We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in Yangon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 50th Street

50th Street
9-13, 50th Street, | Botatung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Yangon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

There are a number of reasons to visit this trendy, colonial-inspired establishment nestled in a leafy quarter in downtown Yangon. One is, if you're in a talky mood, to network with expats and exchange insights about Myanmar's oft-debated reform process (Is there any chance of going back to the dark days? What's in Mother Suu's mind?). Another is to watch football or rugby matches on a giant screen. Or, you can just hang out with your crew, play billiards, have a Stella.
But the one big reason to make a trip to 50th Street, a good 20 blocks east of Sule Pagoda, is the mouth-watering, cheesy thin crust pizzas. The wait is more than 30 minutes, but the pies, served on thick wooden plates that resemble mini platforms -- are divine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    100
    40
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the walk to get there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We love 50th Street and always enjoy walking there to work up an appetite. The ladies were very attentive and as always - the food and service excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pub Just Like Home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We found this restaurant at the end of our trip, I was craving a papaya shake the whole trip and each time I ordered one it was warm juice (even though I kept asking "with ice?"...) Anyway I found the best real ice blended papaya and coconut smoothie here....althoug the real attraction is the western food. The place is nice, good bathrooms, air con and good service. The food was very good western food, we had potato wedges with cheese and chili and bbq chicken pizza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom penh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Down Town Hang out Bar for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovely renovated building, excellent service staff, pub food, good specials, pool tables, booths, bar seating;something for everyone & a great mix of people...I think the staff were the best asset; efficient, fast & pleasant...made sure I knew my way home as I had just arrived & they made sure the taxi driver would look after me !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A tatse of Asia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food is lovely and served up in a sumptious old colonial era warehouse. Top floor is a wee shop selling not for profit items great for gifts

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 50th Street also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to 50th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 50th Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.