We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traveller's Budget Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Traveller's Budget Motel to your Saves list
Traveller's Budget Motel
Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
* Free Cont B/F WiFi
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at Traveller's for 2 1/2 weeks at the end of November 2011. It was fantastic.

The location is great, an easy 10 min walk from town. There's a little shop less than a minute away if you realise you forgot any essentials and a larger shop with French imports just up the road if you don't want to walk to town. The motel is near the municipal stadium so I ended up going to the Vanuatu v Solomons world cup qualifier which was lots of fun.

The motel itself has a fully equipped kitchen so you can cook for yourself if you choose but there are also lots of good restaurants around Port Vila if you're feeling lazy.

The pool is lovely, warm enough and clean. Very nice for those hot days after you've walked back from town.

The bathrooms and rooms are very clean. Lilly and the rest of the cleaning staff will happily supply you with new sheets or towels when desired.

Jack and Janelle, the managers, are extremely friendly and will do whatever they can to ensure that you enjoy your time in Vanuatu. Janelle knows all about the tours and excursions that are on offer, and if you're looking for a more unique experience she'll do everything she can to help you sort it out. She spent hours making arrangements for me and took all the stress out of it. Her recommendations were great and ensured that I had a fantastic time in Vila.

Thanks Jack and Janelle!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    42
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
100
59
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed somewhere else on our first night on Efate, while it was a bit cheaper than Traveller's it was nowhere near as good value. We wished we had gone to Traveller's first, it is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, esp. Jack, Edmond and Lily, who will help in anyway they can with any request. It is really clean and well equipped. Instead of trying to extract as much money as possible from guests, Traveller's provides everything you need to prepare your own meals which helps save money. We stayed at Traveller's again when we came back to Efate and would not hesitate to recommend it to people who don' want to spring for a hotel but want somewhere clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: we stayed in a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't have been happier with our choice. Jack is an amazing host, made us feel at home immediately and we truly felt we had a helpful friend there for us. On top of that, the rooms are great and spotless clean. The swimming pool is also a big bonus. We'd recommend this place to anyone going to port vila. We only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed for a night at travellers as we were only stopping over in Port Vila between flights. We wish we could have stayed longer! Jack and Janelle are the perfect hosts and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived!
Rooms : The room we were in was small but very clean and well maintained. It had good airconditioning (many places as we found do not have this in Vanuatu!) and the bathroom was clean. Very quiet and we slept like logs during our stay!
Food: We had a delicious breakfast cooked by Jack the following morning of eggs, toast and fruit salad!
Location: Travellers is very well located if you want to explore Vila. You can get a bus from the front door or it is about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Port Vila. The motel is located on a quiet street. Many of the resorts in Vila are a long way from town so it is worth taking this in to account if you intend on dining in town.
Service: Absolutely top class. As previously mentioned, the hosts will go out of their way to make suggestions or recommendations for day trips, dining and any other activities you would like to partake in. The 'local' information is great as we could not find much in the way of tourist information in Port Vila.
We would stay here again. We are in our 30's and are not 'backpacker' types but we felt this hotel was far above the standards of the usual backpacker type lodgings. This is more like a motel than a backpackers. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This place is extremely friendly and comfortable for any traveller. It has a great sense of feeling at home and safe. It has a beautiful relaxing atmosphere to enjoys life's simplest things like meeting new people. The owners are fantastic and are willing to help anybody about absolutely anything! Prices are cheap and hospitality is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

My best friend and I are two 20yeqr old backpackers, we travel a lot and can happily day this is the friendliest, most affordable Haven we have eer stayed in..

We arrived very late at night to be greeted with a cuddle from Janelle (the owner), she had waited up for us and showed us to our room, we slept like babies, it was very comfortable and just what we needed.

Breakfast was amazing, fresh fruit and fresh bread at super good value.

Jack and Janelle were just so friendly to us, they are very patient and happy to explain their own experiences and tell you honestly where to avoid. Janelle has a knowledge of some hidden gems where the tourists don't generally go. After speaking to her for in all 20 minutes over breakfast we had decided on flying to Tanna the very next day. Janelle organised EVERYTHING for us, from horseback riding, treehouse accomodation to waterfall trekking and a volcano tour, she's the absolute business and has great connections.

After returning from our amazing 4 day stay in Tanna we chose to stay with jack and Janelle again. Whilst we were away they looked after a bulk of our luggage and locked our Fijian currency safely away.

Jack helped me to fix my memory card as he has a computering background, he gave me a brand new one. Jack is lovely, he reminded us of a smiling bear. He's always smiling or laughing about something, as is Janelle.

They even let us stay in our own private room yet only charged us the price of a dorm room, if that's not going above then I don't know what is. The room was lovely, hot water, comfy beds, even milk in the fridge.

The pool is clean and surrounded by lovely plants. It's a very short 10 minute walk into the main town.

We had a wonderful time staying with jack and Janelle (as everyone else does) they cater for everyone and have become our best friends in Vanuatu. We can't wait to stay with you both again. You made our trip to Vanuatu.

Thank you Jack and Janelle,

Marianne and Harry

Xxx

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Janet B (Patti)

My recent stay in Vanuatu was made even more awesome by Jack and Janelle's hospitality, clean rooms with squeaky clean bathrooms (a must!!!). My needs were facilitated as fast as they were articulated. During my two week stay in Vanuatu I had to travel to other islands and stayed in three other really nice hotels but nothing could beat the feeling of "going home' when I was returning to Traveller's. (the feeling surprised even me!!).
Thanks again Jack and Janelle. Best wishes. Happy Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traveller's Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Budget Motel

Address: Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate 678, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Traveller's Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller's Budget Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traveller's Budget Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.