We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star guest house with 5 star service and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Guest House
Save
You added Garden Guest House to your Saves list
No. 441-445 Mahabandoola Rd., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A 3 star guest house with 5 star service and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Definitely my choice of guest houses in Yangon. I have staye d here many times and will continue to stay here whenever I visit Yangon.Clean, comfortable and with convenient access to all major tourist sites, and more. Very friendly management and staff. Good breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front and rear rooms on 5th and 7th floors have windows. A bit more expensive, but well worth the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
3
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The people here were very nice upon arrival and showed me a room before I agreed to stay. I found the sheets to be clean and the air con to be nice and cold so I decided to go with it. The room definitely needs to be scrubbed down from top to bottom. The walls were grimly and dirty. The shower was okay, for SE Asia standards, but shower shoes were a must. Breakfast was weak with bread (not toast), jam, and coffee mix. The wifi only worked in the reception area. The location was central, right next to Sule Pagoda.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had done considerable research before booking this bed and breakfast for our family of six and, although we could easily have reserved a nice hotel in town, we wanted the more personal feeling of a B&B for our first time in Yangon. We were expecting what we had encountered in other placeslike Laos and Cambodia, a boutique hotel with a warm and welcoming owner to greet us. Well, we were wrong.

The staff was cordial and professional but not warm and not a great source of info. The rooms were a complete disappointment. We had one room with a king bed and another with a king and a single. The simple king room was barely big enough for the bed and a tiny table with a chair. The bathroom smelled musty and this was understandable given the shower nozzle was simply attached to the bathroom wall and would spray the entire bathroom... I am serious, no shower stall. I suppose there was a drain under the strange damp wooden grid that covered the wet bathroom floor. Our kids bathroom was obviously no better since they all opted to wait until we arrived a our next destination to shower.

The windows were perhaps the most strange. All of the window panes had been painted, probably to darken the room, why they didn't opt for curtains was strange to me, so the result was if you wanted sunlight you had to open the window, thus rendering the weak air conditioning completely useless. So there we sat, in a dark bedroom in the middle of the day. When I couldn't take the dark anymore I opened the window and all I could hear was the staff who talked loudly and incessantly right outside our window.

The only positive was that the rooms were so bad that our teenage kids preferred to visit the muggy streets of Yangon rather that watch TV in the room.

If you want a deal, this is not it. If you want location, this is not it. If you want to sleep in the middle of the day and you happen to enjoy camp showers, maybe this is it.

We prepaid two nights, one for our arrival in Yangon and another for after our travels throughout Myanmar, the night before our departing flight. We preferred to lose the money rather than return to the Garden Guest House.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here get an upstairs room. There are balconies behind the painted win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's always difficult to rate a guest house in Myanmar as all the accomodation in my opinion are too expensive for the service you'll have.
But Garden guest house it's a pretty good value for money for the country.

We paid 25 dollars for a double room with AC, private bathroom, and a tiny windown wich is expensive for south east Asia but not for Myanmar in those days.

Room was clean, staff is really nice, breakfast can be avoid if you want to oversleep... And the hotel is very quiet.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed in many different budget guesthouses, hotels and hostels in SE Asia but this was definitely the worst accomodation we came across. The rooms are mouldy and cell-like. The cleanliness in the bathroom, in particular, left a lot to be desired. One or two members of the staff were pleasant and helpful but the others (especially management) were generally unfriendly. Breakfast just consisted of white bread, jam and instant coffee. However, the location cannot be beaten as it is extremely central. Accomodation in Yangon is notoriously bad value and of a low standard so in this context only I would say it represented ok value for money at $25 for a twin room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice little garden and open-air eating area, and most of the staff --with one very nasty exception -- were friendly and tried hard to please. That's about all that's positive. Recently opened, it has still to get its management into shape. Mistakes abound, partly perhaps because the staff speaks almost no English. As another guest pointed out, the rooms are dark (windows have been painted over with dark colors!) and cell-like. Finally, my wife left a suitcase behind with some $1,000 worth of items while we went away for a few days. When we checked back in, it had vanished -- we surmised it was put in a taxi by mistake with other departing guests. After a Burmese friend applied some pressure the hotel refunded us one night and we moved out. At $90 a night the place is definitely overpriced in its current state. There are many better options in Yangon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellevoetsluis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night, had a cell like room with no windows. It wasn't very clean either, the water from the sink was smelly. The view from the breakfastroom was great, opposite the Sule pagoda . They charge cheaper rates for local people, i had no other option then to stay there, cheap rooms are hard to find these days in Rangoon, but i hope i never have to stay there again.

Room Tip: The better rooms are on the second floor, however, they are the most noisy ones too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House

Address: No. 441-445 Mahabandoola Rd., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 297
Also Known As:
Garden Guest House Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Garden Guest House Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.