We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not fun to stay at the YMCA” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA Yangon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA Yangon
Save
You added YMCA Yangon to your Saves list
263 Mahabanoola St, PO 11161 | Botataung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Miri District, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Its not fun to stay at the YMCA”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked to stay here in what my wife who is from Myanmar was told was a superior room. The elevator was not working so it was a climb to the sixth floor at midday in hot season.
The room while spacious does not appear to have had a paint job since the 1940's. The air con was the type that sits in a window and had no control, you had to stand in the bed to switch it on and off. The bed linen though clean was stained.
The charge was 35 USD per day for me plus an extra 5 USD per day for my wife to stay in the room with me and that charge was the local price so I can only guess that for a foreign couple to stay in this room it would be 35 x 2.
Breakfast (if I dare call it that) is included and was oily rice and fried egg, one day,some strange bread with margarine and sugar the next, and a cup of instant coffee. Saving graces were the friendly staff. I know the income helps good causes but to offer such poor amenities at such high a price is just taking advantage of people. We moved out after 3 days and found a much better place at the same price. Review to follow.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Since 2006 the prices have gone thru the roof in Burma, yet sadly the quality has not. I can overlook that because I do love Burma like no other country. I stayed here last Dec and enjoyed my stay. Our double room was clean, air-con worked, we had a view over the city, the breakfast was the poorest I've eaten but again the setting was great. An open fire, an elegant old lady and an egg of bread. As a photographer I loved it.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. If you want a tour find me Kevin Hayden on googel and I'll help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Was staying in a quadriple room for one week plus and find everything was just "okay". 60USD per night per room, inclusive of:
1. very simple breakfast**,
2. acceptable cleanliness of the room,
3. good air-conditioned (room 605) though my friends staying in other room complained about noisy aircond.
4. Very spacious and clean bathroom, with good water pressure.
5. Strategic location (old hight court, baptist church, independence monumen was within walking distance. Outside there are some local hawkers.)
6. Poor WIFI coverage
7. Church at forth floor.

** these are the menu of breakfast i was served throughout the whole week, not much changes.
1. two plain toast, one banana, fried egg, a cup of instant premixed coffee
2. Fried rice with bean, banana, a cup of coffee.
3. A cup of coffee and Myanmar vermicili in soup (Oh-no Kwau-Tskwe) which costs around 200 kyat if u bought it outside. Equivalent to 0.3 USD.

The whole building was rather old. If this is not YMCA, I would probably rate 1 star because this price is really very very expensive. Since this is YMCA which i believe that part of my hotel fees will go into donation, i give it 5 stars, for having all basic things that i need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabaster_jar83
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is just ok. The people are friendly and your money goes to support good causes, so those are definitely pluses. The rooms, however, are not very clean or nice at all, and if you are in the cheapest rooms the shared bathrooms are pretty terrible. In fact, some of the rooms with private bathrooms are also pretty terrible. It's a good place to meet expats-- this seems to be a stopping place for those staying in country for a while, but not long enough to have an apartment. You'll meet people a little more familiar with city and get good recommendations on where to go and what to see. It's also a very convenient location for easy access to lots of great sites around the city. So, if you're a solo traveler looking to make some friends and you need a well-located, affordable spot, this is an ok choice, but you may want to shop around first and see if you can find anything better.

Room Tip: I think rooms in the new building are significantly nicer, but they are priced accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place has very old world charm. Ever watch a movie set in the past, 40s, 50s, 60s, and think to yourself, I wonder what it was like to live back then? Well, at least at this YMCA, you get to experience that. Of course, since the building seems to be exactly the same as when the British left it (in 1947?). that does mean it is, well, full of grime. No matter how hard the cleaning ladies try, they can't hide 70 years without renovation.

If experiencing that excites you, you are going to love this place. If not, you better look elsewhere (but then again, you might not want to come to Burma anytime soon anyway since all but the most expensive places are similar).

The people here could not be nicer. Their English is terrible, but that doesn't stop them from trying to help. They employ (or are they volunteers?) people of all ages who run around the hallways doing stuff. You walk by karate class, choir rehearsal, meetings, et cetera. This really is a YMCA. And as the placard says somewhere in the building, 'staying at the YMCA is helping the needy.' That's both them and we the weary, less than wealthy traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose YMCA because it was reasonably priced and some of the money went to projects in Myanmar, and none to the Govt. It is in a quieter area, a poorer area, and well located to walk to most places in the city centre. There is 24hr reception, lift and porters willing to assist you any time, they were very helpful. The room was huge, good air con, spotless and serviced daily. The en suite was basic but all worked OK. There are good cafes and restaurants nearby. Our breakfast was basic, egg, toast, coffee and fruit, but delivered to our room each day. We stayed at a 'better' ($95) hotel with our tour but were much happier at the Y, at least there was hot water!

Room Tip: check trip advisor for recent comments, read them all and take a balanced view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

YMCA is probably a great buy for Yangon where hotels and Guest Houses are in very short supply. I paid $20 for a very large single room with bath and a small breakfast. It had A/C
(a must in Yangon) lots of hot water. The room had seen better days but it was clean with no sign of any bugs or insects. The staff like everywhere in Myanmar were great. Their English was very limited but they made a great effort and were always very willing to give directions and buy bus tickets for me.. I did not go there with high expectations and was happy with my choice. It has a fairly central location in the downtown area. They will give you a free airport pickup if you are staying for 3 days or more. Good deal as the airport is a good way from downtown.

Room Tip: Room 601 was a good room with A/C and Fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Yangon

Address: 263 Mahabanoola St, PO 11161 | Botataung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Ymca Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
YMCA Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.