We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location i have ever seen in yangon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
“best location i have ever seen in yangon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights..what a superb location!!!!!!..best attaraction of this hotel is the location...very very nice rooms with superb wood decoration..old but very well maintained..spacious and clean washrooms..rooms are with all basic amenities..combination of heritage and modern property..situated on a river bank..named kandawgyi river..very nice and prompt service..with friendly staff and management..good food with variety...the best time i spend in this hotel is morning time..sipping coffee with the frontal view of river..will definitly stay again in this hotel if i will go to yangon..strongly recommend for family and couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Lalbahadur,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    349
    101
    25
    9
See reviews for
80
281
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

lovely large comfortable room with stunning views over the lake. really good food including buffet breakfast. Maybe out of walking distance from town but quiet location. Service fast, friendly and organised.

Room Tip: third floor gives better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organisation Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Kandawgyi Palace wraps itself around a lake on one side and the pagoda on another - clearly the best location in Yangon. The rooms are a bit tired and old - but the service and views make up for it by a long mile. The buffet breakfast with views of the lake make for a incredible experience.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the pagoda OR facing the lake (depending on your preference) Higher rooms ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My trip to Myanmar was at short notice and as a result had to chop and change between this hotel and Traders Hotel depending on room availability. Hotel prices in Myanmar have shot up in the past 12 months and rooms in good hotels are not easy to get on short notice. This review is a comparison of the two hotels.
The hotel has a wonderful setting on the lake which is much better than the Traders setting (in the noisy city) but that's where the good points end. In every other respect I found that Traders is superior for what I want. The disappointing points are - the service in the main restaurant especially at breakfast was slow and unfriendly - no smiles and everything seemed to be an effort. The Chinese restaurant was much better. The food was fine but the Traders’ breakfast was far superior.
The internet was very slow and forever dropping out whereas at Traders it was fast and reliable. Although the swimming pool is much more beautiful than Traders I preferred Traders for my lap swimming. At both hotels the gym was being refurbished however at this hotel they did not provide an alternative - Traders have a skeleton gym which is OK.
The rooms were tired and in disrepair compared to Traders where the rooms were very comfortable and in good shape.
On a final note this hotel requires cash payments whereas at Traders credit cards are acceptable but with a 4% surcharge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organisation Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Collin P,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We take correction actions following your valued feedbacks.
Currently, we are working on payment by credit card and expect to be ready by June this year.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice hotel with excellent location looking up to Yangoon'd main temple. Only stayed overnght, so didn't experience most of the facilities. Rooms were fine: bathroom ok, but silly errors like no bathmat and emulsion and varnish drips just left on the tiles. Coffee shop staff, despite 24 hour opening less than pleased at our late arrival, again silly thinks like having to ask for a napkin. Overall experience fine, but silly errors shouldn't happen in an hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We have taken corrective action following your feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A top class hotel hidden in the tropical jungle (well gardens...), along the Kandawgyi Lake, with vibew over the lake and with a great swimmng pool - all this in the centre of Rangoon, 5 mins from downtown - and to top it all a mockup of a dinosaur outside the main restaurant, and a great view of the Shewdagon Pagoda which is approx 15 to 20 mins walk away, or again 5 mins by taxi.

The room I stayed in was spacious, bathroom with a rainy shower, breakfast was great with the usual egg station to cook your eggs as you like as well as a chef to cook your noodle on order...

The staff was absolutely faboulous, always very helpful especially the Reception desk; for those who cannot do without it there is wifi throughout the hotel, free of charge even inside the room, and if you wish to use a desktop PC there is a small business room with 3 at hand, again free of charge.

The swimming pool is great, with 'perfect' chairs (at least in my opinion) and is along the lake which makes it a great setting...beware of mosquitos though, as the tropical plants and the lake attract them a lot, however I noticed problems will arise only after 5 or 6 in the evening, so use plenty of mosquito repellent if you have problems with them.

All in all a very good hotel, thank you to everybody!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on floor 3 or 4, for that perfect view of the Shewdagon Pagoda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Surzen,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A well located hotel in Yangon was the old rowing club in the days of the British on a lake
Nice staff keen to help but with all these countries you need patience. The indicate that they speak English but you have to say things two or three times and then not always understood but they do try.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room on the upper floors the highest is the fifth but the fourth is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organizations Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.