    16
    5
See reviews for
35
113
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband I stayed at this hotel at the start of our tour. The staff in the restaurant where very friendly and helpful. Nice pool to cool off in. Bedrooms comfortable enough but the bathroom a bit tired but perfectly adequate after all this is Myanmar. Hotel has good money exchange in the lobby. Close enough to walk to the Shwedagon Pagoda and did walk into the Scotts Market but a long way in the heat. Very easy to pick up a cheap taxi. Went to the Strand Hotel for a cold beer and a respite from the heat. One minus woke up each night by stray dogs fighting terrible noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not over look the pool as you will be woken up in the night by the stray do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As others have said, a bit tiered and old fashioned. The room was adequate and clean. Some updating would improve things. Staff were helpful. Wi-fi available in reception area for free, very slow though. Hotel was well placed for Shwedagon Pagoda, also for the lovely park opposite.
The hotel is a way from the downtown part of Yangon, you can walk it in about half an hour. Personally I would prefer not to stay downtown as it is so busy and noisy,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe suite here for our first 2 nights in Myanmar. Location of the Hotel is good - there are some untidy parts of Yangon but this area is pretty good with some good restaurants nearby. Only 2500 kyats to get a taxi to go to the markets etc and a very short walk to the Pagoda. A good sized room with a good view of the Pagoda, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfasts were good, currency exchange within the complex which changed Aussie dollars, a swimming pool for a quick dip to cool off at the end of the day. We felt comfortable and at home in this Hotel. The only downside is no free wifi (cost is $10 for 24 hours). Overall, an enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to use again for a couple of nights in Yangon. Definitely a better stay than the other Hotel where we stayed on the last night in Yangon which was double the price of this one.

Room Tip: We had Room 442 - looks out towards the Pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for a few weeks in September, and overall it was a good hotel. The room is old with worn out carpet and bathroom. Besides these low points, it is clean. The service staff is very helpful and does speak English. Money exchange is right down the hall from the lobby. Breakfast has both local and Western food. The location is excellent, with great restaurants within a 5-10 min walk. Facing the hotel there is a wonderful Thai's place just on the right hand side. Right across the street is also a local's favorite. The gorgeous Shwedagon Pagoda, can be seen from the hotel window, is just a 15 min walk. We went there at 6am in the morning, and it was just magical. For 1500 Kt, you can go to Bogyoke Market, which is one of the best place to shop for souvenirs. The sales people are not aggressive like some other Asian's country. The taxi are mostly old, but the drivers are the nicest ones that I have ever seen. One driver actually gave us 500 Kt back after he realized that our destination was closer than he originally thought it would be. (He had asked for 2000kt, and we had agreed to it.) Internet is now available in the room, but it is still extremely slow. With a speed that can be use for email and search engine , but not for downloading media. There is Internet in the business center that is a little faster, with $3/hr fee. However, there is complete shut down of the Internet a few times a week for hours at a time still. For the price that we paid, this was a good hotel, and we will stay here again next time,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Summit Parkview on my first night in Yangon and eight days later for another night, at the end of my mini-tour of Myanmar.
Overall, the hotel represents a good solution for a quick stopover in Yangon on your way in and out, I wouldn't recomment a longer stay, though.
Rooms are a bit shabby, simple, tired and vaguely smell of mould; humidity is pretty tangible despite the aircon system. The lobby area could do with a good revamp.
The Money changing facility within the hotel is very useful and their rates of exchange are definitely better than the ones at the airport.
The buffet breakfast is quite rich and offers Asian, local as well as traditional Western options: bakery, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, juices, an omelette station, mixed grill and cold cuts and cheeses.
All staff is extremely polite and helpful, the level of spoken English is quite high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lLondon, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for two separate nights and were pleased with our stays. The rooms were fine, with excellent views of the Pagoda which were particularly good at night. Breakfast was good both in the restaurant and the packed breakfast provided when we had a very early morning flight. There are good restaurants nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Address: 350 Ahlone Road, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Parkview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.