We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seachange Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seachange Lodge to your Saves list
Seachange Lodge
Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Friend and I stayed at the Lagoon Cottage for 3 nights during Easter and really enjoyed our stay. Lodge is located in a private, serene, residential area, just a few blocks away from the bustle of the City Centre and right opposite a Kawa Bar. Note that the cottages are accessible by a very steep driveway so it can be a struggle for cars or people with injuries/disabilities.

The lagoon was literally at our doorstep and provided magnificent views. It is not exactly meant for swimming (marshy soil) but we had access to a clear bottom canoe. Lagoon cottage had two rooms with ensuites and a small kitchen & lounge area attached to the Master bedroom. Second room had separate access from the deck. Rooms were pleasant and had all basic amenities but the 2nd room was a little musty and triggered my (dust) allergies, so we didn't use it.
Lodge has recently been taken over by Ian who is still making up for the neglect in recent years. Ian was very helpful and went out of this way to make our stay comfortable. Overall, very happy with the stay, it is not a 5 star resort but a great value for money and I would recommend it if you wished to stay close to city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    24
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
35
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Seachange Lodge is a nice resort located on the lagoon side of Port Vila in Vanuatu. The accommodation options range from studios to chalets and cottages. Ian looked after us very well. He came to receive us at the airport after a last minute delay ensured that we arrived at the odd time of 4:30am. As two young women travelling alone, we appreciated this very much. Ian also upgraded us to the Garden Cottage which is spacious with beautiful views.
Ian was able to recommend an itinerary for us and arranged for us to be escorted to a reputable Kava bar with a local resident Andrew. Kava bars tend to be dark places frequented by local men and can be very imposing for a visitor to venture into alone. Kudos to Ian for looking after us so well.
Seachange Lodge is about a 20 minute walk from central Port Vila. It is a very beautiful and economical option for a stay in Vanuatu. The rooms were a little dusty and could use a better clean more often. At the time of our stay, Ian had only been running the place a few months so some things can be excused.
Upon our return to Port Vila from Tanna, we had a few hours to our flight back to Australia and Ian arranged for us to leave our bags at Seachange Lodge until it was time to go to the airport.
I would definitely recommend Seachange Lodge to anyone looking for a reliable and beautiful place to stay in Port Vila. Thanks for a wonderful experience Ian!

Room Tip: The waterside chalet and garden cottage have direct access to the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Had a quick flick through some old bad reviews on tripadvisor, obviously a management change has taken place in the last couple of years. The new management is fantastic, Ian was wonderful, the bungalow on the lagoon fantastic, garden a delight. Yes it is steep down to the lagoon but if you really can't walk to it maybe you should consider raising your fitness level! Holidays are about experiences & you cannot have a better experience than staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nestled on Eroka Lagoon, water lapping at your door and the sun peering through the shutters. A stylish and comfortable unit (Too flash to call a hut). Accommodating hosts, an efficient cleaner and friendly and helpful gardeners all teamed together with the sounds of Cong shells bellowing and the laughter of happy kids swimming with pleasant greetings from the locals as they drift past on the handmade outrigger canoes as they fish for the days meal.
Thank you Rick and Wendy for a most pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Honeymoon suite on the lagoon, even if you're not on a honeymoon...it will surely fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Our family ( 2 adults, 2 little kids) stayed in the waterside chalet in April. The location was great, an easy 5 to 10 minute walk to the center of town, supermarkets etc. The owners were lovely people and were so willing to give suggestions and advice. Our kids loved searching the coral beach when the tide was low and also loved going out on the kayak and motorboat. The accomodation was very luxurious and couldnt be faulted. It was a great family holiday

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Gorgeous, quiet and, after a month of bungalows, remarkably luxurious. Super clean. Fantastic hospitality. Perfect, absolutely perfect. Rick knows tons and is a generous polyglot soul. It is only fifteen minutes walk to the center of Port Vila. It was perfect for us: luxury to end the trip but not a resort. Discrete. Mellow. Fantastic.

Room Tip: One of the lodges near the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed in the waterside chalet..... fully contained bungalow style chalet with private Jetty.... It was perfect... It's not luxury holidaying, but it is the closest thing you get to it without paying huge dollars... spa overlooking the water, private jetty, comfy bed, kitchenette, really nice bathroom. Incredibly relaxing place to stay. It's a good 20 min walk to port villa - but theres not a lot in port villa anyway.... get a scooter and see all of efate and then that wont be a problem. The owners/hosts were so friendly and accommodating as well.... go straight to their website for best prices..... I will go back again and again

Room Tip: pay a little extra and get the chalet - you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seachange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seachange Lodge

Address: Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special place for special people, with an ambience you can't buy. Six units tucked away in an exotic tropical garden. It’s like visiting a friend's house instead of being in a commercial resort. From the Waterside Chalet, to the Garden Cottage that is ideal for two couples or a family group, to the single room studios, the care to detail makes Seachange Lodge that very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Seachange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seachange Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seachange Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.