We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Save Saved
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 83 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Sattahip, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

How glad I am that I booked this hotel in Rangoon. For the price its a bargain the staff were friendly, the location great and I couldn't fault the hotel. I had a good full nights sleep every night aided by one of the most comfortable beds I have ever found in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    172
    129
    20
    8
See reviews for
30
147
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

For 60 USD you would expect a bathroom and/or a toilet door – our room in the East Hotel had none of both. The shower cabin was directly in the small room next to the bed and the toilet had some sort of curtain. We definitely wouldn’t mind this but for 60 USD it just felt more than overpriced. Good shower and good bed though, very centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is clean and a good value. The one weird thing about it are the bathrooms, which are open to the bedroom. Breakfast there was simple but good. Scott Market is within a short walking distance. transfer to and from the airport are about $10 US.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

hotel is on busy main street with small amount of parking, however, this is well organised by hotel staff. it is very central within walking distance to many attractions i.e. market, temple, train station.
good welcome by reception staff, but as this is a small area it can get congested.
friendly door/porter staff.
stayed on 6th floor for 2 nights, rooms were at rear of hotel and of average size and shower & toilet are in room, which was ok for us as a couple but lacked privacy for the other pair of travellers that were with us. good air con.
bottled water supplied in room also there is fridge on each floor to help yourself.
coffee/tea in rooms but strange contraption to make it with.
shower gel /shampoo in room, but no hair dryer. very limited space to put toiletries
beds were really comfortable, breakfast average with a choice of set asian or european breakfast, young but polite staff serving.
only 1 lift which seemed to take foverever to arrive
on second visit to hotel we were on 8th floor, rooms seemed a lot brighter
this is a strctly no smoking hotel, there is an 'allocated' small space outside the front of the hotel, but you can be bothered by locals asking for money.
had an early start so requested early morning call & breakfast box to take to airport, this consisted of boiled egg,banana,jam sandwich & bottle of water.

Room Tip: higher the floor the better the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

It have some good points on this hotel. First, we can paid via agoda web site. And this hotel is at a good location. The bed is confortable and climatisation work well. Staff of the hotel are friendly and really smiling.

But...

When I saw then this hotel as a new hotel, I thought that hotel will be clean and really confortable. But in fact, this is a new hotel but not in a new building. We had stay in two differents rooms in this hotel. In the both room, the shower was a problem. The first had a lot of littles bugs,flea I think, and we had a small lizard in bonus. The second had a problem with the floor, the dalles was unstable and water does not want to leave.

The restroom does not have a door. It's ok if your are in couple but if you are with a friend and you have a digestion problem, your friendship can be compromise.

The wall of the room was dirty and broken. I am sure than this hotel will have a lot of problem with humidity in the future.

Ths is not really a lots of problem for a Burmese hotel. But this is a new hotel and this is more expensive than many others. Maybe our expectations were too great. This is why I dont recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I'm not sure what other people are expecting for hotel rooms in Myanmar, but we thought this hotel was very nice. The room was clean. They give you unlimited free bottled water, which is a life saver. Breakfast was nice. The front desk was helpful and spoke english. The location is primo. Scott market is 5 minute walk. Sule Pagoda is 5 min walk. Chinatown is 10 minutes away. To eat: out the door, turn left, walk 200 meters, Suzuki resaurant on the left... awesome place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Privacy needs to be looked at between the toilet and bedroom.
More Burmese breakfast dishes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.