We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon to your Saves list
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had six nights here, overall a pretty good experience. The hotel is centrally located near Kandawgyi Lake, and the overall feel is of a reasonably high standard. The rooms are clean and modern, and the hotel copes well with the frequent power outages. The staff are friendly and attentive, but sometimes struggle with English leading to a few issues including a missed alarm call. The breakfast menu is varied and catering more for the eastern clientelle, though cereals, fruit and omelette are available for the western palate. Overall a good hotel, but the five star designation may not match with some traveller's expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    302
    59
    16
    4
See reviews for
53
210
43
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights for work. Comfortable room, small but okay gym, shallow pool (no more than five feet deep!), solid breakfast buffet. Check-in and check-out processes very efficient. Two ATMs on site for withdrawing local currency. Staff friendly and helpful. Drive to airport about 30-60 minutes depending on traffic. Good stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Last week was my first visit to Yangon for an exhibition, after the preparation at the exhibition hall, was exhausted and when arrive at the hotel, I was warmly greeted by the door man Mr. Myo Zaw Oo.
In the morning, while having breakfast, I was served by Miss Victoria and cafe staff whose service were excellent.I thought I should write this compliments so that other visitors who visit Yangon will enjoy their stay there.

Room Tip: Choose high floor with room facing the pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It's decent property , should have decent options for vegetarian travellers .

Room tariffs changes on every visit and cause of limited five star options they have monopoly, room share fairly okay and decent hospitality. It's kicked near to big lake .very near to pagoda

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have been coming to Yangon regularly over the last 14 years but staying in the two main hotels located in downtown Yangon. This is my first stay at the Chatrium. Henceforth, this will be my first choice. The reasons are as follows:

1. The location! Located just next to Kandawgyi Lake, it's well away from the hustle and bustle of the overcrowded streets of downtown Yangon. Yet if it is necessary to be in downtown Yangon, it's only about 15 to 20 mins away by car. The area around the hotel is very serene and peaceful. A lovely way to combine a business trip with some peace and tranquility.

2. The view! The room I had was one with the lake view and on the eighth floor. One floor shy of the highest floor. The view was fantastic. From the room I got a broad view of the green lake and it's surrounds of lush greenery. A step onto the balcony (Yes! One can actually open the door and step out onto the balcony, albeit a very small and narrow one) and one gets a good view of the Shwedagon Pagoda. A beautiful view especially at night when it's fully lit up.

3. The room! My room was the Club Room. It was obviously recently refurbished. The furniture and carpeting are all new along with the coat of paint and varnish. The room was very well maintained and cleaned such that I had absolutely nothing to complain about. Everything worked! A privilege I seldom enjoy, even in some highly reputable five-star hotels. Housekeeping here is excellent. Clothes thrown about were lovingly folded and everything was spick and span. The turndown service was as good and thorough as the clean-up in the morning.

4. The service! As humans dealing with another human, the quality of service is a very personal perception. Therefore, all I can say is that for me, my experience with the service here is nothing short of excellent. In every facet of this hotel, I have been made to feel welcome and my requests, a pleasure to meet. Of note is the breakfast team led by Assistant F&B Manager, Steven (I did not get a chance to get his real name). Some mornings I have seen the place crowded and with some very demanding guest. Yet they manage to take care of everyone with no visible sign of stress or frustration. On one occasion, the cappuccino machine broke down. Steven made a point of remembering that I liked cappuccino and offered to have it brought from another machine in the lobby.

During my lunch at the Tiger Hill Resturant, Raymond (Naing Win) provided what I would call five-star service. He was spot-on in his recommendations of dishes and knew exactly when to be available and when to move away. He really added to the lunch experience in a way that's difficult to find these days.

5. The quality of food! Whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, I found that each of the restaurants provided very good quality food. My compliments to the chefs.

6. Being in the Club Room I was entitled to the High Tea and evening cocktails. The High Tea was at best sufficient. Not too much by way of selection but what was provided certainly tasted good. The evening cocktails was much the same in terms of food. However they were generous with the amount and quality of the drinks. .

On the whole a very lovely experience. One that I will certainly want to repeat on my next visit to Yangon. My constructive feedback to the management would be:

A. Please allow the staff to display their actual names instead of fixing a western name to each of them. Yes! Some Myannmar names can be difficult to pronounce. But then so can some Chinese, Indian, European and Japanese names. It's our job as guest to your country to learn how to pronounce the names. You can help the culturally challenged by making some names less challenging. Like Htet could be displayed as Tet or Kyaw could be displayed as Cho. This just a compromise on my part but I would rather you did not do that either. I would hate for my own name yo be changed in any way in order for it to be 'palatable' for a foreigner. Please do not take away the individual identity and culture of your staff.

B. The lobby and corridor of the eight floor has a permanent smell of smoke although I have never seen anyone smoke there.

C. Despite your obvious best efforts the pounding of music tends to seep softly into the room. It often awakens me at around 4am and then I'm awake till 5am when the pounding stops. Unfortunately, the end of the music is sometimes followed by the roar of what sounds like a convoy of super cars like Ferrari and Maserati. Not sure what you can do about that but just thought I would let you know that it can be heard on the eight floor. It's not jarring or very obvious. Just becomes lightly so in the silence of the middle of the night.

My gratitude to everyone for making this a wonderful stay. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: A high floor overlooking the lake would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

positives: Good views of lake and pool. clean room. standing shower without tub is a nice plus. bell hops are helpful to hail taxis at fair prices and bring luggage quickly.

negatives: Worst part of service is in the restaurants.
Need lot more training - expect to ask a few times for things (coffee, utensils). - expect them not to wipe down table well between customers. Nasty to consistently see food in placemats. doesnt feel clean.
Very silly policy for credit card purchase at restaurants requires your passport or in-room guest validation.
maxed out credit card due to checkin credit hold and the checkout payment. very strange as card limit is quite high. I know other travellers that hit this problem too. not good to max out card while travelling. luckily i brought enough cash too, without that, ouch.

Room Tip: stay away from top floor room with water pressure pump. Give you a splitting head ache and seems th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear John Philadelphia,

Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to write a review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon during your recent visit.

We regret to note that an otherwise pleasant visit was spoiled by an unpleasant experience at our Restaurant and the issue with credit card. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience as a result.

Management is aware of the situation and corrective measures including the reinforcement of our training program are underway to ensure that similar problems do not occur again. We truly appreciate your bringing the matter to our attention, as it is through comments such as yours that we are provided with one way of monitoring and further improving our standards of service.

Nevertheless, it was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcoming you again to our property on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

You can find other hotels with more luxury facility and design, better location, historical building or cheaper prices. However, this hotel is warm, friendly and with it's own character and soul. Highly resommend to stay here. Staff are so friendly and willing to help, special thanks to Ms. Rosa from Chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Solo66,

Thank you most sincerely for make Chatrium Hotel your home away from home in Yangon and the kind review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

In particular, Ms. Rose Waitress at Tiger Hill Restaurant was gratified to learn that she was able to contribute to making your stay with us even more pleasant and comfortable for you. Again, thank you for letting us know.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.