We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sule Shangri-La Yangon to your Saves list
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed three nights at the then Traders hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it, a R & R after weeks of travelling in Burma. A well appointed room, air conditioning that functioned, crisp sheets, internet speed. We were on the Club floor. Breakfast was served in the Club and was excellent. Well trained staff who wanted to serve and help. The evening snacks were wonderful, in fact the best bread and butter pudding ever tasted. Lovely evening view from Club lounge.
Hotel very convenient for downtown, all is walkable.
Negative - understandable but the level of security was disagreeable.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the mass of tourists, ngo employees and unruly children, take a room on the clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    501
    100
    24
    20
See reviews for
116
425
114
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was my second stay at a Traders hotel, and both times I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

I was staying in a "Traders Club" room, which provides access to the "Club" lounge. The Club lounge in Rangoon is on the top floor, and has great views out across the city. The Traders Club has a fantastic complimentary happy hour, so much good food. There are also copious amounts of snacks and soft drinks available during the day. The only downside of the Club is the food is so good it might put you off wanting to go out and try the local cuisine which is delicious. I had breakfast in the Club each morning, and it was one of the best breakfasts I have had at a hotel.

My room was clean, large and well equipped. I heard minimal noise from the corridors or neighbouring rooms.

The hotel swimming pool is clean and large enough to properly exercise in. The hotel gym is well equipped, clean and with a good range of weights etc.

The hotel bar is great if you like the sensation of suffocating on cigarette smoke. I would suggest avoiding it at all costs.

The hotel is centrally located, and provides a good base for tourists and business.

Room Tip: Go for a Traders Club room. Higher up for the views, and away from potential street noise. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

You will always know there is a distinct Shangri-la quality every time you are one of these hotels (with exception to Shangri-la Sydney which gave me a really bad experience).

After getting back from London 4 days ago, I am off to Myanmar. This is my second trip and this time I chose to stay at the Shangri-la, which is closer to the smack of things.

The experience of checking in was a breeze with friendly staff ready to satisfy my every whim. The staff was polite, and friendly all the way to the entrance of my room. The room felt really cosy and the bed was inviting after a 4 hour journey from Malaysia.

Again, it is pretty standard Shangri-la qualities, all well equipped and of good distinct quality. I intend to check out the gym and the pool later, but overall I felt impressed and positive about the whole first impression so far.

I am looking forward to the next 2 days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The best hotel experience I have ever had. All the staff went out of their way to be professional, helpful and friendly, but the concierge and all the staff in the Horizon Club lounge exceeded all expectations. The room was very comfortable and provided everything we could have required. Catering and ambience in the Club lounge were great. Location was ideal for the city and tourist spots, and close to a huge local market, though some distance from the airport.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the Shwedagon Pagoda from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The location is perfect for business as well as leisure travelers - close to the main business district, the 2 main pagodas (Sule & Shwedagon), inya lake and many good restaurants. Sule Shangri-la is a 45 minutes drive from the airport.
The buffet breakfast is lavish (served in Sule cafe restaurant) and the food is good. The hotel bar is a nice place to hangout in the evenings. The chinese restaurant has great food! The overall grandeur of Sule Shangri-la is impressive. The health club including the gym and the spa facilities is very well equipped and is of the highest standards.
The star feature of the hotel is its hospitality. The staff is extremely polite and courteous and would go to any lengths to ensue the comfort of their guests.

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

An excellent hotel by any standards and well beyond what we had expected in Yangon. The rooms are all big and comfortable and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was terrific, with a wide selection of eastern and western dishes. The key to us was the quality of the concierge. They were very helpful with dining and transportation ideas and made our stay that much easier

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

From the time we checked in till the time we checked out, the service was very professional. The lounge downstairs and the bar upstairs served as comfortable meeting points. We were very impress with the breakfast choices from local Asian food to continental breakfast. The room was comfortable and the amenities sufficient. One thing that we were most impress was the fast and reliable internet. This is our hotel of choice when we are in Yangon for business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sule Shangri-La Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.