We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mouse in the restaurant and other "surprises"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal White Elephant Hotel

Royal White Elephant Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal White Elephant Hotel to your Saves list
Royal White Elephant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No-11, Kan Street, Hlaing Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11051, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Yichang
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The mouse in the restaurant and other "surprises"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been staying at the Royal White Elephant Hotel for 83 nights, as long-stay guests. In total our stay generated revenue of approximately USD 7700 for room nights and daily meals. For this considerable high amount of money in return we received an extremely bad performance. My husband’s company booked us into his hotel since it is close to his office. By the way: we paid the normal daily rate, no long-stay rate!

Anybody can easily recognize that this hotel is not professionally managed. It seems there is no management at all to look after operations: every time when I asked to see the General Manager I was told that he is outside. This is an essential point: the senior management is never present and the staff has the freedom to do what they want without any standards, care, supervision and training.

The guest rooms look outdated and need to be refurbished urgently. The hotel maybe 15 years old but not even one Kyat has been invested ever since. There it doesn´t surprise that the rooms make an unmaintained and unhygienic impression. At least we did not have major issues with electric power-cuts. The water in the bathroom is not hot and the water pressure is very low. The bathtub outflow was broken and consequently we had a wet bathroom floor after showers.

The breakfast buffet style is far away from international standard. For the Western taste there is practically nothing to eat except toast with margarine (no butter!) and cheapest strawberry jam (no change and variation during our long stay!). In addition please note: it should be common to serve breakfast from 6:30 to 10:30 – and not from 7 to 9 as in the Royal White Elephant Hotel.

For a-la-carte dining: it is quite common that food which is listed on the menu is not available. Just one example: for more than a week we tried to order French fries. Clearly visible there is no kitchen management: besides unavailable dishes which are listed the menu the food quantity and quality depends on the cook and his mood. Since there is no professionally trained staff don´t ask for efficient complaint handling. On four occasions during our stay we have been served expired / foul food which we asked to be returned to the kitchen, of course. During our dinner we had the chance on two separate occasions to see a big mouse running through the restaurant. The staff did not even bother about it. The lack of pest control and hygienic standards surely minimizes the trust into the kitchen.

The housekeeping does only the basic job. If you don’t insist them to vacuum clean the room at least once a week they would most likely never do it. The carpet looks extremely worn out and dirty.

Wireless internet is available for hotel guests, free of charge BUT: the signal is generally very weak, except in the lobby, and internet disconnected every few minutes. The speed is extremely slow. Sending emails with attachments it is generally impossible due to the slow speed.

After 83 nights we have decided to move out and change the hotel. Based on bad maintenance and lack of precaution (no rubber seal on the window) rain water entered our room. The result was a wet and bad smelling carpet. When we addressed this problem to the hotel staff they did not even bother to dry the wet carpet and bring back the room into a livable condition. The staff at the reception blamed the rainy season for this incident – and not the bad maintenance of the hotel! Since we have insisted to change the room they were unwillingly showing us some other rooms, all in the same wet condition. The only available dry room had no window and was tiny. When we showed our intention to move out the reception staff was absolutely emotionless. I asked and confirmed to meet the owner or general manager of the Royal White Elephant Hotel at 18:00 hrs that day. Unfortunately this person did not show up, despite he has confirmed his availability on the phone with my wife in the early afternoon. I asked the male receptionist to call and follow up our meeting. He said he would arrive a bit later since there is traffic jam on the road. Just 15 minutes later the receptionist told me surprisingly that the general manager would be on a business trip. Since I have heard three different versions within a short time I saw me inside a big mess of excuses and lies.
A request from the management to follow up mentioned points was never replied. Another proof of ignorance and carelessness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been staying at the Royal White Elephant Hotel for several weeks, as long-stay guests. So this hotel became like a second home. I was booked in here by my company as my office is nearby and Yangon is under-supplied by hotels. We had a package arrangement, including food at their restaurant.

Actually, like most non-branded hotels in Myanmar this hotel is not professionally managed. First of all, the rooms and bathrooms look outdated and need to be refurbished urgently. The hotel maybe 15 years old but nothing has been invested ever since. There it doesn´t surprise that the rooms make an unmaintained and not really hygienic impression. At least we did not have major issues with electric power-cuts. The water in the bathroom is not really hot and the water pressure in some rooms (we stayed in different rooms) very low.

