We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if not looking for a Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traveller's Budget Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Traveller's Budget Motel to your Saves list
Traveller's Budget Motel
Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Great Home Cooked Meals
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if not looking for a Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 7 days here, after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, it was everything we expected. Janelle & Jack, the owners, made us at home instantly & always introduced us to the other guests. it's a very snug set up, making one feel part of one big family. Loved the kitchen being open & very user friendly, with tables always available to eat at.
The pool was nice too, always clean & inviting.
The motel is an easy 7-10 minute walk to town & the busy market where one can buy fresh, cheap, fruit, veges & yummy bread!
We self catered, but the breakfasts & dinners provided looked brilliant & the guests that partook, all loved their meals & recommended the coconut yoghurt & fresh fruit salad.
Janelle was ultra helpful, giving us plenty of info regarding things to do & places to go.
The staff were lovely, always smiking & obliging.
We were a 5 minute drive to the Airport so very centrally located.
All in all a great place to stay!! thanks Janelle & Jack.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    42
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
100
60
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed with Jack and Janelle for only 3 nights and wished we had a couple more days. The rooms were very tidy and the staff were very friendly. Jack and Janelle were only to happy to impart with knowledge of their Town and the Islands of Vanuatu in general. You can sit around the dining area and get to know other travellers in a real relaxed atmosphere. This place feels more like your catching up with friends than staying in a motel. in future we would only stay here when returning to Vanuatu. If you decide to stay, ask Jack where the local bakery is for doughnuts and croissants you'll be surprised!

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms, so it's a quiet place to stay. However you can ask for a room further a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The decision to leave our already booked (and paid for) accommodation to come to this motel was the best decision of our whole holiday. Within 10 minutes of being there we felt welcome, at home, and knew we had arrived at the place we needed to be. Janelle's advice and assistance in planning the rest of our stay in Vanuatu was exceptional. She really cared about what we wanted out of our holiday and did her utmost to help us fulfil that. Jack and Janelle, the owners of this place really care about their guests, to a degree I have never experienced before. Our room was small but comfortable, the pool lovely, the communal kitchen amazing, and fellow travellers easily became friends in the warm and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed 6 days at this property. The rooms are generally quite small, but clean and well equipped. The reason we really enjoyed the stay here however had more to do with the intimate environment of the public area around the central pool and kitchen areas. The feeling is one of being at home with a large family ....whether sharing the small pool, eating at the few large tables or preparing a snack in the kitchen alongside fellow travellers. Jack and Janelle are the owners / hosts and are a constant feature of the dialogue happening in and around the pool and kitchen areas.
We felt comfortable, safe, and at home the whole time we wre there. We also met a number of very interesting fellow travellers ...the type who get off the beaten track a little .... and who are drawn to accommodations like this.
Some highlights for us were some of the homecooked meals (the lemon meringue pie and osso bucco were two items of note), fresh flowers every day, the pool, and the home-away-from-home feel. There were also some very good restaurants a short walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms are located around the perimeter of the small pool / courtyard area so are of equal comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is such a welcoming place to start your stay in Vanuatu. Hosts Janelle and Jack couldn't have done more for us (two senior women)! Advanced us local cash, made fresh lime juice for our gins, made well-informed helpful suggestions for tours etc. Rooms spotless, aircon and fan, ensuite, lovely pool, fab breakfasts at a reasonable cost - try their fruit salad (!!). About a ten minute walk to town. Only criticism was noise made by incoming guests in the middle of the night - can't blame J and J for that! Couldn't do better for the price.

Room Tip: There is a 5 bed room foro groups. We had Room 4 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days on our way to tanna (where we stayed at White Grass - see other review) and then at another resort in Port Vila(which was a true resort) on our return. Seriously this is not a resort or a hotel and at very best a clean backpacker hostel. this should not be ranked where it is and it makes a joke of any rating system! We were certainly expecting something miles better. If this had been advertised for what it is - a very basic hostel in the back waters of Port Vila (no where near the city or the ocean) then I would have rated it accordingly. the owners are nice enough but clearly when compared to other properties we stayed in both in tanna and Port Vila there is no comparison. Should be listed under B&B!! Only stay here if you are on a really reallly limited budget and don't mind being away from anything touristy and the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle C, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are sorry that these people did not enjoy their stay at Traveller's. We are a melting pot for many international tourists who regularly stay at our Budget Motel/Hotel and use it as a meeting place to exchange fascinating stories and to go on further to discover Vanuatu. It is a stopover for them to be able to recoup, have a hot shower, see a bit of Vila and move on to the amazing islands of Vanuatu.
We are certainly not trying to be a Resort and consider ourselves very similar to a Bed & Breakfast at a budget price close to Vila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Jack and Janelle run a fantastic homely spot in Vila. Clean rooms, home cooking and a friendly atmosphere. Like a hostel for grown ups. A pool, a nakamal (in this case a nakaelle!) and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traveller's Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Budget Motel

Address: Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Traveller's Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller's Budget Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traveller's Budget Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.