We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sule Shangri-La Yangon to your Saves list
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location, walking distance to Scott market and Sule Pagoda.
Very nice hotel. The service on the exec floors is exceptional. The evening happy hour buffets are great, a real dinner.
Breakfast in the main restaurant has a lot of good choices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    506
    100
    24
    20
See reviews for
117
432
115
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kongsvinger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a 5-stars hotel centrally situated in the Yangon. It is probably the best hotel I ever visited. The service was excellent at the restaurant presented the finest food. Rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were not originally booked in here but got "Bumped" at our first choice hotel and how lucky that we did!!! It is in a very good location, an easy walk out to the central market and restaurants. We had a beautiful suite that had everything we could possibly need and beautiful flower arrangements too. The club lounge on the 21st floor gives fantastic views all across the city to the Shwedagon Pagoda (flood lit at night) and has a fantastic "Happy Hour". Happy Hour lasts about 2 1/2 half hours and there is no charge. Yes, free booze but lots of delicious eats too, all in the comfort of the lounge with those wonderful views. Staff are delightful, nothing is too much trouble for them. Thank you.

Room Tip: Have a room on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The staff are fantastic. Great buffet for children. Healthy and fresh food. Will go back. Great family meal out. Good selection of Asian and western food, plus South Asian. Not rushed to finish at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at the Traders for 9 days over the Christmas and new year period and the hotel has undergone a lot of refurbishment since our last stay in 2010. I would certainly class the facilities and rooms as a decent five star hotel. The breakfasts are wonderful with excellent choice and quality of food and the staff in the restaurant and lounge area are very attentive and professional. However, the staff in the other areas of the hotel are not performing at five star level, particularly considering the rates the hotel is now charging. The rooms were not cleaned properly, only the beds made and plates are not cleared away promptly after room service. The gym has been refurbished and the equipment is of a high standard, however the pool area still looks dated and the pool is not heated which meant our children were unable to swim there. Considering the length of time we were staying there, having a usable pool was one of the main considerations for us so we were left disappointed. I am not sure if we would return, certainly not at the current prices and look forward to other high end hotels opening in a Yangon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Htaik,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us at the Traders Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you felt let down by the some of our service associates and our housekeeping services. We will look into option about the pool heating as well and rest assured that improvements will be made.

We have discussed your experience with the relevant departments involved and hope that you will give us the chance to restore your confidence in us. If you wish to discuss your concerns further, please get in touch with me directly at dave.junker@tradershotels.com

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Traders twice while in Yangon - once at the start of our travels in Myanmar and once at the tail end. Both times, the hotel was outstanding and exceeded our expectations. It has been refurbished recently, and this is evident by the plush, clean carpets lining the corridors to the beautiful rooms.

Check in is done efficiently and the front desk has all it's paperwork ready and waiting for you, and this hotel accepts payment by credit cards. The staff are polite and welcoming, and speak English very well too! They also give you the best exchange rate for your dollars to kyats, so change all or most of your money at the hotel (or in Yangon) before going off on your travels within Myanmar.

The rooms:

Definitely ask for a room on a high floor, with a Pagoda view. We had room on the 17th floor on the way in and 19th floor on the way out, and the Shwedagon Pagoda viewed from the room is stunning, especially when it is all lit up at night.
On the first leg, we stayed in a deluxe room, which is very cosily furnished with a large king size bed, crisp cotton sheets, and all the amenities you would expect in a hotel of this calibre - fluffy bathrobes, bedroom slippers, shower caps, shampoo, soap, lotion, toothbrushes and toothpaste, a shaving kit, mini bar, safe, hair dryer and a well stocked complimentary tea and coffee point. You also get 4 complimentary bottles of water per day. On the return leg, we were very excited to be upgraded to an executive room on the Traders Club Floor! Other than a few more amenities in the bathroom (loofah, weighing scale, flowers) and stationery in the desk, there is not much difference room wise. However, with the executive room you do get to use the Traders Club Lounge, which is lovely to sit in at happy hour ( between 5pm and 7pm)and enjoy the canapés, desserts and happy hour drinks - all of the highest quality, with a lovely panoramic view of Yangon below.
Perhaps my favorite part of the room was the divan bed, strategically placed next to the large windows, and perfect for enjoying the view of the lit up Pagoda. The rooms are spacious and impeccably kept, and the housekeeping is of an outstanding level.

Room service is fantastic - the menu is varied, reasonably priced and the food served is delicious. The food comes within 20 minutes of ordering. Definitely try the chicken satay if you order in.


Hotel amenities:
There is a fully equipped business centre, gym and swimming pool too.

The area:
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Sule Pagoda, and from Scott Market. There are tonnes of great places to eat at, if you don't feel like eating at the hotel, all within walking distance, and quite busy. We walked around without any incidences and felt very safe at all times.

All in all, Traders is a fantastic hotel to stay in while in Yangon - and you won't go wrong with the Shangri-la brand!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location, great experience, great breakfast, great convenience, great staff. If you can afford to stay in this hotel, I assure you will not be disappointed. Take a morning walk and explore the wonders of the local wet market. Walk to Scott's market and choose from more than 100 shops to buy your gems and jade. I love the local pineapples.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sule Shangri-La Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.