We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an amazing hotel in Yangon with history behind and peaceful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Governor's Residence to your Saves list
Belmond Governor's Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is an amazing hotel in Yangon with history behind and peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

You will feel like stay in a city resort, the hotel located in CBD surrounding Embassies yet a min away to shopping mall and sightseeing places. Staffs very helpful always ready to helping you any inquires you may have in mind. Susie, GRO is friendly and very helpful to wrote me a places where I would like to visit in Myanmar to show to local taxi driver, it is great help.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    172
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
121
509
60
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

While I have been to other more luxurious hotels/resorts, this place was, overall, definitely one of the best to relax. The facilities were clean and the staff was very accomodating. I and My wife especially enjoyed the pool that was open 24 hours - it was warm during the night.
Far more than we had expected!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights booked via My Way Travel agent. It was relaxing, the gardens, rooms, restaurants, pool were lovely. I think it's best hotel in Myanmar.
We loved hotel! Will Come back next year!

Room Tip: stay in Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed there during the Water Festival. We greatly appreciated being away from the noise of the festivities and yet could feel the cheerful atmosphere in the hotel with the daily celebration organised for the staff.
The rooms are awesome, well-equipped, everything is thought to make you feel comfortable. Extremely clean and spacious with a wonderful view on a lotus pond and the gardens.
The food is gorgeous (breakfast buffet and dinner). The staff is wonderful and always smiling.
The swimming-pool was very welcome in such a heat!!!
The buildings of teak wood make you go back in time and feel like Karen Blixen in Kenya!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Everything about the Governor`s Residence expresses quality.
From reception to leaving, service is of the highest possible quality.
Breakfast, lunch or dinner taken on the veranda are all enjoyable and indeed memorable.
The gardens are a delight.
Bedroom and bathrooms are spacious and have great character (though the bathrooms are now a little tired).
Book early to avoid missing this most marvellous experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Look no further...this is the place. Excellently placed within the city's Embassy Quarter we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Loved it. The entire staff was so kind & attentive. Two of my favorites were Susie & Charlie & of course, Thomas (reception).

We stayed here when first entering Burma & again at the end of our trip. We're so happy that we stayed several days as it's truly a wonderful place to interact w/ the lovely people of Burma as well as chill & bask in the glory of a bygone era-colonial style. The fabulous atmosphere was so relaxing & quiet. The rooms were lovely & the beds were super comfy. The food was absolutely delicious & cooked to perfection.

We simply cannot say enough positive things about The Governor's Residence. When we return to Burma we will choose to live like a sovereign & stay at TGR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay in .elegant wooden architecture, helpful hotel staff with warm smiles, spacious and well maintained room. Well considered activities such as market market tour, movie evening and history talk. Excellent and attentive service - in the hot and sweaty season after morning market tour and tea house visit, we got handed over clean and icy cold towel and bottled water.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#3 of 109 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,611 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand Yangon
The Strand Yangon
#2 of 109 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#6 of 109 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#15 of 109 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#7 of 109 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 109 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It is located within the elegant Embassy Quarter of Yangon and close to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Orient-Express hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Governor's Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.