We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Hotel

Orchid Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Orchid Hotel
91, Anawrahta Street, Pazundaung Tsp, Yangon (Rangoon) 11171, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We paid $60 for a room without windows. Felt more like a $10-room/hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
2
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hotel is a middle class hotel without anything special. It is outside the center of Yangon, but at a very busy, noisy intersection. It is also near a monastery that starts playing music at 5 am.Internet is available. Breakfast is average.

It is very, very much overpriced. A hotel like this should be around 35 or 40 dollar, we were charged 110 for a double room. On top of that they tried to charge is two nights no show, although our date change was well communicated, agreed and documented.

We went there because hardly anything else was available. A next time we would choose a different hotel whenever possible.

Room Tip: Try a room at the back side; may be a bit less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were disappointed in this place. We had a hard time finding a hotel for our trip, and we booked a room here because it was one of the few places that was available. We paid $60 night, and it wasn't worth half of that. We were on the ninth floor, and there is a pigeon infestation between the ceiling panels and the roof (as indicated by the feathers in the room, and the bird feces dripping down the window and upper corners of the bathroom walls). Very noisy at night and hard to sleep because of it. There was also a mouse in our room, rustling in our trash, so we had to move the garbage can into the hallway. The staff were polite at times, but rude and dismissive if you asked too many questions. Hot water in the shower lasts for about 3 minutes, and then it's lukewarm at best.

Also, be aware that they are VERY picky when it comes to US dollars. They didn't accept our $100 bills because they were "before series 2000". No other place in Yangon rejected our money for this reason.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with some friends. The hotel manager was exceptionally nice and very helpful, however we do have some language problem when communicating with the other staff. Room - comfortable and clean. They could definitely improve on the breakfast menu which were exactly the same for the total 4 days we were there! Location- it is about 30 minutes from the airport which costs us 5000 Kyats. It is very near (10mins) to the famous Scott market (1500 kyats).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place is a little older and in need of a bit of TLC but we had a big room a hot shower and amazing service, like amazing service. There is a spa on level 2 for cheap massages and a fitness centre that had free yoga and boxing classes. The breakfast buffet was ok but not great and mostly geared to the Chinese tour groups. The room rate was as stated for a twin room but when one of my 2 in the twin extended his stay he got a great $25 US room rate for a double room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Address: 91, Anawrahta Street, Pazundaung Tsp, Yangon (Rangoon) 11171, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Yangon city centre, this hotel is only 300 metres from downtown area. It has an on-site cafe, and offers air-conditioned guestrooms with satellite TV. The Red Myanmar Hotel is 5 km away from Mingaladon International Airport. It offers 24-hour front desk service and has an airport shuttle available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.