We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb,Superb,Superb...............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Governor's Residence to your Saves list
Belmond Governor's Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
aberdeen scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb,Superb,Superb...............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Everything about the Governor`s Residence expresses quality.
From reception to leaving, service is of the highest possible quality.
Breakfast, lunch or dinner taken on the veranda are all enjoyable and indeed memorable.
The gardens are a delight.
Bedroom and bathrooms are spacious and have great character (though the bathrooms are now a little tired).
Book early to avoid missing this most marvellous experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    142
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
102
397
52
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Look no further...this is the place. Excellently placed within the city's Embassy Quarter we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Loved it. The entire staff was so kind & attentive. Two of my favorites were Susie & Charlie & of course, Thomas (reception).

We stayed here when first entering Burma & again at the end of our trip. We're so happy that we stayed several days as it's truly a wonderful place to interact w/ the lovely people of Burma as well as chill & bask in the glory of a bygone era-colonial style. The fabulous atmosphere was so relaxing & quiet. The rooms were lovely & the beds were super comfy. The food was absolutely delicious & cooked to perfection.

We simply cannot say enough positive things about The Governor's Residence. When we return to Burma we will choose to live like a sovereign & stay at TGR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay in .elegant wooden architecture, helpful hotel staff with warm smiles, spacious and well maintained room. Well considered activities such as market market tour, movie evening and history talk. Excellent and attentive service - in the hot and sweaty season after morning market tour and tea house visit, we got handed over clean and icy cold towel and bottled water.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Governor's Residence in Yangon was built in the 1920's as a Governor's Residence. It has been revived and restored into a hotel with meticulous care so it retains its old-world allure into a colonial-style teak mansion . It offers contemporary luxury, calming ambience with period elegance. Everything appears to be teak. On arrival we were offered a drink and made very welcome by the lovely, charming and always smiling staff. Dressed in the longyi which is such an elegant garment, narrow and beautifully dignified. They were very attentive at breakfast, lunch and dinner even when we had a 4.30 breakfast start. The meals were delicious and the breakfast was plentiful with many beautiful choices. The Mindon Lounge upstairs, with its high ceilings and fans was a lovely tropical setting for a Mandalay beer with lunch or snacks. There were also lovely artefacts, paintings and furniture thoughout the hotel. The Gift Shop was full of lovely gifts, paintings, jewellery and collectables.

The room was spacious with comfortable beds, slippers and robes and beauty products.

We stayed one night before our departure on the Road to Mandalay and another night again on our return. The only disappointment was that the stay wasnt longer as there was so much to enjoy....the beautiful moat-like pool, magnificent gardens amidst lotus pools and as the hotel was located in a lovely leafy embassy quarter I would have loved to have taken a walk around the residential area.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and I would also highly recommend anyone visiting Myanmar to do the cruise Road to Mandalay. Also run by Orient Express. I usually travel independently but chose the most luxurious and iconic journey in Myanmar sailing Road to Mandalay because I believe it offered comfort, time and seamless convenience where travel in myanmar independently could be difficult. It is a trip I soon wont forget and everyone should do the Road to Mandalay at least once in their lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Beautiful property and amazing service! Its like visiting a friend who happens to live in a beautiful house in a tropical paradise. Staff is very helpful and courteous without being overbearing. Our travel company made a major gaffe with the reservation but the hotel manager stepped forward and made all the problems go away. We will definitely stay there if we ever return to Yangon.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms offer less privacy. Upper floor rooms have updated bathrooms and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely spacious rooms with plush colonial style interiors. The bed was really comfortable, especially the fluffy pillows! Service is excellent with good attention to detail. The breakfast is delicious. This is a calm oasis to escape the chaos of the capital city. Definitely make the time to spend at least one night here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here is the short of it! A garden setting, this top hotel is the place to stay when in Yangon. Most travelers stay at the Strand which in " in town" and for whatever reason is the pick of many of the travel companies. The Governor's Residence, is in the Embassy area of town a nicer place to be.

Read the reviews below for detailed reasons to choose the Governor's Residence.

You will not regret the stay. It is worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It is located within the elegant Embassy Quarter of Yangon and close to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Orient-Express hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Governor's Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.