We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sule Shangri-La Yangon to your Saves list
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Traders hotel recently and was a very nice stay. They are still undergoing a renovation of the club level lounge and hotel rooms. There was some considerable noise on the 20th floor where the construction is taking place only during the day. After speaking with front desk staff they moved me to a very nice quiet room on the 19th floor in the pagoda view wing. Very comfortable room with good English speaking TV and great wireless Internet in the room as well as executive lounge. Restaurant had fantastic service and very good food. Spent one morning at the pagoda but not much else within walking distance of hotel that we wanted to see. Will defiantly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    503
    100
    24
    20
See reviews for
116
428
115
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Superb service, very comfortable room. Loved the pool. We had dinner in the lounge because the restaurant was fully booked. Simple but tasty stake sarnie with a nice red. We had to leave at the time breakfast started, but were offered continental brekkie in the restaurant half an hour early. This basically meant full buffet apart from hot dishes. Best breakfast we had during our holiday in Myanmar and Thailand, absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is considered an old hotel with constant refurbishments. We have been travelling to Myanmar for the last 20 years and I had the fortunate privilege of seeing this hotel built back in the mid 90s (when I was working there) and it certainly has experienced many ups and downs. There is more activity now especially in the number of guests staying there. The surrounding area can be quite dark in the evenings due to poor lighting and power failures. The hotel staff is very attentive and friendly. Great breakfast spread but very crowded. Comfortable bed and wide bathroom amenities. Request for the Shwedagon Pagoda view if available. Traders Club lounge was under renovation but the current temporary facilities could be better. Food spread not that great. I had a problem with the mosquitoes whilst sitting in the lobby lounge in the evenings. Internet connnection was dodgy but expected given the current problems facing the telecommunications industry. Some of the floors are used as normal commercial offices and the crowd (non staying guests) during the day can be similar to a shopping complex. Power trips did occur when we stayed there but bearable. My expectations on this hotel were met as I was fully aware of the shortcomings. The room rates are considered steep compared to more value for money places like Bangkok, Singapore, HCM and Hanoi. Would certainly stay here again in our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

They have recently renovated the whole hotel. The rooms are nicer, the restaurant is better and the service is superb. I first came in 2011 and everything just awful. But now in 2013, they really surpass my expectations.

Room Tip: The room rate is very expensive but totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our 5th stay in 15 months. I hadn't realised the significance until they presented us with a box of chocolates.
This hotel just keeps on improving, the rooms, public areas and the Club Lounge have/are being upgraded on an ongoing basis.
When we stayed here first, in November 2011 it was very tired and unloved. It seems that the Shangri La group have realised the significant influx of visitors that Myanmar is going to have over the coming months/years will be a profit opportunity..... but only if Traders is brought up to international standards. I can honestly now report that it is just about there.
The staff are first class, as are the facilities. We have always stayed there because of the location, a stones throw from Scott's Market and the bustling Indian Quarter in the heart of the downtown area.
Ask for a Pagoda View room to see the stunning Shwe Dagon Pagoda at day and at night.
Well done Traders but don't get greedy on your rates please.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouvers
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the hotel. We were very satisfied with the hotel.
The happy hour in the lounge was a pleasant way to unwind after our excursions in Yangon.
Don't miss taking the train ride around Yangon. The scenery is nothing to write home about but the market activities that take place on the train are facinating

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Located 30 min drive from the airport and downtown this 70's-style hotel is a bit dated when it comes to design - but great staff, effective duty manager, very clean, comfortable rooms and beds, great shower, lovely big pool and good breakfast. I did not eat dinner in the hotel since there are so many restaurant options in Yangon - and found the hotel's location very handy to get around - either on foot ( Scotts Market is 5 min walk, Strand Road or China Town 15 min walk and Shwedagon Paya 10 min by taxi ). There is complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, free Internet terminal in the lobby and they take credit cards at a commission. Like all hotels in Myanmar the hotel is quite expensive - but considering the recent developments in the country I perceived it to be good value overall.

Room Tip: I booked an executive room and stayed on the 19th floor - no noise issues - the exec lounge is curre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sule Shangri-La Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.