We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Hotel get 5 for value and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“East Hotel get 5 for value and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

As with all the places we stayed in Myanmar, the service was superb. What made this hotel stand out was the value for a lovely, clean and well-appointed boutique hotel in a perfect downtown locale. Ps-the staff recommended a super tasty Thai restaurant just a few doors down that was not to miss. Wish I could remember the name of it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    186
    153
    21
    9
See reviews for
31
169
68
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here twice. Our first time was just for a night. We asked them to book us train tickets which was all done on our arrival. The room was ok. When we came back a few days later, we were given a room at the front which made it very light. The rain was very heavy one afternoon/evening and one window leaked, so we came home to a big puddle. Extreme rain does happen and on the said evening, many streets were badly flooded. Told the staff the next day and they put extra towels in our room. We didn't want to change room. They really helped a lot when our flights were changed too. A good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Yes, the ratings at the time my wife and I booked were #8 on TripAdvisor. In most cases this would be a strong indication of a stand out property, but remember this is Myanmar. There are very limited choices of top end hotels in this city and therefore the top properties are priced accordingly. Prices in this city are skyrocketing this past summer as it opens up to the West. That said, one would have to pick a property in the top 3 ratings, possibly 4 to get anything close to what would be considered North American standards.
Yes, the price was right, at $50 USD per night it was a good deal. The lobby and restaurant area were modern, clean, and well airconditioned. The staff friendly and helpful, speaking to taxi drivers, booking spa treatments at other properties, providing change in the local currency, recommending places to go and providing directions. Yes, the room was clean as were the sheets and towels. I did not personally see any bugs or insects or creepy crawlies. All good things.
The room was well airconditioned and suited its purpose. What my wife and I could not get past was the unpleasant odour that came from the open concept bathroom. The stentch that came, I assume from the water in the toilet was at times overpowering. The shower area was simply not set up for Western style showers. Painted wood in shower areas is never a good idea!
We had originally booked the East Hotel for our second stay, but after walking across the street to the Traders Hotel for Happy Hour decided to switch our reservation and pay an extra $100 to stay there on our next business trip to Yangon a few day later. We were not sorry we made this decision. I don't want to put down the East Hotel. They do a good job in what they offer; however, if one solely looks at the ranking on Trip Advisor and the price paid one needs to adjust expectations accordingly.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows so ensure that this is stated in advance. Also, bathrooms are open conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is walking distance to many places of interest such as Bogyoke Aung San market, railway station, Little India ( Anawratha road), China Town and Sule Pagoda. Hotel room is clean and ample drinking water supply by the hotel and free Wifi. Try to change money at the airport. The rate is better than downtown. You can even change money at Bogyoke Aung San. There are 2 money changes run by private bank there. Reasonable rate and more safe. The railway station is just 5 minutes walk. You just have to pay USD 1 for the circular train in Yangon. Worth the money for 3 hours ride. The train passes through many villages that surround Yangon. This is a good way to see the daily life in Yangon. Anawratha Road is just across the road. You can find many good and cheap restaurant there. There is a big Hindu temple and 2 mosques along Anawratha Road. The staffs here are very friendly and helpful. My husband and I would like to go to Karaweik Hall for buffer dinner and cultural show. The staffs here help us to book and they don't charge any money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staff members are friendly and helpful. However, when you are inside the room, you will find the decoration is fanciful but ridiculous. the toilet is blocked out from shower.without paper holder and lighting. It makes you feel like in jail. The ventilation is bad and there a strange smell that a new hotel should not have. One cannot find the lobby as it appears only a counter facing the narrow entrance. Facilities are limited but it is not a budget hotel because the room rate is over US$58. General speaking it is not money worth as compared with the low cost of living in Yangon.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

having read all the wonderful reviews here, I booked here for a night on 11 August. FIrst, I was asked to pay through Agoda altho I booked through the hotel directly. Several times, I was asked about Agoda by the young woman in charge of the desk. Then, as I was overwhelmed with the smell of mildew in the lobby (and had read prior threads here to the same effect), I asked to see the room first. I was shown to a room way at the end of a hallway on a floor that was dusty. It was the last room, by an all glass exit door. The room had a hastily patched floor that was uneven (think stubbed toes in the middle of the night) and again was mildew ridden. The next room was just ok as it too smelled awful and the large picture window between the room and the hallway (made into a "wall" with artwork) had the hallway light leaking into the room which was quite annoying. By this time, it was quite late and I had to be up at 4:30 to fly to Mandalay. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Primarily for the mildew and the feeling that it was not clean.

Room Tip: always ask to see your room before anyone tries to move your luggage; you never know where you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at East Hotel twice during our trip to Myanmar. We'd been in contact with staff at the hotel by e-mail before we arrived the first time as we needed a rail ticket for the next day, and it was waiting for us when we arrived, so top marks for service. (More on service later.)

Our first room ended in 03, as had a slightly annoying lit up picture in the window facing the corridor, so I would recommend trying to get one of the 01 rooms which don't have this, but do have windows facing the street, so are much lighter during the day. I think these rooms are also slightly bigger.

The restaurant in the lobby, Amber Cafe, serves decent food at fairly good prices.

The hotel is centrally located in downtown Yangon, with Sule Pagoda less than 5 minutes walk away, and is also usefully situated quite close to the main railway station.

Service again: On the day before we were due to leave, I had the staff phone our airline to reconfirm our flights, only to discover that our flight had been cancelled and Myanmar Airlines were re-booking us via Bangkok instead of direct home to Phnom Penh. The staff co-ordinated with the airline, making several phone calls to make sure our new tickets were e-mailed to the hotel, and then they printed them out for us. Furthermore, as we had to leave at 5;15 am, they prepared breakfast boxes to take to the airport with us.

I would fully recommend using this hotel if you are going to Yangon.

Room Tip: Choose one of the front rooms, those ending in 01 for a lighter room during the day and darker at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.