We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality, Excellent Rooms, Excellent Advice. A++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traveller's Budget Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Traveller's Budget Motel to your Saves list
Traveller's Budget Motel
Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
* Free Cont B/F WiFi
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Mosman, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality, Excellent Rooms, Excellent Advice. A++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When looking around for accomodation in Port Villa I stumbled upon the Traveller's Budget Motel on a Google search. I didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a friendly smile by Janelle-at about mid-night when I arrived. I was quickly shown around the place and instantly felt at home. The rooms are clean and tidy, the staff are excellent and the owners Janelle and Jack are excellent hosts. Being a warmer climate it was refreshing having a pool to utilise be it morning, during the day or late evening. The motel is conveniently located with short stroll to main town of Port Villa. Anyone who is thinking of staying Traveller's Budget Motel, there is NO need to worry. My experience was absolutely excellent. I highly recommend a short or long stay at this facillity. I am sure you will be delighted too!!
ps- You have to try the breakfast and fruit salad offerings in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    42
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
100
59
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

When planning our trip we researched some of the more pricey options available on Port Vila, but based on the shining reviews Traveller's Budget Motel had received, we decided to book and avoid blowing our budget and it did not disappoint. We had a brilliant time in Port Vila and choosing to stay here really made it :)

Room facilities - We booked a private room and it was very clean with nice decor, plenty of room for all our bags, more than adequate bathroom (with hot water), tv ( not that we needed it), fridge etc. There were also comfortable communal kitchen/dining facilities. Our room had both a fan and AC which were useful as it was a little hot and sticky without.

Hostel facilities - My favorite was the pool - I really didn't expect a 'budget' hotel to have such a nice one, spent a lot of time floating around on various pool toys! I can also recommend relaxing and not cooking your own brekkie and try Janelle's fruit salad, fresh and tasty! Other handy things were the ability to rent such as reef shoes, snorkels etc, for a cheaper price than at the beaches. My boyfriend also loved seeing a fridge full of beers available for a reasonable price!

Hostel location - excellent, a short and easy stroll to the town (shops, restaurants etc), frequent public transport outside the front door and easy access to the international/domestic airport.

Overall the hostel was a great fit for us, relaxed, clean, full of guests of all ages and different nationalities with helpful lovely hosts. The hosts, Jack and Janelle are just lovely - really really welcoming, full of knowledge and advice (to suit your budget and standard of accommodation preferences) and genuine care that you were making the most of your holiday. Not to mention the cute in house doggy, Cinderella. I have to say that Janelle was so warm and caring and gave great advice. I am a bit of a 'princess', and it was great to have someone honestly advise where we should stay in Tanna to have the best experience minus the typically scary bits on Tanna like rats...She also helped us figure out where we should stop and visit around the island when we hired a car, was great to have that insider knowledge!

I will be highly recommending a stay at this hostel to friends who should visit Port Vila in the future. And I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

At first sight this seems to be just an ordinary motel with a pleasant pool and garden. But it does not take long before you realize what an ideal base it is for exploring not just Port Vila but Vanuatu as a whole. Other reviewers had already spoken of the wonderful hosts that Jack and Janelle are and I can only confirm that, but it goes beyond hospitality. It was amazing what a fount of information and personal impressions they are of all of the country and its islands, and if you are trying to puzzle out your logistics and priorities for Tanna or Pentecost, Janelle can cue you in better than any tour operator and put you in touch with the right people.

The other big plus in staying there is the incredible socialization that goes on with other travellers, especially in the evening. I had a difficult time with my usual practice of keeping up a journal in the evenings as I found it hard to tear myself away from the interaction with fellow guests from all over the world, comparing notes about Vanuatu or other Pacific destinations, getting up a group to go kava drinking or visit a museum or market.

The motel is only a 20-30 minute walk to "downtown" along a beautiful seaside road, but in any case it is easy to catch a bus just outside the motel. Jack and Janelle can readily suggest dining possibilities, from cheapies to fine dining. I stayed in a dorm the first couple of days, then indulged in the luxury of a private room when I came back from Tanna. Both were perfectly clean and comfortable and it was just a matter of balancing lower cost and company vs privacy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bungwahl
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After staying at TBM in Feb13 my son strongly recommended that we use TBM as a hub/base for exploring the wonders of Vanuatu. What a great suggestion! This place is fantastic and Janelle and Jack were wonderfully knowledgeable, warm and have a great philosophy when it comes to assisting and enjoying fellow travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Central, Fiji
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you're looking for a homely atmosphere, great food, clean rooms and super friendly people (guests and staff), stay in the Traveller's Motel. It really is a wonderful place!
Thanks for a great week, Jack & Janelle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Janelle and Jack couldn't have been more helpful. Room had all that was needed. Comfy bed, hot shower, internet, kitchenette and clean. Close to town and transport at the door. Best travel advice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The service was awesome, very Friendly Staff, Home away from home.
Clean Place
Good location, best value.
Breakfast is good
Wifi is very handy
Bathroom Is clean
Will Definitely come back
Totally recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traveller's Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Budget Motel

Address: Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Traveller's Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller's Budget Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traveller's Budget Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.