We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel & very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Save Saved
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 83 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel & very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

7 of us stayed at East hotel for a week in Nov'12-my 3 sisters,my daughter and 2 nieces-aged 11 to 14. We stayed in 3 rooms-1 shared by the 3 girls with an extra bed. I booked this hotel base on the reviews given and especially for the location. I can confidently say that we are extremely happy that we picked East to stay at. Location wise-it cannot be faulted-from the front door-turn left and its less than 10 mins to Sule Pagoda, the Muslim temple and the Church (Amazing!-3 places of worship right next to each other). Turn right and its less than 10 mins to Bogyoke Market (fabulous jade jewelly-great prices!), with coffee shops and eating places on the way and the numerous street food vendors and fruit sellers.

We stayed on the 7 floor - the oft mentioned doorless shower and toilet still do not have doors but they obviously have taken heed of the numerous comments. The showers have blinds on the walls & shower curtains. The toilet has large bead hangings for doors-it does the job adequately. There are rooms that have the wall partition strategically located so the toilet is hidden-room 705 e.g.

Staff are very friendly, they seem to take great pride on their 4 pt rating from Tripadvisor-prominently displayed at the front desk. Breakfast is included, you have a choice of ala carte or the set breakfast-chinese, western or local, which also comes with a fruit bowl and juice daily. More than adequate to set you up for the day. Free Wi fi in the whole hotel-with a shared computer at the lobby. I used it for work and the speed was only problematic from 11am onwards for a couple of hours. Morning & night was absolutely fine.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone. We met business people and families staying at the hotel. This guy from S'pore comes to Burma on business nearly every mth & he says he stays there all the time. Mind you bigger hotels are also all around the area. Price wise can't complain-I take it hotel prices have gone through the roof since Burma has opened its doors.

Room Tip: We had no issues with any of our rooms. I suppose the higher you are you might have a better view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    172
    129
    20
    8
See reviews for
30
147
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having read other reviews of the rooms my friend and I decided to opt for a room each as we were only staying one night and were so thankful we did so! For some strange reason the room designer thought it would be better to have a separate toilet and shower - fine if you are staying by yourself or with your other half (who is happy to hear ALL your toilet sounds) but definitely not for sharing with friends! The toilet partition is a paper/cardboard(?) giant bead curtain which does little more than annoy you each time you have to walk through it. The room itself was spacious and clean. The location is good, with the tourist tack market within easy walking distance along with a couple of other sites.
It was US $10 by taxi to get to the hotel - there are loads of taxi touts at the airport and you need to make sure you agree a price before getting in the taxi - also make sure you're happy with the condition of the taxi! To get to shwedagon paya along with several other places, you need to get taxis - they all try to rip you off. We managed to stick to a limit of 2000 kyat to any locations in town although that was probably more than the normal price.
Had an early flight the next morning (to Bagan) and if you ask at the frontdesk they are happy to provide a breakfast box for you to take with you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

food is rank and over priced, drinks overpriced, rooms no windows open, door lock failed several times. smelly and poor room layout and design.(no where to put your stuff ). same as rest of reviews about no toilet privacy.. try again in few years when they gicve you value for money .

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's really good hotel, location, service, good value for your money.
WiFi is fast, the furniture is good, there is desk for your laptop.
I had some small problems with the plug, but they reacted so fast I could not
realize,it's true! You must see the view from your room s window!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you want a reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Yangon, this is a good choice. Rooms are simple but adequate, free wifi and free extra water bottles are available if needed - you just help yourself to the fridge on the 4th floor. My room was at the back so very quiet and I was happy with breakfast, not a buffet but you could choose how you wanted eggs and were given fruit, toast, coffee etc. - more than enough. Staff are very helpful so I would definitely stay again. Book ahead as its very popular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel when it first opened
It was a nice and unusual hotel for Yangon
A so called Boutique Hotel
Different in lots of ways
I wrote about this hotel last year , having stayed there for the first time the year previous
I stated that it was not going to stand up to the normal wear and tear of hotel use, as lots of things were showing that the modern design isn't suitable for a hotel
Ok for a home
This visit proved it
Very worn out and well worn!!
Our particular room on the 5th floor
Was quite tatty and there was a constant smell of " toilet""
The hand basin very modern but no hot water!!
Staff at breakfast not interested/ no smiles /and a young lady with denim jeans on!getting westernised already!
I think that because this place is modern and popular it is ofton overbooked as I knew from last year!
Be warned!!

The good points !
Very comfi bed and nice flat screen telly

The reception staff are not to blame its the greedy management !

The bit I would like to see is that they loose the 4 star rating that they flaunt on the counter and the web site
Hence this posting
Demand has outstripped supply and hotels like this are treating travellers like cattle, because there is no alternative we have to put up with it
Being able to use this forum hopefully will make fellow tourists aware of hotels like this
Please take time to vote about this hotel good or bad , but overall I think the proper picture of this place will hopefully mean it will loose its 4 stars, and then the greedy owners/ management might stop ripping us off, and improve the place and service
Would I stay a fourth time?yes! If nothing else was available
Please to avoid disappointment book your hotels early!!!
You will enjoy Myanmar ,and do it now before the western world ruins it
Happy travels

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in total at East Hotel. It is centrally located within walking distance to restaurants, tea houses, tailors and the Scott Market. It is a two minutes walk from Sule Pagoda (opposite Traders Inn). The rooms are cosy but clean with TV, aircon, good showers with decent water pressure, unlimited bottled water and free wifi (slow but good for Myanmar). The (included) hotel breakfast was one of the best in Myanmar as there was the option of local alternatives such as rice and noodles, as well as the nation-wide standard Western breakfast of eggs and toast. Main oddity was the doorless toilet with hanging brown balls to provide an imitation of privacy, but given all the other conveniences this was a minor issue. Staff were helpful with arranging taxis and confirming flights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.