We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Cheaper Place to stay in Yangon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pearl Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pearl Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Pearl Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 215, Botataung Pagoda Road, Pazundaung Tsp., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Davao City, Philippines
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Cheaper Place to stay in Yangon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This inn offers free airport pick up. It has free simple breakfast too. The staffs are approachable if you need assistance. When II arrived, I thought the place is not good, but when I entered, it was very clean especially the room. It has a big room and big toilet. Very clean toilet. The room has small fridge too. You can also exchange dollars at frontdesk. It is near the Botataung Pagoda and some stores.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice and very clean. Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    70
    66
    23
    18
See reviews for
10
77
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

There are not many hostels can be found before you go to Myanmar, so I booked this hotel in advance from hostelbooker. The price is 15USD for a single room with airport pick up. The room is very good compared with many other hostels in this country, with air-con, TV, fridge, but the price is also much more expensive. If you wont stay long and need the airport transport this is definitely a good place, otherwise you can find a much cheaper one with almost half the price.

PS. You can choose to ask them to book bus tickets for you, but they won't tell you there is a service fee, i booked bus to bagan at 20,000kyat, but a friend i met on the bus only pay 18,000kyat booking from another hostel, so the difference 2000 is the service fee which is quite a lot for budget travellers. Taxi as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanYangon, Owner at Ocean Pearl Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Owner is arranging to cut down the bus ticket rate of Tourist , by direct contacting the bus ownwer and ticket agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I have booked for 4 nights but left after 2 due to several reasons:
a) The location is a little far from the town centre
b) The rooms have very clean floorings but ceilings are strange; they either have beams or staircase ceiling right above your head
c) I experienced some itchiness on my thighs; must be some kind of bugs
d) In our booking e-mail, they promised to send me to airport on my checkout but the unfriendly person-in-charge said we will "try" and we "check it". I wasn't happy with such replies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanYangon, Owner at Ocean Pearl Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Guest room is searched for insect at instant and found no insect at all.
We always transfer to airport as per priscribed at the web site and arranged to get economy of the Traveller .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is the only hostel listed on hostelbookers. The rooms smell like pee, tv and fridge didn't work, and the toilet clearly hadn't been cleaned since the previous guest.
Airport pick up is an incentive, but if you walk 20m outside airport gate taxis will take you to the centre for about 4000 kyats (7000 kyats from the airport door).
Everyone I spoke to said that if they were back in Yangon, they'd stay elsewhere.
Location wise, it's not really near anything.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanYangon, Owner at Ocean Pearl Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
If something wrong with the room , can be reported to Manager and require room can be changed .Should not be posted on the Travel forum to damage the guest house reputation .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Mr Than and the crew were always helpful. Booked in late the prior evening and a pick up was arranged for us in the morn. Rooms were v. basic and ours smelt musty. The stairs were a bit of a killer after a long day out and about. All said, the air con worked, we had water and brekie and being out of town it was great to hang out at more local food joints.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

room was clean, not a bug in sight. super comfy bed and pillow, slept like a baby. AC and water heater worked fine, did not experience any power cut at all. breakfast was basic but fortifying. staff are friendly and helpful; helped me to speak to the taxi driver to not only bring me to the bus station but also to show me which was the bus i needed to take. only change money there if need to, otherwise they'd tell you that you can get a better rate downtown at the market. i didn't quite mind the 20-minute walk to Sule Paya, lots of interesting things in between to discover. they were kind enough to give me a ride to the airport on the day i left since they were picking up guests there at the same time. if you make an online booking with them say a month in advance, drop them an email again a day or two before you arrive to reconfirm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Location not perfect but about 20 minute walk to city center. The exterior of the hotel is not inviting. A shopping center with supermarket is just around the corner. Eateries, internet shop, convenience store are just within walking distance. But a $18 for 2 room is just too good to be true with clean room, clean bathroom with hot shower, TV, Ref, new A/C, free breakfast that is filling, free all day drinking water, free airport pickup and even accommodate us with free sent off when we requested, considering that the airport is about 45 minutes drive away. Very much satisfied during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pearl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearl Inn

Address: No. 215, Botataung Pagoda Road, Pazundaung Tsp., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Pearl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Pearl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pearl Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Ocean Pearl Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pearl Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.