We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartfelt Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon to your Saves list
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heartfelt Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Elegant hotel sitting across the Royal lake with really lovely staff members. They really try hard to ensure you have a good stay here! Beautiful pool are that's more like a beach resort than a cit y hotel.Located close to the Shwedagon Pagoda.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the lake and the pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Lahiri,

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home during your recent visit to Yangon. We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities have met your expectations in every aspect.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    302
    59
    16
    4
See reviews for
53
210
43
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good rooms with views of the lake and Pagoda. Morning and evening views are great. Super clean swimming pool and nice gym. The rooms are spacious, room service is good. Buffet meals are great value for money and offer good choices too. Lake across the hotel has good walking areas, restaurants, bars etc. Free laundry was a nice gesture too. All in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with lake view. Pagoda is visible from there too. Pagoda view is next best choice. Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Arun P.

Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From what I could gather from our 2 week stay in Myanmar, this hotel is as good as it gets. Large room, all amenities. Not close to the downtown area so you'll need to take a taxi every where. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Wanda J

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased to read your review and so delighted to note that have had an enjoyable time with us as well as highly satisfied with the quality of service rendered by our staff.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grignan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything is almost blameless.
The only thing that is not worthy of a 5 star is that the buffet is very poorly heated
And some dishes exellents but not hot, are not pleasant at all
This is true even for breakfast with fried cold  bacon l
And yet it is so simple to fix this
Many of us complained about this fact
The rest as others say, it is up to what we can expect

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Jacques Grignan,

Thank you very much for kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon. We are pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable time with us. Your comment with regards to the temperature of buffet foods are well received our Executive Chef is now looking into a proper action to improve our food temperature. We always appreciate information from our guests since constructive comments such as yours provide us with one way of monitoring our service standards and the needs of our guests.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we hope to be of your service again on trip to Yangon, Land of the Golden Pagodas.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

While this is not a 5 star hotel it was certainly a delightful experience! We had a great room overlooking the Pagoda, great toiletries, a modern bathroom, and they changed linens every day. The pool was clean and there were enough beds poolside. Breakfast was very good. Taxi rides all over are relatively cheap. There is an ATM right there in front of the hotel. Stay away from the Strand hotel on Friday nights. Apparently, it was happy hour ( for several hours), and it was noisy. I would return there on a non Friday for a drink though. We did eat at two places for dinner that were quite good. Junior Duck and Shwe Sa Bwe which I will review separately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to review and share your delightful experience during your recent stay at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Tripavisor. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the Shwedagon Pagoda view from your own room balcony. This is one of our unique room features that our guests who had booked this room type are never disappointed.

Once again, for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar

Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The atmosphere was charming and friendly. Our check-in was prompt and informative. The location was excellent. We enjoyed walking to almost all of our activities. Staff is helpful and friendly. All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided. It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests, we hope to have the opportunity of being your service again in not too far distant.

Sahapol Ladda.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I wouldn't call this hotel a 5 star by any stretch but it was pleasant enough. It has a slight colonial feel to it- the rooms are a good size and there are little balconies off each room. There is a note that says the doors are locked for safety reasons but mine wasn't . The bathroom was modern though the water pressure and temperature were a bit erratic. Not many electrical sockets in my room and the wireless was very challenging - on off on off but worse is the log in and password on a scrap of paper you have to carry around. Every time it goes off, you have to type in the information and it happens frequently . Plus you can only have one device at a time hooked in though they did give me a second log in. Eventually the log in will stop working and you will have to start again with a new one. I thought the breakfast buffet was adequate and the food overall in the garden restaurant just adequate . The Japanese place was good. The place is clean and the staff eager to help. The location is fine. The pool is huge and grounds are pretty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon and share the experience during your recent stay. We are delighted to note of your compliment on the cleanliness of our hotel, large swimming pool, pretty ground areas as well as the helpfulness of our staff.

All the issues of your concern are well received and have been passed on to our Management so that immediate and long-term solutions may be implemented. Some of these have already been acted on for example extras username and password is providing up on check in. This is part of our endeavours to bring greater value and comfort to our guests.

It was a real pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.