Like all hotels and tourist spots in this country they charge different rates for locals and foreigners! Foreigners have to pay USD 58 to 68 per room night (incl. breakfast) while Myanmar nationals walk out with less than half on their bill for the same room. Room rates are quite high in Myanmar, compared with the low GDP of this country and the low standard of the hotels.

The breakfast buffet style is far away from international standard. For the Western taste there is practically nothing to eat except toast with margarine (no butter!) and strawberry jam (no change and variation during our long stay!). For a-la-carte dining please be aware: it is quite common that food which is listed on the menu is not available. Simple example: for more than a week we tried to order French fries! In general the kitchen management is extremely bad. Besides unavailable dishes from the menu the food quantity and quality depends on the cook and his mood. Since there is no professionally trained staff don´t ask for efficient complaint handling.

Wireless internet is available for hotel guests, free of charge BUT: the signal is generally very weak, except in the lobby, and internet disconnected every few minutes. Plus the speed is extremely slow.

Most of the employees are trying to offer good service and are friendly to the guests. Unfortunately the owner / management have proven no effort to train the staff efficiently in hospitality and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are definitely overpriced like any other hotel in Myanmar.

However, the staff is really really friendly and the bathroom and the room itself are quite clean compared to what we had in other hotels. The wifi is for free but it works slowly. There is a TV with few English channels which is nice.

The location is a bit out of the city centre but it is very easy to get a taxi for 2000 / 3000 kiat downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My room was large and reasonably comfortable for this price range in Rangoon. The airconditioning and hot water worked. Even the free wifi worked well, although this may be because I was on the ground floor, which had the disadvantage of some noise from the parking lot just outside my window. Only local channels on the TV. Staff was friendly. The biggest shortcoming was the lack of mosquito netting over the bed, the room was full of them. Given Rangoon's worsening traffic situation, the location would not be ideal for a business traveler whose meetings are all downtown, but for the tourist it's not bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel location and entrance are alright but once you walk through the door, one can't stop fantasizing of a property from the soviet era. The reception is in the corner of the lobby with a few chairs, tables and paper all around. Staff are pleasant though and always carry a smile. The lift worked but once on the floor one can't help noticing the state of the carper and the foot mat which are almost on the verge of disintegration. In the room the handle is loose and the key has an outdated plastic handle. They have used solid, oversized teak furniture but poorly designed and have it literally clogged the passage with very little space left. The bathroom is big enough and looks more like it's in an import from a lower middle class housing set up.

The bed has a red floral Chinese blanket but the linen looks fairly clean. I have not put my head on the pillow but hopefully I can still have a peaceful sleep. There are a few mosquitoes already and I wouldn't be surprised if a few other insects prowl the floor later in the night. The AC and the electricity though have been stable so far.

In short Myanmar and Yangon badly needs new hotels in all ranges. The staff need training and the equipments need to be upgraded and badly...I am sure this will not be the last of reviews you will be getting re: Yangon. But hey the city is lovely and growing and that is what will keep bringing people from across the globe.

Room Tip: Book in advance and try to book a standard to get better value as I don't think there is big dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

it was very bad ... after 2 week a this hotel never again .the first day was terrible tv doesnt work no hot water .water fall around the room , le service etais vraiment mauvais so dont try it never. the price is low but no no dont try it never!

Room Tip: the rooms are so bad, double bed is 2 small together so u can feel a piece of wood in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngapali, Myanmar
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Paid USD 200 for 2 nights, rooms are old but OK, Minibar, TV (CNN, ESPN) and Aircon, better show up for breakfast (6-9) early otherwise you have to eat what's left over by the early birds (happened to me at 8.30) ... And better don't show up there with an overstayed visa, even if it's only a few days (which is actually not a problem at all in Myanmar, but for the staff there it is, made a really big deal out of it...) ...

Location is nice as it's very close to Inya lake and University campus, lots of small restaurants at the lakeside, Taxi to the city center takes around 25 minutes, 15 to the airport

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal White Elephant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal White Elephant Hotel

Address: No-11, Kan Street, Hlaing Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11051, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal White Elephant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal White Elephant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal White Elephant Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal White Elephant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.