We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for long stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon to your Saves list
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37, Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 112233, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 107 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent for long stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Been here for a little over two months now. The location is excellent.. Yes the hotel is old and so are the rooms but the staff and management make up for most of it. The sunsets at magical inya lake , the walk in the gardens..we love it all!
The food is OK, though I'd wish for some more variety.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    124
    69
    22
    11
See reviews for
32
70
28
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
678 reviews 678 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I had been to the Inya Lake Hotel for numerous times. It had been serving guests for the last 40 years with similar hardware and software. The hotel was built years back by the Soviet Union in the shape of a ship. The facilities within the hotel was considered better than the other hotel within Yangon. However little had been done to improve the hotel. Maybe due to the government's foreign investment policy, it discouraged outside investors.

For a city that needed capacity, it is sad to see a hotel with huge ground area sitting back with no-way-out. Hopefully the present government will come up with a win-win policy that the investor can invest into the improvement on the hotel infrastructure and rooms to cater to the ever increasing guests. Let's wait and see.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suki_Singh, General Manager at Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and despite the amazing location the hotel needs an upgrade.
The good news is that a very significant program is in place to both add capacity and improve the existing product.
We are working on some contractual matters and will ensure the site gets the justice it deserves in respect of development
Kindly contact me when you next visit and I would like to connect with you again
Kind regards,
Suki Singh
suki@inyalakehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here on the last night of our trip to Myanmar and couldn't fault it. It was clean, the staff were pleasant and professional, the room was large with a comfortable bed (& pillows, that isn't always the case in Myanmar). It was a little outdated, as has been mentioned and it also lacks character but fine if you aren't making this a main destination or are on business.
The evening meal in the restaurant was rather disappointing and wouldn't necessarily recommend it as a first choice.
All in all, fine but a little soulless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Inya Lake is an ideal place to stay in Yangon. Aside from Mr Singh and his attentive staff, the location is ideal. Close to the airport, all taxi drivers seem to know the location and convenient to the downtown area as well. To keep up with the increase tourism, Mr Singh and Inya Lake continue to update the rooms.

Situated on several acres bordering Inya Lake, there is a pleasant sense of tranquility around the grounds. The pool is suitable for all ages. There is a large shallow area for children and a larger pool for laps. Poolside service is also available for drinks and food.

Headed back again...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days on business, in the deluxe, lake facing room. Even though the overall feel of the hotel is aged, I was charmed by the peace and quiet throughout the hotel, and also the warmth from the staff.

Waking up early mornings meant enjoying the lovely view of the Inya lake from my large balcony, taking in the greenery and seeing little creatures like squirrels running about the yard. Also loved the walks and runs I took along the lake. The gym was pretty well equipped and machines ran smooth. Swam in the pool as well and found it clean, albeit in need of some revamp.

The simple deluxe room was comfortable and clean, and of good size. Wifi connection was available in the room, and most places in the hotel but connection was iffy from time to time, especially since it was a public network. Being on business, it was sometimes inconvenient.

Had many meals at Orchid Cafe, including the buffet breakfast. Food was generally delicious and at each breakfast, there was a local dish - mainly noodles - which I tried and relished! Variety at breakfast was reasonable although I had wished for some change from day to day. What impressed me most, was the staff at the cafe. Generally, they were attentive and accommodating. Once, a dish I ordered arrived rather late but I received profuse apologies from the staff and they also went through lengths to make up for the slight tardiness. And even though my stay was short, my preferences were already taken into account by a few staff by the 2nd day.

To get to the shops will require a cab ride. It cost about 5000kyat and takes about 20mins if the roads are not jammed, to get to downtown where most shops and some supermarkets are found. Try to avoid the roads between 5.30 - 7pm, as most roads leading to, and around town will be packed. I consider one of the nearest supermarkets to the hotel, to be Citymart at Junction Square, which was about 2-3km away.

Will I return to this hotel? Yes, if peace and quiet is what I'm looking for, especially when I need good space. And a stay that is filled with friendliness and warmth.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Mr. Singh and his team made my 3 days stay just perfect. It is good to come back to this quiet place in a city busy with construction on every corner, loud and noisy.
I enjoyed a great brunch on Sunday with free flow of beer, wine and champagne. The ladies in the spa have magic hands and wherever you go the hotel staff will ask if you desire something.
The pool was refreshing and is a great size for lap swimming. I simply felt home away from home. I definitely will be back to this wonderful landmark in Yangon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It is located on a Huge area near a lake.... Gives you a feel of a resort...
Rooms are a bit outdated but everything works and they do make you feel comfortable. Don't expect a Posh new state of the art hotel... The thing to enjoy here is that it is a bit away from the main road but at the same time getting a taxi is No hassle at all...
Mango trees, Nice pool, jogging track and sitting area near the lake makes it experience of its own.
nice Gym with Sauna and steam... All in all, if you can ignore the old furniture ( or enjoy it ). it wil be a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Address: 37, Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 112233, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inya Lake Hotel, surrounded by 37 acres of verdant gardens, a serene lake resplendent with lotus, leafy trees and a free-shaped swimming pool offers the perfect retreat for guests to simply sit back and relax. Exploration of Yangon and the surrounding area is also a must and we would be delighted to arrange a variety of tours and excursions for you during your stay with a private guide.A 15-minute drive from the city centre, and 20 minutes from Yangon International Airport, the colonial styled hotel with its teakwood floors and oriental feel evokes charming memories of a by-gone era. The 129 guestrooms are decorated in retro style offering guests astonishing views over the city of Yangon and the Inya Lake.Experience the exotic delicacies of Myanmar, this secret tropical cuisine so redolent of the spices, textures and flavours of both this country and its neighbours. Unwind and enjoy the magic of sunset at the Lake View Bar or just relax at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Dusit Yangon (Rangoon)
Yangon (Rangoon) Dusit
Dusit Inya Lake Hotel Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.