We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place to Spend a Week!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful Place to Spend a Week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Kandawgyi Palace - Yangon for a week in May 2012 and loved my week stayed in the hotel!. The room is spacious with a big window and a hugh shower and it's quite well-maintained. I love waking up hearing the sounds of the birds in the morning - which is not very easy to find back home nowadays. So, it was a peaceful experience and stay when I was in Yangon. Would come back again if I have a different opportunity to visit Yangoon, Myanmar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organizations Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    396
    106
    27
    10
See reviews for
86
309
48
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had an awesome stay the first couple of nights here. On the Saturday night, they hosted a huge, I mean, huge wedding that took over the entire hotel. I was alone, and there was no where for me to eat, bummer.
I had a great room,on the first floor.
After coming back with my tour group for one night, I was on the third floor, same room, but dank and dark, not as comfortable as the first 4 nights. Oh we'll, it was just for 1 nite.

Room Tip: Stay in the first floor. Much lighter and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of places in Rangoon, and this is the best by far. The room was clean and large, and the bathroom was good (not a deathtrap like many places). The restaurant was really good, the food was better than a lot of places and on par with the other hotels in this price range.

The poolside service was great, and the view from the pool is cool. The only thing I'd say, is that they were doing construction around the pool for the whole day, which was less than relaxing, but what can you do?

The guy they have singing in the lobby with his guitar is really good too, and plays a good selection of songs... a nice change from the silent lobbies of other hotels. The TV channel selection is good, and the room service is lightning fast!

If you're looking at hotels in this price range, choose this one. You won't be disappointed. The whole country still deals in cash, and people aren't used to online booking yet - so be careful not to be charged twice. This is the only thing to work on really (we were asked to pay upfront for both nights upon arrival). The hotel isn't to be blamed for this though, when we said we'd pay for one night upfront and the second later, the staff kindly allowed it.

The place has a lot of mod cons that others don't. The "make up my room" sign is digital! And when you click "do not disturb", it disables the doorbell on your room - that was really cool. The grounds are lush and beautiful, and well kept by a fleet of really polite and friendly staff. Everyone says "mingalarbar" as you walk past!

After staying in so many dodgy places in Rangoon, it was hard for me to believe this place existed, and how good it was. Stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We had really great time in this hotel. The rooms Are big And clean. The lake view is amazing. At the morning the breakfast buffet is complete. You can have fresh fruit And juice, eggs, croissant etc. I Will go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel our first days in Yangon and were quite pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. My friends and I loved all the variety of food offered for breakfast. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The only problem I encountered was water leaking over the floor from the combo shower/tub. Wifi worked well enough in the room that I could Skype on my iPad. One evening we decided to eat dinner in the main dining room, but it was booked out for a wedding. We looked at the menu in their Chinese Restaurant. I decided to eat a protein bar in the room while my friends stayed and ordered. They liked the food, but it wasn't anything close to what was listed. We think the kitchen was overwhelmed.

Room Tip: If you are lucky you might see the tip of Swedagon Pagoda from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Kandawgy Palace is a very charming hotel. Impressive architecture with colonial style. Grandiose lobby. The view on the lake is breathtaking and so peaceful. Large pool and garden where to walk and rest. The rooms are tidy and clean, though simple but very nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had all the amenities of a luxury hotel. Staff is welcoming and very courteous. I would advise to ask for the rooms with view on the lake. Breakfast is sumptuous with all the continental and Asian choices for all taste. I would recommend the hotel to everybody, for families, couples or business.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beihai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice hotel. However even in corporate suite the water wasn't hot in the evening. Impossible to take a good and relaxing bath. If you pay in advance by wire transfer, you may be asked to pay again for the room charge. Make sure to refuse. In our case when we arrived they told us that they had not received our wire transfer and they asked to pay again for the room charge. We were sure that they received the money so we refused. We met some other guests later on and they told us that they encountered the same situation! Very surprising! So be careful, it may be a scam or a problem of internal organization that they seem to be unable to solve. But do not pay twice your room charge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
Myanmar was subject to various sanctions and even currently not completely able to conduct global financial transactions. Therefore, it takes longer than expected time to process and receive confirmation on transfers made on certain international currencies. This is unfortunately the current status and we hope it would be resolved soon.
In the mean time we have taken corrective actions to improve our services and facilities.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope you would visit us once again.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Kan Yeik Tha Road
Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township
Yangon, Myanmar
Email: zawmyo.tun@kandawgyipalace-hotel.com
Phone: +95 1 382919 (or) 382912
Mobile: +95 9 2034607
Fax: +95 1 382917
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.