We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Governor's Residence to your Saves list
Belmond Governor's Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is the place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Look no further...this is the place. Excellently placed within the city's Embassy Quarter we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Loved it. The entire staff was so kind & attentive. Two of my favorites were Susie & Charlie & of course, Thomas (reception).

We stayed here when first entering Burma & again at the end of our trip. We're so happy that we stayed several days as it's truly a wonderful place to interact w/ the lovely people of Burma as well as chill & bask in the glory of a bygone era-colonial style. The fabulous atmosphere was so relaxing & quiet. The rooms were lovely & the beds were super comfy. The food was absolutely delicious & cooked to perfection.

We simply cannot say enough positive things about The Governor's Residence. When we return to Burma we will choose to live like a sovereign & stay at TGR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    177
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
123
512
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay in .elegant wooden architecture, helpful hotel staff with warm smiles, spacious and well maintained room. Well considered activities such as market market tour, movie evening and history talk. Excellent and attentive service - in the hot and sweaty season after morning market tour and tea house visit, we got handed over clean and icy cold towel and bottled water.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Governor's Residence in Yangon was built in the 1920's as a Governor's Residence. It has been revived and restored into a hotel with meticulous care so it retains its old-world allure into a colonial-style teak mansion . It offers contemporary luxury, calming ambience with period elegance. Everything appears to be teak. On arrival we were offered a drink and made very welcome by the lovely, charming and always smiling staff. Dressed in the longyi which is such an elegant garment, narrow and beautifully dignified. They were very attentive at breakfast, lunch and dinner even when we had a 4.30 breakfast start. The meals were delicious and the breakfast was plentiful with many beautiful choices. The Mindon Lounge upstairs, with its high ceilings and fans was a lovely tropical setting for a Mandalay beer with lunch or snacks. There were also lovely artefacts, paintings and furniture thoughout the hotel. The Gift Shop was full of lovely gifts, paintings, jewellery and collectables.

The room was spacious with comfortable beds, slippers and robes and beauty products.

We stayed one night before our departure on the Road to Mandalay and another night again on our return. The only disappointment was that the stay wasnt longer as there was so much to enjoy....the beautiful moat-like pool, magnificent gardens amidst lotus pools and as the hotel was located in a lovely leafy embassy quarter I would have loved to have taken a walk around the residential area.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and I would also highly recommend anyone visiting Myanmar to do the cruise Road to Mandalay. Also run by Orient Express. I usually travel independently but chose the most luxurious and iconic journey in Myanmar sailing Road to Mandalay because I believe it offered comfort, time and seamless convenience where travel in myanmar independently could be difficult. It is a trip I soon wont forget and everyone should do the Road to Mandalay at least once in their lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Beautiful property and amazing service! Its like visiting a friend who happens to live in a beautiful house in a tropical paradise. Staff is very helpful and courteous without being overbearing. Our travel company made a major gaffe with the reservation but the hotel manager stepped forward and made all the problems go away. We will definitely stay there if we ever return to Yangon.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms offer less privacy. Upper floor rooms have updated bathrooms and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely spacious rooms with plush colonial style interiors. The bed was really comfortable, especially the fluffy pillows! Service is excellent with good attention to detail. The breakfast is delicious. This is a calm oasis to escape the chaos of the capital city. Definitely make the time to spend at least one night here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here is the short of it! A garden setting, this top hotel is the place to stay when in Yangon. Most travelers stay at the Strand which in " in town" and for whatever reason is the pick of many of the travel companies. The Governor's Residence, is in the Embassy area of town a nicer place to be.

Read the reviews below for detailed reasons to choose the Governor's Residence.

You will not regret the stay. It is worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose to splurge for our final night in Myanmar after 11 beautiful but dusty and hot days traveling around the country. Boy were we glad we did! We arrived relaxed from several days in Inle Lake to the jolt of the city. When the car pulled into the drive at Governor's Residence we relaxed again.

A warm and friendly greeting plus a gong to announce each new guest. We were shown to our rooms (ready despite arriving well before check in) and told that we should think of the hotel as our second home.

And so we became homebodies for two days - leaving only briefly to visit Shwedagon Pagoda at sunset and have dinner at Monson. Otherwise, we spent two lazy days by the pool being pampered by the excellent staff of the hotel. It is slow season and just prior to Thingyan so we were lucky that the hotel afforded us late check outs (4pm) which was exceptionally generous.

Eating and drinking here will definitely put a dent in your wallet! Beer is twice the price we paid anywhere else. After a $60 lunch for 3 of us we decided to eat in the city rather than at the hotel for dinner. The curry table is $42++ which just seemed ridiculous even at a 5 star hotel - this is still Burma. Breakfast, which is included, is wonderful with a wide variety of choices and excellent quality.

The rooms are simple but elegant. The bed and linens top rate. The bathroom very nice - although the tub a bit strange.

Guests were invited to a special ceremony on our second day where the staff of the hotel offered alms to the local monks in advance of Thingyan. It was lovely to watch.

The grounds are beautiful and the pool is huge, clean and fantastic. Every time a leaf would drop, someone from the staff would be there to fish it out. If you just looked like you needed something, a staff member would appear with a smile.

After Shwedagon and before dinner at Monsoon (average), we stopped at the Strand Hotel for drinks. We had debated between staying at the Strand or Governor's and after visiting both we were so happy with our choice. When we returned after dinner we sighed with relief to return to this oasis of peace and tranquility.

It was the perfect ending to a wonderful trip. A big thank you to the wonderful management and exceptional staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#3 of 112 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand Yangon
The Strand Yangon
#2 of 112 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#5 of 112 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#16 of 112 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#6 of 112 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 112 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It is located within the elegant Embassy Quarter of Yangon and close to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Orient-Express hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Belmond, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Governor's Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.