We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best experience of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This hotel has the perfect lake-side location with view of Shwedagon. Rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff exceptionally courteous and helpful. The waterside garden is lovely, while the lobby and common areas may not be lavish but are definitely classy (my companion commented it looked better than the Strand and that says something).

Breakfast is fine enough, though we never tried lunch or dinner as there are wider and cheaper choices outside. However, the nightly cultural performance with buffet (or set dinner if there are less than 20 people) is great value, and we thoroughly enjoyed the show which thankfully was not kitsch. Its spa offers decent if a bit overpriced services.

All in all, Kandawgyi Palace is a five-star experience for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    391
    105
    27
    10
See reviews for
86
307
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
annaadnoc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I abosolutely love Myanmar and hope to return soon. The hotel was beautiful and reasonably priced. We loved sight seeing around the lake during the sunset and walking around the park. Its close to all the main sight seeing areas but its also private and secluded. The staff were angels and extremely honest. After staying a few nights in Yangon we travelled to Bagan, Mandalay, and Inle Lake and when we returned the staff greeted me with a shall that I had left behind 2 weeks ago. I was soooooooo relieved as the shall had sentimental value to me. I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat.
Hope to stay with them again soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed for 5 days in a deluxe room. Shower pressure not great and the restaurants for evening meals didnt appeal to us , but all else was worth it. Friendly helpful staff an amazing building, great views over lake and of the Schwedagon Pagoda in the distance. Beds comfortable and room lovely.Breakfast buffet changed slightly every day and delicious. Even though there were power blackouts a back up generator came on within three minutes.Of the three tierd pools only one was clean but even that was unique and fun. The dinosaur in the garden is amazing and they have done a very good job with the gardens around the grounds. The cultural show provided the best dinner and evenings entertainment the hotel provided. Well worth the $12 US dollars!
We were able to have a look at the Governer suite and it is just amazing! If you have the money it is worth it!
Being a few kms from the city was no problem as taxis were US$2 to anywhere and where everywhere.
Dont change money there though unless you have to as the excahnge rate was 830 Kyat ( pronounced chat) comered with 970 kyat at other places.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leopoldshöhe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the pagoda or market in Yangoon. Directly at a nice lake the special building has also a nice garden , pool and access to walking ways around the lake. Its not a new hotel, but it has its own flair and is definitly worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Kandawgyi Palace Hotel is a gem of a hotel, on the banks of the Kandawgyi Lake. The buildings used to be the former Boating Club, during the Colonial days and was a National History Museum in the 60's. Its surrounded by lush overgrown gardens and statuary includes a dinasaur! The OTT decor, with the heavy teak fittings actually works. Its exotic and pleasant. The views are remarkable. From the gardens and balconeys overlooking the lake- you can enjoy the Swedaggon Pagoda. I didn't use the pool, but enjoyed the little patios overlooking the lake.
The rooms are a bit crowded and musty. All was forgiven when we look out the windows.
The restaurant is fantastic, and does lovely Thai food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The hotel is located on the small lake and the surroundings are beautiful. A bit far from downtown. Great staff. Average breakfast/food. Rooms (no internet connection) were probably nice 20 years ago. Weak water pressure in the bathroom. Very poor air conditioning. Beds could be more comfortable. The main problem is payment. If you wish to pay by credit card (Visa and Master Card only), you will be charged 4% (no one warned me when I booked). BUT, then, here is the trick. When I settled the bill the evening before I checked out, the cashier gave me a bill in US dollars as expected. She then wrote by hand an amount in Singapore dollars at a very bad rate, telling me this was only for hotel accounting purposes. I would be charged in US dollars she confirmed twice. Naive, I stupidly signed the bill. My credit card was charged via Internet. When I asked for a receipt, the computer unfortunately suddendly stopped working. Early morning, the next day, as I was about to go to the airport, I asked for a receipt and discovered I had been charged in Singapore dollars. I complained and was told to talk to the cashier who had calculated the bill. She would be there in the afternoon. Net cost to me: close to 100 US dollars.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We were greeted at the Kandawgyi Hotel by friendly staff at reception who were efficient and gracious. This hotel became a base for the beginning of our Myanmar explorations and also at the end of our 17 days in the country. At the beginning of the trip, our AC unit was not functioning but a couple of prompt attempts (including actually replacing the condenser) had it up and running again. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed a generous breakfast buffet in the main restaurant and had several other meals there as well. One MUST have staff assistance to manage sending out an e-mail and they're most willing to help (free internet but NOT HIGH SPEED!). I had an inexperienced beautician working on my hair and that was not so good. The massage was wonderful and longer than the hour I had booked for (1 hr. 45 mins.!!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.