We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prominent Roundabout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sule Pagoda

Sule Pagoda
Maha Bandoola Rd 95-1, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Yangon City Sightseeing Tour
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
bangalore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Prominent Roundabout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sule Pagoda was originally built in the South Indian temple style, but changed it in course of time to local architecture by replacing the tower with spires. While redesigning the city, Lt. Fraser left the structure undisturbed and now serves as a prominent roundabout. All roads of downtown converge on to this place. The pagoda is surrounded by City Hall, Law courts and many Government offices. In front of the pagoda is the famous Mahabandoola Park and the Independence monument. The pagoda is a pale version of Shwedagon and not that impressive when compared to other impressive pagodas that dot around Rangoon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    193
    174
    47
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice little pagoda...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area - surrounded by interesting architectural pieces: City Hall and High Court buildings. Also a short walk to the 'indian quarter' which has amazing food!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ornate little Pagoda”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is an easy to get to golden pagoda, in central Yangon. It is relatively small compared to others in the city, but still worth a visit. Good views if you come at it via the pedestrian walkway. The only annoying thing was the pushiness of the two girls manning the entrance. 1 said you had to leave your shoes at the entrance, she only gave us little bags after we pushed her. She then quoted 500Kyats per pair of shoes donation, when there is no actual set limit. I actually think she palmed the donation we gave, so put it in the box yourself. On exiting, they wanted our stick on badges back, I think they wanted to recycle them, thus keeping the extra cash. Keep the badges.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Lost its originality but worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Some believed that the pagoda was built for more than 2500 years, but what we believe is, that location has been a place of worship for more than 2500 years. The temple complex that we see today is no way to be that old. It is more than a commercial-temple complex, with modern brick-made shop lot built surrounding the temple.

However, it is one of the attraction which can be easily accessed in the middle of Yangon, with many other attractions located within the walking distance from the pagoda- Maha Bandula Garden and Independent Monument, City Hall, High Court, and Emmanuel Baptist Church, Chinatown, and Bogyoke Aung San Market.

Be noted that the entrance fee is USD2 per person, and we need to leave our footwear (including our socks) at the racks prepared for the visitors. The floor of the temple will be very hot under the afternoon sun. The pagoda was filled with local Buddists during our visit, but they were all peaceful folks. We didn't meet anybody asking us to buy anything or donation, until we reached the entrance, where a donation was asked for keeping our shoes. As we had paid for the entrance fee, we just simply said "no" politely and left.

The overall experience in Sule was good, just the entrance fee was a bit expensive, for what we could see inside. However, it is still worth a visit. Please visit our blog at http://bettyandlingshing.blogspot.com/2013/05/first-day-in-yangon.html for more about our experience in Yangon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“2000+ years old and still standing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This remarkable structure is 2000 - 2500 years old and stands in the centre of the downtown area. Beautifully gilded it stands proud among the other structures including the Jewish Synagogue, the Baptist Church and the Mosque.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sule Pagoda also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Sule Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sule Pagoda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.