We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commercial and social centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Hotel Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sedona Hotel Yangon to your Saves list
Sedona Hotel Yangon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Commercial and social centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five nights.
Although built in the 70's it is large and well run. The staff are very eager to please, the rooms are excellent, pool huge. There is a lot going on at the hotel, weddings, business meetings etc. good theatre if you are just there for a holiday.
The breakfast buffet is superb.
Things to improve:- suggest the hotel introduces a no smoking policy inside the hotel.
The Internet is slow and charged for, except in the lounge area. Suggest that guests are given a password that comes with their room.
The decor is beginning to look a little tired in places so a Re vamp would be good.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Nigel P

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate the useful feedback for improvements!

We will look into designating certain smoking areas within the hotel, and improve the constant intermittent internet network.

We are planning a revamp, and hope to welcome you again when you next visit Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    169
    98
    30
    12
See reviews for
33
53
26
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Sedona Yangon is a luxurious hotel with huge rooms, swimming pool, pro gym, and all of the customer service to go with it all. The beds were very comfortable, rooms were quiet, and bathrooms were clean and functional. The buffet breakfast is plentiful, with a wide selection of foods from Asian and western cuisines.

On the down side, the water in the pool was not heated, and had a strange smell. The biggest downer was discovering that such an opulent hotel does not include wi-fi access with its already high-priced rooms. Apparently, it's included only with an even more expensive "deluxe" room. Six US dollars for three hours of slow internet access for everyone else!

Were it not for this ridiculous nickel and diming by a luxury hotel, I would've given it another star. But they don't deserve it with such an attitude.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear onbalance

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We face a constant challenge with the internet network and hope the overall system will be improved in due time.

As the average temperature in Yangon is around 27 to 28 °C, installing a pool heater may not be helpful when most guests use the pool during the day. We will study this option before deciding whether to implement it in future.

We are glad you enjoyed our service, rooms and breakfast; and hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Check-in 20th Jan, Check-out 26th Jan.

1) Strictly Cash and you have to pay 100% upon check-in.
2) Stayed for 6 nights. Instead of having a internet password for staright 6 days eveyday you will have to ask the reception to give you new password, sometime you have to ask up to 2 or 3 times a day.
3) Most time only 2 persons on duty at the front desk and you have to call repeatedly a couple of time before they pick your call.
4) On one of the night the reception promised to call me back with a new password but never did for more than half an hour.
5) Did not carry a lot of new USD notes, therefore after paying for my 6 nights room charges there is no possibilty to pay extra. On a night when I wanted to make a local call (USD40 cents per mins) from my room I was told I am not allowed to do so as I did not pay deposit during check-in. I told the receptionist that I will pay the call charges during check-out but was rejected outright by her. She insisted that I have to go to the business centre to call and make cash payment there.

I paid USD200+ for my room a night and the hotel is worried that I will cheat them of USD40 cents.

What a joke!

I never had this type of problem the last time I stayed in Park Royal.

Charge super expensive for the room rate but so calculative over a USD40 cents call

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jurong

We are sorry that you had an unsatisfactory stay with us.

Our front desk team is multi-tasking between guest services and event management, due to the large number of seminars and conferences the hotel is receiving. We will look into providing the team with more support during this peak period so that the comfort of our guests is not compromised.

We face a constant challenge with the intermittent internet connection and will try our best to improve the network.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Yangon.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have spent 2 weeks at Sedona and our communication issues were resolved by the very supportive staff at the business center especially Ms Yatu and mr Bo Bo. They were always ready to accommodate our requests for Internet etc.
the hotel claims to be a 5-star, but does not match even four star standards. for the rates charged, it was extremely disappointing.
the airconditioning is horrible-one feels the hotels switches off all Acs at night, and you wake up sweating.

Room Tip: The pool facing rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Anu S

We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

The hotel runs more chillers to improve the overall temperature for guests. We have also placed new aircons in various parts of the hotel, including the lobby. The comfort of guests remain a top priority, and we will work on making further improvements to the cooling system.

We are glad our colleagues attended to your requirements well, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went to Yangon for business trip on November 2012, stayed there for 4 nights with great sleeping experience! overall its a great place! when we arrived, we were greeted with very big smile and very friendly staffs. While we were waiting for the check in, they serve us with the world's best orange juice! The room is great! very spacious and my room view is The Lady's house lake. Taxis is available anytime and the staff there will help you to get the best price!!! Their breakfast is great! their chefs is 5* and the food is so special! greeted by a friendly German manager. The Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor is great for dinner! They have a very great lobby with a small cafe there, its a great place for business talk. the only thing that bother me about this hotel is everyone seems to be smoking indoor and everywhere in the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear PlatOng

Thank you so much for writing us this encouraging review.

We are glad you had a fantastic stay with us, and hope you will stay with us again… or with any of our other Sedona properties!

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sedona Hotel in Yangon is a 5 star properly located right opposite Lake Inya with lovely views of the lake. It is conveniently located between the airport and the main city centre.

The hotel itself is a low grade 5 star, well maintained with a fair selection of restaurants, a bar, and all the rest one would expect. But due to the current business climate in Myanmar, everything is grossly overpriced. I paid over US$300 for a room that should not have cost more than US$100, but i guess that's the price for visiting Myanmar at this point in time.

I didn't use the room much but it is standard with all basic amenities, and so is the bathroom - nothing special at all even though it was a club room. It is relatively clean and everything was working. Remember to take a plug adapter for your laptop or phone as the hotel charges US$5 (refundable) if you were to borrow one from the business centre.

The food is decent in the main restaurant (I only had breakfast twice). I had a drink at the bar which is dark and loud and has a nice live filipino band belting out old hits. They also have a Chinese restaurant on the first floor which i never went to.

I visited the club lounge once which had a happy hour until 8PM with free drinks, snacks and BBC. It is a nice place for meetings or just to enjoy a drink after the day is done.

And that's about it!

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Vinayfp

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are happy you had a satisfactory stay. Improving our services and facilities remains a constant goal we work hard at, and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in September...... Room was ok, old and in need of a referb, the TV was fuzzy and really not watchable, i put this down to the poor satellite connections in Burma.

The internet connection is slow, again more an issue with the country than the hotel. The chinese restaurant was excellent, as their is not much to do in Rangoon at night, dinner was the highlite of my evening.

staff are nice enough, if i had to return here for a trip, i would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear agjeaton

Thank you for writing us a TripAdvisor review.

We appreciate your understanding on our less than satisfactory internet connection and TV reception. We are constantly working with our vendors to improve both challenges.

We hope to see you very soon again!

Best Regards
Saman Sarathchandra (Mr)
Senior General Manager, Sedona Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon

Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Venere, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Hotel Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.