We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with room and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eastern Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern Hotel
194/196 Bo Myat Tun Street, Pazundaung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very happy with room and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in want budget hotels in Yangon. This hotel is a wonder compared to the rest of them. Clean functional rooms, Wi-Fi in rooms, efficient staff and they even provide a safe in the rooms. Very happy with the hotel, I will come again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    46
    39
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
31
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here are very neat and tidy and the staff are extremely helpful. It's a bit of a walk into the centre but its great to see the locals in action. There are plenty of local or western eats close by. Wifi is good. It was $55 for our room which seems expensive by Asian standards (for what you get) but that seems to be the going rate in Yangon. Change money at a bank rather than the front desk for a better rate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Try to get a room in the front of the hotel. We were in the back and our window faced a brick wall a few inches away so no natural light. We didn't really care as we arrived late and were leaving early to get a flight. the breakfast was pretty basic. It was the best shower, however, that i had in all of Myanmar. There was a lot of water pressure and it was hot!! The a/c worked, and there was wireless internet in the hotel. We also liked having the grocery store a block away b.c. we could just grab some basics to eat as we were suffering from Burma belly at the time. The staff was very nice and helpful. I believe our room was $50, which is pretty good for Rangoon at this time. We also stayed at the Panda, which was $110. I would probably stay here instead since its so much cheaper - particularly if you can get a room in the front. We called the day before and were able to get a reservation, which is fairly unusual in Rangoon at this time, I believe.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have actual windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice small hotel at downtown Yangon.
Rooms are large
Affordable
Quiet
Very clean
Staff's attitude very positive.
Free WIFI in the rooms.
Walking distance to Sule Pagoda
You will enjoy walking toward the Sule Pagoda in the evening thru several small outdoors "street restaurants"

Room Tip: the superior rooms are larger and cost additional 10 USD per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel may not be the Ritz but what it may lack in modern ammenties is certainly more than compensated by the staff.
The staff are the life blood of this small hotel.
From the first day we arrived they made us feel so at home.Smiles , smiles and more smiles is how you are greeted no matter what time of the day or night.
The staff went out their way to accomodate us and nothing was too much trouble.
The hospitality industry in my home town could learn a lot from these guys.
My family and I are so happy we made the choice to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel in October. There are hardly any medium quality hotels. Most of the 1-2 star hotels are overpriced. As this is the start of the tourist season we were told by our guide that prices have tripled at least from the previous year. This is a small one star hotel. Rooms are basic but clean. The air conditioners worked. Hot water can be a bit slow to come depending on the time of the day. There was a small safe in the cupboard.

Breakfast was included in the price. We tried the local breakfast and it turned out quite delicious. The staff were always friendly and helpful. They helped us to get taxis. If you are going to the airport get them to help with a local taxi. Hotel cars can charge up to USD40 one way. While at the airport buy a ticket (6000 kyat) for a local taxi.

The rooms at the back were quite noisy. Somehow the air con pipes discharge water (or was it bath?) directly into a drain and the noise was all night long.

Most hotels (except the high end ones) only accept cash (US dollars or kyat). Make sure you get a receipt. They ask for the total amount upfront. When we checked out they said we only paid for one night. When we showed them them receipt, they stopped asking us.

Hotel is about 25 minutes walk to the Strand. It's about 20-30 minutes walk to Scotts Market. But the weather in October was hot and humid. There are some small shops one can eat from, a bakery and small supermarket nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the hotel. They are noisy from sound of water dripping or pouring into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, rooms were clean and excellent value compared to what I had seen elsewhere in Yangon when I booked.
Fast free wifi that worked in our rooms.
Rooms had all that you can expect, including an in room safe deposit box which was handy.
Easy to get a taxi from hotel to anywhere and also a big supermarket a few minutes walk away to grab some supplies. There are a few nice local restaurants nearby to grab a bite to eat and enjoy a cold Myanmar Beer and tea houses too.
Friendly staff, I cannot fault this place for value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Hotel

Address: 194/196 Bo Myat Tun Street, Pazundaung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel !Located at the heart of Yangon. Within walking distance from Sule Pagoda. Yangon Port, Botahtaung Pagoda, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Central Railway Station, Offices, Shops, Markets and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.