We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty disgusting even for Myanmar standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy's Home Hotel

Save Saved
You added Daddy's Home Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daddy's Home Hotel
107 Konzedan Street | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 83 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty disgusting even for Myanmar standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at Daddy's Home twice in May 2013. This hotel is dirty even by Myanmar standards.

The staff are fine. Not rude, but not overly helpful.

The first time I stayed on the 2nd floor in an air conditioned room with two single beds. The room rate was $10 US per night, breakfast was not included. The room itself is more like a large coffin, no windows and bad lighting. The room was musty and had mold on the walls. The AC worked well.
The shared bathrooms on this floor were adequate. Pretty dirty, but not disgusting. The room unfortunately had bugs. Not bed bugs as I didn't get bites, more like nats or something. I ended up having to spray my bed with deet before i went to sleep.
I kind of expected pretty poor accommodation in Myanmar and to be honest if i had only stayed there that first time I might have given them 2 stars.
BUT, I stupidly came back here for one night before my flight from Yangon back to Bangkok. This time I stayed on the 5th floor (I think), and it was absolutely disgusting. The room was even dirtier than the last one, peeling paint, dirty sheets etc. Not a big deal, I can sleep in my sleep sheet. The real kicker was the horrendous bathrooms on this floor. Both the showers were broken. The one on the left only had scalding hot water and the one on the right only came out of the tap not the shower head. They have not been cleaned in decades.
The toilets are gross and didn't flush. There are roaches.
I don't know why I didn't spend the $5 US extra and stay somewhere a bit nicer, but I have learned my lesson.

Room Tip: Lower floors, look at the bathrooms before you take the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daddy's H, Owner at Daddy's Home Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are truly sorry for your bad experience during your stay at our hotel. It really was a bad time for our hotel since we were planning to close it down and that might have affected the staffs' morale and their daily work very badly. But we have moved on since and decided to continue with this business. In fact, the renovation work has just been completed in last week of October. Not only the hotel interior but also the room facilities and services provided are upgraded as well. All the rooms were repainted and old mattresses are replaced with comfy ones. We also provide complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access, slippers and toiletries to all our guests. As you have pointed out in the review, our utmost attention is paid on the cleanliness and to ensure no bad odor inside the rooms and hotel. Thank you for your review which pointed out in details of all the areas that were needed to be improve on. Please visit us again if you have the chance and experience the new Daddy's Home Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
8
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very close to the Sule pagoda and the downtown, friendly English speaking staff, money exchange and bus reservation available. Breakfast (toast, eggs, banana, papaya, jab, butter, coffee/tea) included. We paid 10 dollars per person for a triple room without windows and with a shared bathroom. There was practically no space but for the beds in the room, but the aircon worked. Quite noisy in the morning as there is a mosque and a temple nearby. All the equipment could desperately use a refubrishment, but it was all relatively clean. Over all a good deal for the money - one of the cheapest places we found in all of Myanmar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsipaw, Myanmar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff are friendly enough, but the rooms lack the basics (i.e. trashcan, mirror, hangers). The location is convenient, but the bathrooms were hands down the most disgusting that we've encountered during seven months of traveling. Mice and cockroaches crawled all over the toilets and showers, which would be tolerable enough if they actually cleaned the joint. This is in addition to the fecal smears that marked the insides of the unkempt toilets.

During our three days at Daddy's (kind of a disturbing name, right?) they did not once clean the bathrooms. Worse yet, when we had arrived, it had not been cleaned for clearly quite some time.

Unfortunately, budget accommodation is lacking in Myanmar, so we stayed here at the cost of $20 (double with shared bathroom). A single at the time of our stay would have set you back $18. Also, they can arrange transport to the airport for 6500 kyat.

At least our room did not have bed bugs (thank goodness for small favors), and the room is on a less busy street so it's a little quieter - that is, until 4am when the temple blares prayers at rock concert volume.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs to sleep & sandels to wear in the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed twice at Daddy's home. The rooms rare very basic (just the beds) and have no windows. Thet are clean and there is A/C. Its $20 for double and $18 for single room. The shared bathrooms are that great: old, dirty, mostly broken stuff ... Breakfast is included, and not too bad.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Daddy's Home is a bare bones guest house with twin beds, air conditioned rooms, shared showers and bathrooms, and an excellent location. This is NOT a fancy, high end guest house, but a simple, reasonably clean, very helpful spot to jump off to the rest of Myanmar, or enjoy Yangon. The beds and rooms were clean, showers had decent water pressure, and toilets were functional and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

You really have to recalibrate your expectations when it comes to the BNB scene in Yangon. it's unlike Bangkok where Westerners can demand swag and comfort. Yangon is a throw back in time kind of place, so don't expect to judge it on the same level as the others.

That said, this place gave me one of the nights in SEasia. I stayed at the 5th floor so it's very tiring going up and down. Don't expect elevators in this part of town. The hostel has very friendly accommodating staff and for $15, you get your money's worth.

I scouted other hostels and their rooms look grottier than a bordello from the Vietnam war. The rooms at Daddy's home is simple. They have twin double bed in a spacious room, with flannel blankets and beddings that are clean and actually smell good. No cockroaches or waterstains so far.

The baths are situated at the end of the hallway with 4-5 cubicles for shower and 3-4 western toilets. Even at 5th floor, the water pressure is strong. Don't expect any hot water.

The breakfast is good if you're into carbo loading (eg bananas, cakes, toasts, etc), and there are some good restaurants along the main road. There's an ice cream shop near the hotel.

So, if you're travelling with friends or even solo, and if you're not finicky with the amenities and if you're ok so as long the place is clean and quiet, then I highly recommend this hotel. It gets quite full at most times, so better book way ahead.

Room Tip: get a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Knowing now rooms are difficult in Myanmar and the cost/quality ratio is out of whack, this is perfectly adequate. For $15/night it was the cheapest place I stayed during my trip. No windows, ok shared bathrooms, towels, AC that worked, friendly staff and b-fast that is pretty standard in Myanmar - i.e. enough to get you moving for the day: egg/toast/fruit/3/-1 coffee mix.

The front desk crew was really nice as were the folks serving/cooking breakfast. I was able to check out a day early w/out any penalty.

Hearing what others paid in Yangon, this place is a deal. Just know it's a window less box, but hey - tourism is new here and things are a little wild west (east?) at the moment, I was happy to have a place to sleep with nice people running it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daddy's Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy's Home Hotel

Address: 107 Konzedan Street | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 83 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daddy's Home Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Yangon and within walking distant to major tourist destinations like Sule pagoda, Chinatown and Bogyoke Aung San Market (Scott's Market).Yangon International Airport is just a 45-minute drive from Hotel.Complimentary breakfast and WiFi access are provided for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Daddy's Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daddy's Home Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy's Home Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.