We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for family and friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cocomo Resort to your Saves list
Cocomo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu (Formerly Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for family and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The Lagoon beach Resort is a must if you're travelling with family and friends. Especially children as they are well catered for. They have the run of the place and they are safe because the staff at Lagoon Beach Resort are always looking out for them. Lagoon Beach Resort also has a Kindy for the Locals and holdiay visitors can attend anytime. They can participate in all sorts of arts and crafts etc. In the holidays there is something planned for them to do everyday. As a parent who wants to kick back and relax and not have to worry about the children, it's perfect. The babysitters are excellent too. The Lagoon Beach Resort is beautiful. It isn't a huge ***** star hotel, it's better. It's private and quaint and has everything you need and more. The staff are only to happy to help you and they make your stay easy and enjoyable. We had a wonderful time and will return again and again. Things to do... Definitely the Congoola Cruise. It's a must. Snorkling, Hire a beach buggy and drive around the island. Many restaurants to try. Thank you again to Naomi and the staff at Lagoon Beach Resort for making our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandaellesswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We spent a week here with a group of 13 adult friends and our 2.5 year old daughter. We booked 6 months in advance and got a great deal for 3 apartments, which were all next to each other. We also booked and paid for the transfers to and from the airport which made life really easy.

Wesley met us at the airport and whisked us to the accommodation. Even though we arrived at midnight, everything was in order.

The apartments are very spacious, with two floors. Bottom floor has large outdoor deck with table and chairs, indoor TV/DVD area with lounges, dining table, and very good kitchen. Stove is gas which is excellent, with microwave and oven. Large fridge/freezer is great. Plenty of kitchen utensils etc so you can easily cook for yourself the whole time you are away if you want. 5 minute walk to local corner store to get food and groceries.

Upstairs is master bedroom with aircon and TV/DVD, very good bathroom with great shower, washing and drying machine. Washing machine is top loader so could be a good idea to bring top loader powder from home for that. Other bedroom also has aircon, and all rooms have ample storage (pull out drawers).

Upstairs also has small balcony with chairs off the master bedroom.

Downstairs does not have aircon, but has a good ceiling fan.

We didn't get to look inside the villas down on the water but they look very very nice.

The grounds at Lagoon Beach are fantastic - pristine gardens, flowers, palms etc. About 4 or 5 hammocks around the gardens to lounge in. Lounge beds down by the water (on the lagoon, more a largish river).

There is a massive kids playground right in the middle of the gardens, which is simply amazing, complete with flying fox! Our 2 year old spent most of her time here, interacting with other kids.

The pool is fairly small, but suitable for kids. Not really that good for adults, but you just go to another resort to lounge about and eat and drink.

The pool bar does great coffee, and the food is good too. They will put on a BBQ one night for you if you ask, each person charged 1500 Vatu ($18 AUD) which is great value. All food purchased here can be charged back to your room.

Full size beach volleyball court, also table tennis and kayaks, all free for use.

Felix (local employee) is amazing with his recommendations of what to do (and he will ring local operators for you free of charge and tee it all up). He always pops in to see how you are, and what you have been up to. If you want, he will take you out and show you the island on his day off for a very very reasonable fee. We did it and it was just an amazing day - he really made the trip memorable!

No internet in rooms, but there is internet available at the front desk or wifi in the bar area (300 Vatu ($4 AUD) per hour per room).

TV channels are Star World (Asia variety channel) and channel 7/9 (Australia).

There are no gym facilities at Lagoon Beach, but there is a good running and exercise track across the road near the stadium.

Buses are very easy to get out on the front road (never wait more than a minute or so, even at night).

Babysitting is ridiculously cheap (300 Vatu per hour, or $4 AUD). We used it once and our daughter spent the evening with Lily, an amazing local lady. I felt that $4 an hour was not fair for Lily so paid her substantially more, but even that was till very cheap compared to what you would pay in Australia.

The location is very quiet and peaceful. You do get the odd aircraft taking off (most of Vila gets aircraft noise due to proximity to the airport) but the jets only depart during the day (mainly afternoon) so it is not a problem.

The staff are wonderful. Naomi is the manager and she is an expat Aussie so really makes you feel at home. Very helpful with recommendations, and never put out by our constant questions!

We didn't use the Coconut Kindy but saw the Ni-van kids there a lot and it looked really great for youngsters.

Lagoon Beach would be highly suitable for couples, as it really is very quiet, and you barely see the other guests (unless your kids meet in the playground!). The villas are quite separate to the apartments so are more private.

We had a fantastic time at Lagoon Beach and will definitely be back - it was just superb!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We just came back from our holiday/wedding at Lagoon Beach Resort and we had a wonderful time! The resort is very beautiful, lot's of trees, nice and green. The apartment was perfect for the four of us, with everything that you need to make your daily life with small kids easy :) Our children (2 and 4 years) loved playing at the (big) playground, the beach, the kayaks and the pool. Because it wasn't a schoolholiday, there was no kids club, but still they got enough entertainment. They were welcome at mrs Annies kindie as well, so that was lovely.
We got married at the resort and we had the best time ever. The staff took such good care of us and they really helped us with everything. A very relaxed and happy atmosphere, just great!
Thank you Naomi, Felix, Wesley, and all the staff from the pool/kitchen for making our holiday and wedding unforgetable!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aloeette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday in Vanuatu and were delighted with the accomodation we chose. The staff were friendly but unobtrusive. Available when required but we were left alone to relax and enjoy the peace and solitude the location provided. Close to town but you felt you were in the country. The grounds were beautifully maintained and expansive. Lots of open spaces and our room looked out on the Lagoon across manicured lawns and superb shade trees. Apartments were awesome with open plan living and kitchen downstairs while upstairs had 2 big bedrooms with balcony. Warm, sunny, private and restful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick007Mooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tieri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I cannot say enough about Lagoon Beach, the wonderful staff and absolutely amazing manager of the resort Naomi, my partner and I were just married at Lagoon Beach and it was truly the most wonderful time of my life and its all thanks to the above mentioned. Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou xx

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This place is a hidden gem - providing everything needed for a quiet relaxing time to chill out from the stresses of life. Very quiet yet convenient to everything. Staff were fantastic and location stunning. Would I go back there....you bet!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueQldAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Wow what a great place to stay.
Service was outstanding, Naomi the manager was so accomodating going out of her way to loom after the 7 of us.
Could not ask for better value, it worked out so cheap for the style of accomodation.
Staff all friendly and the food in the cafe is worth a try, good value and great food.
Tjhe leisure activities if we had the time are great.
We will be back, for sure

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon Resort & Spa, Vanuatu
3.4 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#3 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
4.3 mi away
Vale Vale Beachfront Villas
Vale Vale Beachfront Villas
#9 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
3.0 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#12 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#17 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomo Resort

Address: Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu (Formerly Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments)
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocomo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Cocomo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Port Vila
Cocomo Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing