We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming colonial oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Yangon to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Yangon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Charming colonial oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Yangon and enjoyed it very much. It is a charming old colonial home to which a wing has been added in which the bedrooms are situated. The pool area is a cool oasis, but they could do with investing in some more pool furniture. Rooms are large and there are teak floors throughout. We ate in the restaurant on two occasions and found the food to be very good. There is a lovely view of the Shwedagon Pagoda from the dining room.

Although this is a nice hotel, do agree with others that the price is steep, but I think it is par for the course in Myanmar, where hotels of an international standard are thin on the ground. We were comfortable at the Savoy and would stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    153
    48
    11
    14
See reviews for
56
225
31
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we stayed twice at the SAVOY during the past 3 years. the present prices do not match the services of the Hotel at all. Over priced compared to other hotels in Yangoon. out dated rooms, bath rooms, very noisy toward the main, bustling road, 20 hours of heavy traffic, poor windows.
Lack of hot water, dripping Air Condition.

Reception, poor English, long wait for check in ( lost reservation).
The Bar - Lounge, is a Smokers Den, with very intoxicated expats, using poor language.
At our 3rd journey to Myanmar, we used the Chartrium Hotel, absolute a great difference, complete Hotel Services , lifts to go up or down, a choice of restaurants, a large pool , in a tropical garden setting. Close to all major attractions, including down town, located at a very park - lake like section of yangon, highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms , facing the pool section, not the road section. 107, 108 109, 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

2 nights in december 2012. It is a nice hotel for arrival in Yangon. The staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast is good. excellent food in the restaurant for dinner. The rooms are quite, although near big streets. Nice small terrasse. The swimming pool is in shadow in the late afternoon, and in december a bit cold, but otherwise nice! However, there are not enough longchairs near the swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Service is really outstanding at this lovely hotel. Although I arrived around 5 o'clock in the morning (and my room was not ready) I was allowed to use another room until my actual room was prepared at 9 o'clock. Staff at the reception is friendly, very helpful and efficient. So are the doormen. When a Sprite can exploded in my minibar, the problem was taken care of immediatelly. There are 2 computers for guests with internet access free of charge.
Breakfast is very good and the restaurant offers a great view of Shwedagon Pagoda.
The pool area is mostly quiet and relaxing, except if seized by embassy staff.
There are two good restaurants on the opposite side of the street.
I would love to come back at any time!

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the pool are much quieter than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent three nights overall on our recent trip to Myanmar with Trailfinders at the Savoy. Rooms were colonial style and gorgeous (as well as having UK sockets which was a bonus!). Very peaceful with lovely pool area, nice bar etc. Breakfast was delicious, the best that we had on the trip. The staff were also incredibly helpful and nice. I had problems accessing the internet from the business centre so they very kindly let me use the one in their own office so that I could check in for our flight the next day. Yeah, it's on a busy intersection, but it's Yangon! What do you expect? That's part of the whole experience. Don't really know the price as we booked everything as a tailor made holiday through Trailfinders.
Some nice restaurants around (the hotel was little too expensive for us for dinner) as long as you take a torch with you to find them!
Overall thought that the hotel was beautiful, the room comfortable and the staff charming and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Charming but definitely in need of some uplifting in order to justify the cost. When you walk in, you feel you are walking into a historical place. There is no elevator to take you to the upper floors but the staff does most of the hard work for you. However, there are some obvious elements of neglect in the upkeeping of the hotel which could easily be solved.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As other reviewers say this is old style but with a big price tag. Inside it's very peaceful but it's a v busy road outside with a ice cream bar which our kids rather liked ! We stayed here one night at the end of a ten night trip to Myanmar as a treat with three kids so we took two rooms. So my outlay was rather high ! Just not sure it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.