We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Boutique-Style That's Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Yangon to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Yangon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Colonial Boutique-Style That's Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here at couple of nights to rest up from a very long flight but the small, out-of-the-way Savoy was most restful and a charming albeit newly built colonial-style hotel. It's tucked away behind a walled courtyard from the bustle of the streets just outside. No elevators so had to walk up three stories to our top story Room 308 overlooking the small but pleasant pool. As with others we wouldn't recommend the restaurant as it's not only expensive for the area (approx. $15-30 USD a meal minimum) but is basically French cuisine with virtually no local dishes. Nearby with a 3-4 min. walk (with constant heavily congested traffic) are three or four good and much less expensive restaurants with either Burmese dishes or Thai that are very good. Staff was very friendly, polite and prompt to resolve any issue we had. The reception and lobby area is rather small and simple. The pool is in the interior courtyard of the hotel, unheated but very pleasant with drink and food service available poolside.

Complimentary in-room wifi was good and reliable, rooms spacious, beds most comfortable if somewhat firm, A/C and room ceiling fan, wooden floors and dark heavy teak furniture, shower stall of good size with "rain shower" type shower heads, bowl of fresh fruit in the room daily, etc.. The provided buffet breakfast was of a limited selection but had most anything from cold to hot food one would want with prompt service and good quality dishes. It's very near the Swedagon Pagoda but the rooms do not really look out on it as it's not tall enough and one can only make out the top spire of the pagoda from the upper level restaurant. The doorman or concierge can quickly hail a cab (all un-metered) for you that can take you most anyplace in the downtown area (with slow, often congested traffic to bog things down) for a very few dollars, just establish an agreed upon price first.

The Central Bank (CB) of Myanmar is just down the same street from the hotel within a 3-min. walk that offers a much better currency exchange rate than the hotel but of course is only open weekdays from about 9:30 to 4 pm. Airport exchange is equally good but better in the main terminal area rather than those immediately at the baggage claim area.

Room Tip: Upper third story rooms with views of the hotel pool are the best and quiet if you don't mind ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear johnandsandy,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We value all feedback as it helps get an insight into what our guests want to see more or less of.

Being a small boutique hotel, we keep our menus moving, meaning that the menus change every so often, unfortunately during your stay we were still preparing our change in menu. We are now offering a full Myanmar a la carte menu as well as western cuisine.

Indeed traffic has picked up in Yangon, making the roads more congested, however, the sights and people are as lovely as ever.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future to showcase our new editions; new lounge cafe, new menus and new breakfast buffet.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    177
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
64
277
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Savoy is a boutique hotel focused that strives to maintain colonial era ambience. The common spaces are small but decorated with old prints of Yangon which are interesting. Unfortunately the hotel is still stuck in the colonial era-tired, The front desk staff are polite but not at all helpful. The breakfast is niggardly and the service is disorganized despite a very hardworking wait staff. Service items like a shop vacuum were left in the hallway-? permanently. The most important criticism pertains to the restaurants. The chef is from France. The menu in the bar/cafe is completely French. The more formal restaurant serves continental cuisine. Only one menu item that had any Asian or Asian fusion inspiration was a grilled Thai beef salad; so if you are coming to Asia and have a taste for local and regional cuisine this is definitely not the place for you. I cannot endorse this property because there are better choices.

Room Tip: First floor rooms look directly out to the pool giving little privacy unless the blinds are left com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear luxetraveler ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response about your stay. Sadly we awere not able to meet your expectations and we apologize for this.

We are happy to inform you that we have our new Myanmar menu in service and we are now able to offer both Continental cuisine as well as Asian cuisine.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future so as to show you that your experience at the Savoy is not the norm.

Best regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Savoy is a charming colonial hotel and their staff, especially the front office are friendly and attentive. On day 2, our breakfast was served at 4.30am as we had to leave for the airport at 5am. The rooms towards the left part of the hotel are noisy in the morning due to close proximity to the road outside.
We came back to stay in Savoy again after visiting other towns in Myanmmar. On the last day, we decided to stay in to relax before leaving for the airport at 1pm. However, the maintenance workers decided to put in a new aircond (for the corridor) right outside our room and the drilling noise was unbearable! A call from the staff to warn us would have been appreciated and we could have checked-out earlier and have lunch elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear vivienne h,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback! Apologies for not having informed you about the routine maintenance works in the corridor, this is of course not intended.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future to prove to you this was an isolated incident.

Best Regards,
Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in The Savoy twice during our trip to Myanmar, once at the start of our holiday and again at the end as Yangon was a good base for getting to other areas in Myanmar.

We had a great stay on both occassions. It's a lovely charming boutique hotel, full of Myanmar colonial charm. I can imagine this is a good alternative to paying the much higher prices to stay at the famous colonial hotel, The Strand. The staff were great and generally helpful, particularly the bellboys who helped us flag taxis to get around the city.

We had a standard "deluxe" room which was really nice (rooms 306 and 307). I loved the colonial style. Great size, comfy bed and clean. Only downsides were the room lighting was a little limited and left the room feeling a bit dark and the shower was unexpectantly really weak for an otherwise near perfect room.

Internet access was superb in both our room and communal areas which is a major plus in Myanmar. The breakfast buffet was nice and there was a great pool area which we had the pleausre of using during the day of our last day.

We ate once for dinner at the hotel restaurant (Kiplings). It was ok but overpriced. I'd recommend the place across the road for a convenient bite to eat (Friendship restaurant) which had great food.

Location-wise, I got the impression it wasn't as convenient as the big hotels which were downtown (e.g. Traders/Shangri-La) so it took a bit of an effort getting taxis to places when we weren't with our guide but if you can overlook this, overall, we had a great stay at The Savoy. We didn't hesitate going back to The Savoy for our second stay. A lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear WYC,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for your kind comments, we value your feedback. We are currently upgrading the lighting in the bedrooms. The power in the shower is an issue already addressed and repaired.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for one night 12 November old style colonial hotel with ok pool on busy crossroads but didn't stop us sleeping, showers could do with a refurb as base filled up due to poor drainage.
Staff very good and happy to help. Had to leave early so hotel made a pack breakfast ok. Walking distance to the main Pagoda

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Johnharp53,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for bringing up the issue with the drainage. We have looked into the matter and resolved it.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very late at night but the staff was fresh and gave us a quick check in. When going to my room I was amazed at the beautiful antiques and the beauty of the staircase (be aware no elevator).
The room was large and nicely decorated.
The staff always makes a place special and the staff here is top quality.
I had no complaints and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear threeqs,

Mingalarbar from the Golden Land!

Thank you for your wonderful comment; we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Unfortunately, we were in between travels, and could only stay one night in this gracious hotel in an old, well preserved British colonial building. Reception, accommodation and breakfast were superb. Polished timber everywhere was a delight to behold, the only downside being that there was no lift. However, the walls lining the staircases featured exciting, modern paintings of Myanmar life that so impressed that we took photos of several. Friendly and efficient staff ensured our brief stay was of the highest order. We would have liked to have stayed at least one more night, if only to wallow in the small, but inviting, pool!

Room Tip: Rooms on a lower floor would save tramping up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear howleroo,

Greetings from the Golden Land!

Thank you for writing up such a wonderful review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.