We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments

Save Saved
You added Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments
Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 hotels in Port Vila
canberra
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We have been traveling to Vanuatu for 30 years and have stayed just about everywhere. This particular holiday was taken with our extended family and included a 3 & 2 year old.
Needless to stay, a little different to previous holidays, but staying a Lagoon Beach made the holiday perfect. There is a large playground for the kids as well as a designated Kids Club, where they can spend time in a wonderfully safe environment. The little sandy beach on the lagoon makes for very safe swimming and the staff are totally involved with everyone's needs. We stayed in an apartment, 4 adults and 2 kids and found them spacious and roomy. If you want more luxurious accommodation the waterfront bungalows are secluded and romantic. This is the only place on Vanuatu where I would definitely take little kids, but it is spread out enough not to feel that they are everywhere. A great choice. Chat to Chris the owner, she will give you loads of information on Port Vila.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
137
46
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We made the booking based on the recommendations from this website and it was PERFECT! We were lucky to have the most private bungalow and with our own little beach and patio right on the lagoon. The lagoon as beautiful and clear and we woke each morning to star fish at our doorstep. The bungalow had all the necessary fittings to be self-contained and thoughtful details for a luxurious stay.

Location was fantastic, with a Kava bar just next door. A quick 15 min ride to the central markets and other good restaurants such as Vila Chaumiere and Sunset Bungalow within walking distance.

Staff were lovely and friendly and extremely professional.

Food from the restaurant for room service was average but more than adquate for a lazy morning breakfast.

There was complimentary kayak and snorkelling gear for guests. Also table tennis equipment, pool and BBQ.

Prices were as for other Nivan tourist facilities, reflecting the import basis of all foreign goods.

The weather was "wet season" for Nov/December but this was humid in a Pacific sense, and not the South east Asian sense. It was beautifully breezy with an occasional cloud cover and light drizzle.

Thank you Vanuatu for a memorable honeymoon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed in Lagoon Beach Resort for a week, and overall found it rather boring locating and rather simple accommodation. It hardly can be called resort, as there is nothing here providing resort feeling or atmosphere. The so-called restaurant is very basic and shamelessly overpriced. The pool area and bar is very small and looks like communal area for toddlers.

The rooms itself is large and dated, but with all basic needs provided. Old TV shows three Australian channels. Despite advertising, Internet is hardly available and one should chase connection through the whole resort’s territory to keep staying online.
This is probably the good place for holidaying with small children, as it’s a kindergarten for local workers right in the Lagoon Beach Resort. But the noise during daytime make it’s rather difficult if you are visiting this place with no little children.

The beach is very small and uninteresting for snorkelling or kayaking.

The worst part - despite the standard practise they charge guest’s credit card in Australian dollars only. So they calculate all expenses in Vats, then they convert it in on there own highly inflated rate into Australian Dollars and charge your card after that. On top on that you will have your own Bank’s normal overseas transaction fees. On normal practice they should charge you in Vat and then your own bank converts it in your local currency. As a result of host’s practice, they overcharge guest by at least 10%. To avoid being overcharges pay them in cash in Vats only. It is easy to buy/sell almost any major currency in Port Villa at rather favorable rates. BUYERS BEWARE!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

This is our second time in 2 years here and it fits perfectly what we want for a relaxing holiday with our young children aged 2 and 5. The staff are amazing, so genuine and friendly, my 2 year old played for ages with Kevin everyday (who should really be on TV with his dance moves!!), they loved going to the kindy the owner provides for free to the staff's and local children, safely playing in the playground and tinkering around the lagoon. Everyone else describes the resort perfectly, but I want to say its the people there that make it special and thus the place seems so 'homely' rather then 'resorty'. We'll be back again next year. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We went to Vanuatu to get married at Lagoon Beach Resort in March, and had about 30 of our friends and family come as well. The staff at Lagoon Beach are amazing, and organised a fabulous day for us. It rained all day, so unfortunately I didn't get to arrive via the ceremonial canoe (part of the wedding package), but they managed to set things up really well so that we had a wonderful, simple, and stress free day!

