We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but Suits the Bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Myanmar Panda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Myanmar Panda Hotel to your Saves list
Myanmar Panda Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 205, Corner Of Wadan Street & Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced but Suits the Bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is overpriced for what it is, but so are all hotels in Yangon right now, so I guess you can't really hold it against them.

Though a bit old and probably in need of an upgrade, the hotel is very clean, with hot showers & spacious rooms, so no complaints about the accommodations, and all taxi drivers are familiar with it. They also had very good wifi which worked in our rooms on the 8th floor, even though it is guaranteed only in the lobby.

Didn't try any of the food at the hotel, as there are many local options nearby. The staff spoke English well enough and were helpful and courteous. Until the hotel scene begins building up and there are more cheap, backpacker-like options, it's a reasonable choice to stay. Be sure to book well in advance as hotels in this town get snapped up quickly.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor and you might catch a glimpse of the Shwedagon Pagoda (and if not, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    57
    78
    13
    3
See reviews for
5
50
34
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
948 reviews 948 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 279 cities Reviews in 279 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent bell staff, front desk staff and housekeeping staff. Breakfast adequate. Room 813 was spacious and comfortable. Best rooms are more expensive #01 rooms (like 801) with Shwedagon view. Have stayed twice. Would return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
948 reviews 948 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 279 cities Reviews in 279 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two separate times on our trip to Burma. We booked through a travel agent so don't know hotel price. Check in efficient. First room # 608 (twins) and second room #813 (king), both with views of Shwedagon Pagoda (north side rooms). Rooms were large. Bathroom ok with amenities. Rooms have fridge and kettle with tea and coffee packets. Didn't lose electricity during either stay. No hot water at bathroom sink; only cold. Shower had plenty of hot water. Nice towels. Quiet room. Clean, great staff. Computer in lobby with free Internet. Free buffet breakfast with mainly Asian dishes, but adequate food to start the day. Popular with UK tour groups.

Close to Tae Win shopping center and food court/restaurants. 30-40 minute walk to Little Italy, 20 minute walk to Scott Market and National Museum.

Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

stayed here because of group tour basic hotel which is not near the down town but you really do not need one there . rooms are large and well lite. no pool free business center with computers and access good by myanmar standards. view from top floor is wonderful and there is a japanees restaurant near.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place was really good compared to other hotels in this price range! The staff were great - English speaking and helpful. They let us leave our bags there for a week after our stay, as we were going to Mandalay. Reception is 24 hours, so that's helpful too.

The room was large and clean, and the bed was really comfortable. Like most hotels in Rangoon, the room didn't have a 'new' feel about it, but you have to understand the history of the country, and realize that no hotel room is really 'new' at this point in time. The bathroom was good, and the shower was situated in the bathtub, which meant NO asian-style bathroom flooding!

We had a suite, which meant we had a bedroom as well as a huge living room, with couches, a NEW TV and a cool new-looking refrigerator.

Breakfast wasn't the most appetizing, but comparable to other hotels at this price (and even hotels above this price). Panda isn't walking distance from downtown Rangoon (Yangon), but a cab only costs about $2, and there's always a taxi sitting outside.

I've recently stayed in over 7 hotels all around Burma, and this one is definitely up there in quality for price paid. I'll be staying here again when I come back! The Wifi isn't the fastest, but even the top end hotels have fairly slow internet, so you can't really complain!

Room Tip: There's a construction site nearby, so maybe ask for a room away from that - but workers stop at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Only booked this hotel because my first few choices were not available but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, had fast wifi by Myanmar standards, hot water, aircon , tv all worked fine. Service was friendly as usual in Myanmar. Breakfast was clearly geared towards Asian tastes but they had eggs fruit and coffee which was enough. I left the safe open by mistake and the housekeeper called reception everything was returned. Booked on Agoda for 86 US per night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for one night at end of a group tour.
Hotel is not within walking distance of town, but taxis are usally available and not expensive. A taxi from the centre, back to the hotel cost less then £2 and the journey took at least 20 minutes. Our taxi to the airport was 7,000 kyats (about £6).
Internet access free and staff very helpful when we had problem with printing.
Breakfast usually starts at 0700, but the hotel will start breakfast at 0630 for those who have an early flight, we therefore had a hot, freshly cooked breakfast. Those arriving later would have found cold food.
Our room (808) was a reasonable size and very clean. The bathroom was clean too, but small. Towels and bedding good condition.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myanmar Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Panda Hotel

Address: No. 205, Corner Of Wadan Street & Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Panda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Myanmar Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Panda Hotel Yangon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myanmar Panda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.