We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Was Glad To Have Only Been Here For One Night- The Staff Was Indifferent!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 83 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“I Was Glad To Have Only Been Here For One Night- The Staff Was Indifferent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was disappointed when I was told that I could not stay here at the beginning of my tour in March for it was fully booked. I stayed at the Sedona then. Thank goodness. The front desk staff had a bad atittude- they were arrogant.
After traveling all day, we finally got here in the early evening and we were late for a banquet. After rushing to change and get ready, we found out that the RFID cards to our room were keyed in wrong. They did not apologize for their mistake and they acted as if it were our fault. We could not lock the door. Our tour guide told the staff at the front desk to please re key it and just lock our door as we were on our way out. When we got back, there was a big crowd at the check in desk. Luckily, one staff member recognized me and told me to come around the corner to pick up the key. We were in Room 108 on the first floor. The room was dark and musty. We called housekeeping because our airconditioner was not working and it smelled terrible in there. It was still 24 degrees Celsius by 11 PM. They brought in room deodorizer and sprayed the room but it was still stinky. Then , the two housekeepers adjusted the thermostat. One told me that I should not complain because the heater was on. I told her that I did not want the heater since it was hot and humid inside and outside. Then, a maintenance man came and he still could not figure out what was wrong. He excused himself to get a ladder and came back with another man. Then, a third man came. Meanwhile we (2 ladeis) were already in pajamas as it was 11 PM and we had to get up at 5 AM for an early flight to Bangkok, Thailand. They told us that we could wait until they finished fixing the air conditioner at midnight. The front desk staff apparently told them that. I was not happy and explained to the men that we were not waiting for them to fix it as we had been traveling all day that day and then would hadto get up early the next morning. That meant that we would practically be up all night. I asked to be moved to another room where the air conditioner worked. They finally moved us to Room 218 just before midnight. Had I not insisted that they move us to another room, we would have ended up watching 3 men repair our air conditioner in our pajamas close to midnight..
The hotel looked fancy but they were not gracious and could care less about their guests.
I was sorry that I even booked to stay here at all.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Madams,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar we hope that you had a pleasant journey returning to America. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took time to write them.
We took your message very seriously and conducted extensive investigation. We have taken necessary corrective actions to improve our services and facilities. We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences and please accept our sincere apology.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.

Kind regards

Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    349
    101
    25
    9
See reviews for
80
281
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed two nights (one at the beginning of our tour and one at the end). Service is OK and mostly friendly. We stayed the first night in a room on 1st floor and the room was definitely renovated compared to the room on 4th floor where we stayed on the last night. Also the room amenities provided were different (e.g. one had no mouth wash) and the latter had a very annoying constant beep of the fire alarm sensor (I assume). The pool is not the most cleanliest one as a lot of birds seem to enjoy the pool area from above as well (a pool side clock would also help in respect to check the time as there seemed to be no staff around). Breakfast is nice, especially their Mohinga (which alternates with Kao Shwe noodles). Location close to Shwedagon Pagoda is indeed a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Stefan H,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you like the hotel's location, breakfast and friendly service. We have taken corrective actions on areas of improvements following your review.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel is situated by a lake side and the view, especially in the early mornings and late evenings are excellent. It's a hotel which is at par with any upper end hotel anywhere in the world (not the Ritzes, but more like the Sheratons). The rooms are clean and comfortable, there are good options for dining in, the breakfast buffet is an extensive spread and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pick one overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Aharol
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read you enjoyed the hotel location, rooms, dining options, buffet breakfast and friendliness of our colleagues. We will maintain them try to be better.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is close to everything, but almost nothing is walkable (except for the lake bridge behind the hotel). The lake view rooms are charming, the suits are very large, two T.V.s, lavish bathroom, the whole works.

The fish barbecue night is great fun! Everything from sushi to seviche and then the grilled fish. I much preferred eating outdoors along the wall facing the garden. Indoors was much too cold with glaring lights, suited for large groups but little atmosphere. One has to reserve for tables outside since there are so few for such a large hotel.

The pool is down by the lake and very cozy, but in Yangon one has so little time to just relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
PanAm-Eater
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to know that you enjoyed suite room with lake view and set-up, outdoor dining near the garden.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was really clean and well furnished. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The desserts in the restaurant are to die for! Highly recommend the Chinese restaurant. Internet access is very good throughout the hotel. The proximity to Shwedagon pagoda make it a great choice. All in all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Wanderer S
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to know that you like the room, Chinese Restaurant, our colleagues, internet connection and location of our hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Basically a nice local hotel that would like to be a 4 star property, and it basically is! It needs improvements in some areas such as pool and also room setup.
Otherwise everything is there, good food, nice staff.
Seen what you get, 190USD per room and person is too much.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Gilles R,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to know that you enjoyed food and like our colleagues. We will look into your comment to improve the pool and room set-up. Depending on rooms availability, we introduce room discount and promotion through agents and our own website. We invite you to visit the web and enjoy the promotion.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is not in the centre of town so you will need to get a taxi to go to the port or old town. There is a very big park near the hotel for walking in and also a long walkway over the lake, popular with early morning joggers. You can also walk to the Pagoda in about 15 minutes or so. The hotel is popular with business conventions and both times we stayed there, business conferences were going on. Because of this there were some company stands set up in the gardens near to the swimming pool and there were lots of staff preparing the outside pool restaurant eating area during the day ready for the evening’s events. The pool is ok with some nice sunbeds in the shade but there was no pool side service at all, all the staff were busy with the construction of the evening conference events. We stayed in a deluxe room with a river view and another time with a pagoda view. The room was large and the hotel quiet. The furniture is a little bit dated, one of the chairs had a broken leg and the handle of the wardrobe came off in my hand. But it is clean and the bed really very comfortable and big. The bathroom is nice with plenty of water. The hotel wake-up service was efficient. The breakfast is truly fantastic with the best coffee I have had in a hotel for a long time. Even though we had a very early flight out from the hotel once and breakfast is not supposed to start until 5am, when we went down at 4.30am the restaurant was full of other early risers eating breakfast and being supplied with hot coffee. They did not have the full range of things at that time such as the chefs cooking to order but there was still plenty of hot and cold food available which is a nice thing to have so early in the day. There is a buffet in the evening which we did not try but seemed popular enough if you want to eat a lot. The a la carte menu is good and tasty and not too overpriced for a hotel restaurant. Beer and wine by the glass also available at reasonable prices (considering it is a 4 star hotel they have not gone crazy with the mark-up price and you expect to pay a bit more). In the evening there is some live music and people sitting around in the bar area listening. An enjoyable stay in Yangon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor do not have a lift, you need to walk up a small flight of stairs to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
765Cassk
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you enjoyed buffet breakfast, coffee and deluxe room. We have taken corrective actions on areas of improvements after reviewing your feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.