The vila (number 20) was amazing, private, and had a wonderful little balcony right over the water. Also had a private beach with chairs to lounge around on! Food at the resort is affordable and simple, but all the units have fully servicable kitchens which is very handy. We had friends staying in all the different accomodation types, and they were all beautiful, clean, well serviced, and in a great location.

Notes for those interested in a wedding:
1. The staff (Natalie was the wedding coordinator) were fabulous, but dont try to organise too much before you arrive, as they do things in island time and will organise everything from the cake to the flowers a couple of days beforehand.
2. Sit down and specify exactly what you want with them - we said we wanted a bar tab, but in addition to that they served cocktails for an hour post ceremony for $25 per head. This was simply due to communication breakdown between us and the resort
3. The wedding will likely be on the beach, you have to walk across the grounds (which have many holes for crabs) and the reception is held in the nakamal which has a packed gravel floor, so dont even think about wearing heels!
4. There is a pool right next to the nakamal, so almost all of our guests ended up swimming for most of the night, and staff served us drinks in the pool which was fabulous
5. Dont stress if guests are staying elsewhere and need to get home that night - the staff are happy to use the resort bus to transport guests, but there are always buses going past (just less frequently at night compared to during the day)
6. The seafood buffet was delicious and noone went hungry at all!
7. Pastor Gideon who did our ceremony (does religious and civil ceremonies) is apparently always an hour early or half and hour late... but he is lovely and married us beautifully.
8. The resort can organise group outings (we went to the Mele Cascades, and out to dinner), and can organise buses, but it is really just as easy and cheaper to use the public buses.

Basically this was a simple wedding with not too many frills which is exactly the way we wanted it. I think that if you want the "perfect" wedding with everything running exactly on time and exactly how you want it then Lagoon Beach, and probably Vanuatu even would not be for you. We didn't want to stress with the niggly little details of a wedding and it was the best day we could have imagined!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the water front villas and absolutely loved it. Such a fantastic, serene atmosphere looking out over the lagoon.

A friend chose to get married at Lagoon Beach, so a large group of us was staying at the resort. The staff were nothing but exceptional - very friendly and organised a fantastic wedding, as well as group tours and activities. Could not fault the service throughout the stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The staff is fabulous, the food is great & very reasonable, they don't charge extra for room service either. They are very helpful and willing to accommodate in any way possible. Listen to Kevin, he has great advice on where to shop and cheap eats & he is good for a laugh, he will most likely meet you at the airport if you organise a transfer.
The grounds are very well kept, with gardeners raking and pruning everyday.
There was a couple of things that I did not like, but these are more personal gripes really. We stayed in vila 17 and at night anyone walking past can see right into your vila. We had to be a bit creative with lighting when using the spa or even just getting into bed. The bathroom is completely open, so the spa, sink, shower and toilet share the same space and there is only a wall dividing it from the rest of the vila. Not that I mind this so much but when you are having a moment because of something you ate not agreeing with you it can be a bit less than romantic and you will wish for that door.
If I was staying there again I would go for the top of the line beach vila, or request number 18 because it seemed to have a bit more growth over the front veranda area so it might be a bit more private.
The last thing i had trouble with was also related to the front doors, because the sun rises at such an early time I rarely slept past 6am which can be frustrating when you are on holidays. The only day I slept past 6am was an overcast day and I got to 7am. There was supposed to be wifi at the resort but they were having issues. They did point me to numbawan cafe which has free internet (they like you to buy something, a can of drink is only 250v which is cheaper than the 500v per day at lagoon beach). All these little gripes were overcome by pool side service for the great cocktails. I recommend the Chocolatini.
Lagoon Beach is not too far out of the way either so you could walk to town in 30-40mins, but the buses also frequently go past and it is only 150v per person. We only once got a taxi back and it was 500v for 3 people so not much more, but you need to negotiate before getting in.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments

Address: Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Port Vila
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.