We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Yangon to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Yangon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Mandal, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Many tourists, like us, arrive in Yangon on a flight from Bangkok. Generally, hotel prices are much higher in Myanmar than in Thailand and other countries in South East Asia. It is now easy for tourists to visit and the numbers far exceeds the available beds in hotels of an acceptable standard. The hotels are taking advantage of this and charging more than is really justified – it is a simple case of supply and demand.

So, accepting the price level, which is comparable with hotels in Europe, the Savoy Hotel is one of the best in Yangon. It is a colonial style boutique hotel, just north of Shwedagon Pagoda. With only 30 rooms and nearly three times as many staff, we were very well looked after during the four days we stayed here. The staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. Our room on the ground floor, overlooking the pool area, was well furnished and comfortable.

Kipling`s Restaurant on the first floor was where both breakfast and dinner was served. The breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection of both Asian and western food. Two evenings we had dinner here which was good, although there is not such a big selection on the menu.

After sightseeing in the city and the surrounding countryside, it was gorgeous to have a swim in the pool and then relax with a drink on the pool side terrace. One afternoon, my wife had a massage in the Spa which she found really relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool area. Some of the other guests said that they could hear the traffic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Todd S,

Mingalabar! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We constantly try to improve ourselves and when we read such reviews it is always a lovely reminder that our hard work does not go unnoticed.
We will be revamping our menus, upgrading in room facilities and doing some landscaping around our pool area so as to further improve our ambiance.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we can once again offer you a memorable holiday in the Golden Land!

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    153
    48
    11
    14
See reviews for
56
225
31
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We started our tour of the country by staying first at Savoy. This was a good choise. The hotel is located within walking distance of Shwedagon (a wonderful experience but not so good for the hottest time of the day because the tiles are extremely hot for the mandatory bare feet).

The building is colonial style with some nice local touches.

Very friendly staff. A couple of nice small details: they provide as much complimentary bottled water as you need and there are always fresh fruit bites at the reception (really nice after sight-seeing in hot weather).

Room was good and good size, bathroom okay, everything clean. Tee and coffee maker provided, as well as fresh fruit on arrival. Some sounds from the street could be heard but not disturbing (I am a light sleeper).

Excellent breakfast. The bar has inexpensive food such as pizza. Dinner in hotel restaurant was good but I would have liked more options for Asian food (not enough to have a several course set menu for Asian food, there should be several main course options too).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear kauris,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; thank you for taking the time to write up a review of your stay.

Currently we are writing up a new menu, we will be sure to add more Asian dishes.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was here on business for about three nights and highly recommend the Savoy. The rooms are quiet and tastefully decorated, while the hotel exudes colonial charm. Rooms are clean and offer basic amenities, including a nice robe and flip flops. In the lobby area you'll find great souvenirs to buy if you can't make it to the market. The pool area is idyllic and the spa relaxing considering that the hotel is located on the corner of a fairly busy intersection. Although it's not smack dab in the center of Yangon, the location is very convenient. It's a short ride downtown, a 20 minute walk from Shwedagon Pagoda, and about 30 minutes from the airport. Taxis are plentiful.

Food in the bar and restaurant is good and the breakfast is nicely done. Costs are comparable to Western standards. You can even see the pagoda from the upstairs terrace. Nearby you'll find a few more local style eateries (Aung Thuka and Friendship), a Thai place, as well as some Western ones (with prices to match).

The best part about this hotel is the service and hospitality. Everyone is incredibly helpful and courteous.

The worst part about this hotel is the slow internet, but that's not really a fault that can be blamed on the Savoy, as it tends to be slow across Yangon.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor, pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear tarrita

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality. We apologize for the slow internet speed, however, we have already upgraded 1 of our internet lines and are in the process of upgrading our second line.

We look forward to welcoming you back the the Savoy Hotel Yangon in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Currently staying at this little gem of a hotel. No it isn't five star but it is good a what it does. The hotel is centred around a courtyard with a pool whack makes a nice spot to wait for the guide or have after dinner drinks.
Breakfast was good with a range of cereals, fruits juices, eggs, etc. Do remember that this is Myanmar and not London so western breakfast foods, bacon and such, are not as one would get in the UK.
Service in all departments is excellent with smiles all round;couldn't be better.
Great slow food restaurant about two hundred metres away (Sharkys) for when you need an alternative to Burmese food.
Also excellent massage house (Seri) across the road; very competent and reasonably priced.
I worked in Thailand in the late eighties and Yangon reminds me very much of that experience. If your thinking of coming do it now before the dreaded Golden Arches and resultant paraphernalia arrives.

Room Tip: Away from the intersection outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Phil C,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course hope that you return in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The staff and quality of this hotel is exceptional. Nothing was too difficult for the staff. The setting is beautiful and tranquil, and the rooms are very quiet. The only downfall - the breakfast was not as we expected, based on the outstanding quality of the hotel as a whole - but cetainly not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Cant go past the suite, the small difference in price is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lisa O,

thank you for the kind comments and of course taking the time to write a review.

We are happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and have also taken note of the breakfast which we are already addressing in order to improve it.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of our tour of Burma. The hotel is excellent, very comfortable. We had breakfast looking out at the nearby Shwedagon Paya, the stunning temple complex, which is within easy walking distance of the hotel. We only ate in the hotel's restaurant one evening, and the food was excellent, although the service went a bit downhill when a large group arrived, luckily as we were getting towards the end of our meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Samthetax,

Thank you for your kind review we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality.

I apologize that the service did not meet your expectations towards the end of your meal, as you know Myanmar is experiencing a tourism boom and there is a need for further training and development, however, we are aware of this and looking into it in order to keep our high standard of service.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a lovely Colonial style hotel with good facilities & nicely furnished. The bed was on the hard side, but perfectly comfortable. The pool area was lovely, very peaceful. Average breakfast. The staff on reception tried to be helpful, but most had a small working knowledge of English. We had trouble getting more than one towel! Although it's quite a long way from the centre of town, I thought that was good, as it's chaos in town! A taxi to the Strand Hotel area was only 3,000 bht (under $4). We found that it was easier to go to a big hotel & ask the doorman to get you a taxi for the return trip. The hotels in Myanmar are expensive & the restaurants match the room costs. Opposite the Savoy on Inya Rd is a very basic looking restaurant called Friendship Restaurant. We approached it with trepidation, but it was excellent & very cheap. There was another good restaurant, if you liked curries, called Thai Kitchen, on the opposite side to the Savoy across Dhammazedi Rd.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniteam, Guest Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's concerning to read about your experience and it's critical that our team focuses on delivering the level of service excellence. Please accept our sincere apology for the convenience , we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you for future visit to Myanmar.

Best Regards,
Thiri Zeya
Guest Relations Manager
Savoy Hotel, Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.