We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seachange Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seachange Lodge to your Saves list
Seachange Lodge
Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Just Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Seachange Lodge for the first few nights of our honeymoon. We had a lovely time and Rick you were a great host. We stayed at the Waterside Chalet which was beautiful - very private and secluded and just what we were after. The use of the motorised dingy was fantastic. We loved our stay with you guys and would highly recommend your place to anyone. Rick also was kind enough to offer us a ride in his car to our next destination saving us $$$ on a taxi ride - many thanks for that. Thanks again, Rich and Fern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    24
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
35
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Seachange Lodge is one of the nicest places we have stayed at, especially the Waterside Chalet. Romance, tranquility and pure comfort! The spa bath is amazing, even the candles are there, ready for use.
In the beginning we also stayed a couple of nights in the garden cottage and loved it as well. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished and there is a huge DVD selection to cuddle up and watch movies in your studio when you return from sight-seeing and delicious dinners.
The garden is beautiful, too!
Wendy and Rick are the perfect hosts, very generous, caring and really interesting people. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take the Waterside Chalet with spa, it really is beautiful. For a budget solut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Seachange Lodge. We decided on the Waterside Chalet, being located right on the ocean's edge. We were very pleased with our decision. Peacefull with a beautiful view of the lagoon, all the colours of the amazing garden, etc.. etc.. This is truly an amazing place. Wendy and Rick were true hosts, very caring and open to talk with. I have also stayed at various other places in Port Vila, such as Iririki Island, The Melanesian. I believe that Seachange Lodge presents real value considering the rates that are being charged and its centralized location, while still being on the ocean.

We wil return.

Veronique and Denis

Room Tip: If you are looking for a real escape, choose the waterside chalet as there is no internet, a spa, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't have being happy with our stay at seachange, garden cottage. With our two boys 5 and 8mths the 2 bedroom house was awesome it really was like a home away from home. Wendy and Rick were more than accommodating and always happy to help both really lovely people. I went along to church with Wendy on the Sunday at a local village what a beautiful experience the locals singing and big smiles were just beautiful. Isobel did a fantastic job watching our youngest such a warm friendly lady. :-)...the Gardens and lagoon backdrop at seachange you never tire at admiring and be sure to ask Rick and Wendy where their fav French restaurant is, it's walking distance and as we were told by Wendy the steak just melts in your mouth that it did yummmm....We would highly recommending staying here that is if u would like to experience Vanuatu out of a five star resort the best way to describe it is a home away from home we loved it, thank u :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I and three children (aged 4 -10) stayed in the cottage at Seachange for about 10 nights (some at the begining and the remainder at the end of our trip). Seachange is well located being walking distance to shops, a range of restaurants and supermarkets while still being a quiet and tranquil place to stay. We enjoyed the views of the lagoon from the verandah of the cottage. The children enjoyed swimming in the pool and walking around the garden to discover different tropical plants and orchids that Wendy kindly pointed out to us. Rick and Wendy were very helpful throughout our stay with valuable sugestions and advice and breakfast supplies when we arrived and returned. It was never too much trouble for them to take time to engage with our children and answer their many questions. The cottage is spacious and was always cleaned to a high standard. When we asked about going to a local church service Wendy took us to one. The Lelepa Island tour that Wendy recommended was a highlight of our stay in Vanuatu.I have no hesitation in recommending Seachange.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely views over the lagoon where you can watch the local fisherman in their canoes and village fires on the other side. Beautiful Gardens. Lovely Clean rooms which were serviced every day while we were there. Rick and Wendy were very helpful and gave lots of advice. They are also very passionate about helping the local school children. We loved taking their tinny/dinghy to explore the lagoon, which was free of charge. They also have a clear canoe which was fun. This is a great location to explore Port Vila with the main street, markets and museum within easy walking distance. We checked out their website before going and took school supplies over with us and Rick directed us to the local school, alternitavely you can leave supplies with them. Thanks Rick and Wendy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lagoon view room. The waterfront although more expensive looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I holidayed in Vanuatu for 2 weeks at the beginning of September. From the start Wendy and Rick were kind and helpful. They had arranged our transport from the airport and some breakfast for the next morning as our flight from Australia arrived at midnight.

We hoped to visit Ambrym and Tanna to see the volcanoes. When we arrived the weather was wet and we were reluctant to rush off. We were able to extend our stay at Seachange while we waited for the weather to clear and got our trips to the other islands organized. We were then able to use Seachange as our base, we went first to Ambrym, back to Port Vila, then off to Tanna and back to Port Vila before returning to Australia. Wendy and Rick stored our excess luggage while we were away.

All together we stayed in both Studios and the Waterside Chalet, they were all clean and tidy and we enjoyed each one. For me the wifi access was a bonus not a priority and yes it is only available near the house and around the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seachange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seachange Lodge

Address: Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special place for special people, with an ambience you can't buy. Six units tucked away in an exotic tropical garden. It’s like visiting a friend's house instead of being in a commercial resort. From the Waterside Chalet, to the Garden Cottage that is ideal for two couples or a family group, to the single room studios, the care to detail makes Seachange Lodge that very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Seachange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seachange Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seachange Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.