We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Lagoon Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments
Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wedding at Lagoon Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We went to Vanuatu to get married at Lagoon Beach Resort in March, and had about 30 of our friends and family come as well. The staff at Lagoon Beach are amazing, and organised a fabulous day for us. It rained all day, so unfortunately I didn't get to arrive via the ceremonial canoe (part of the wedding package), but they managed to set things up really well so that we had a wonderful, simple, and stress free day!

The vila (number 20) was amazing, private, and had a wonderful little balcony right over the water. Also had a private beach with chairs to lounge around on! Food at the resort is affordable and simple, but all the units have fully servicable kitchens which is very handy. We had friends staying in all the different accomodation types, and they were all beautiful, clean, well serviced, and in a great location.

Notes for those interested in a wedding:
1. The staff (Natalie was the wedding coordinator) were fabulous, but dont try to organise too much before you arrive, as they do things in island time and will organise everything from the cake to the flowers a couple of days beforehand.
2. Sit down and specify exactly what you want with them - we said we wanted a bar tab, but in addition to that they served cocktails for an hour post ceremony for $25 per head. This was simply due to communication breakdown between us and the resort
3. The wedding will likely be on the beach, you have to walk across the grounds (which have many holes for crabs) and the reception is held in the nakamal which has a packed gravel floor, so dont even think about wearing heels!
4. There is a pool right next to the nakamal, so almost all of our guests ended up swimming for most of the night, and staff served us drinks in the pool which was fabulous
5. Dont stress if guests are staying elsewhere and need to get home that night - the staff are happy to use the resort bus to transport guests, but there are always buses going past (just less frequently at night compared to during the day)
6. The seafood buffet was delicious and noone went hungry at all!
7. Pastor Gideon who did our ceremony (does religious and civil ceremonies) is apparently always an hour early or half and hour late... but he is lovely and married us beautifully.
8. The resort can organise group outings (we went to the Mele Cascades, and out to dinner), and can organise buses, but it is really just as easy and cheaper to use the public buses.

Basically this was a simple wedding with not too many frills which is exactly the way we wanted it. I think that if you want the "perfect" wedding with everything running exactly on time and exactly how you want it then Lagoon Beach, and probably Vanuatu even would not be for you. We didn't want to stress with the niggly little details of a wedding and it was the best day we could have imagined!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the water front villas and absolutely loved it. Such a fantastic, serene atmosphere looking out over the lagoon.

A friend chose to get married at Lagoon Beach, so a large group of us was staying at the resort. The staff were nothing but exceptional - very friendly and organised a fantastic wedding, as well as group tours and activities. Could not fault the service throughout the stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The staff is fabulous, the food is great & very reasonable, they don't charge extra for room service either. They are very helpful and willing to accommodate in any way possible. Listen to Kevin, he has great advice on where to shop and cheap eats & he is good for a laugh, he will most likely meet you at the airport if you organise a transfer.
The grounds are very well kept, with gardeners raking and pruning everyday.
There was a couple of things that I did not like, but these are more personal gripes really. We stayed in vila 17 and at night anyone walking past can see right into your vila. We had to be a bit creative with lighting when using the spa or even just getting into bed. The bathroom is completely open, so the spa, sink, shower and toilet share the same space and there is only a wall dividing it from the rest of the vila. Not that I mind this so much but when you are having a moment because of something you ate not agreeing with you it can be a bit less than romantic and you will wish for that door.
If I was staying there again I would go for the top of the line beach vila, or request number 18 because it seemed to have a bit more growth over the front veranda area so it might be a bit more private.
The last thing i had trouble with was also related to the front doors, because the sun rises at such an early time I rarely slept past 6am which can be frustrating when you are on holidays. The only day I slept past 6am was an overcast day and I got to 7am. There was supposed to be wifi at the resort but they were having issues. They did point me to numbawan cafe which has free internet (they like you to buy something, a can of drink is only 250v which is cheaper than the 500v per day at lagoon beach). All these little gripes were overcome by pool side service for the great cocktails. I recommend the Chocolatini.
Lagoon Beach is not too far out of the way either so you could walk to town in 30-40mins, but the buses also frequently go past and it is only 150v per person. We only once got a taxi back and it was 500v for 3 people so not much more, but you need to negotiate before getting in.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Lagoon Beach Resort not only offers great apartments but it has 4 stunning villas which compete with any of the 5 star villa's on the Island. In fact, I wouldnt hesitate in saying that these villas are some of the best ive stayed in.
The Villa i stayed in (number 19) was stunning. It had a kitchen which I used to cook the fresh fish the owner caught and shared with me.
Great balcony which was just feet away from the lagoon and star fish.
Great location - only a 10 min drive to Port Vila.
I LOVE THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We Returned To Vanuatu in May 2009 with our children aged 18 and 23 to celebrate the renewal of our wedding vows.We are so glad we chose Lagoon Beach! Our day was made so special with the lovely flowered arch and beautiful leis handmade by Alice and co.
We will always remember Kevin dancing to his favourite song from our wedding selection (and repeating it over and over so that he could dance again) Alice and Kevin were so lovely to us we wanted to adopt them and take them home with us.
We also really enjoyed the lengthy volleyball game with some of the local boys and staff when they tried to teach our crew the techniques of the game. after racking my brain for a negative tho only thing I could come up with is that the couches are so deep we had to bring down our pillows to support our backs and necks . we were even taken on an evening paddle to the restaurant up the lagoon by the night watchman as a bonus. This place is a must for young and old and beautifully kept. truly the friendliest place we have been to. Tricia,Graeme Tenille and Brenton.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed in a beautifully renovated 2 bedroom apartment, although they also have wonderful villas that sit over the lagoon. The apartment was laid out in a 2 story townhouse style with lounge, dining and kitchen downstairs that lead out to a lovely deck with views over the garden and Erakor lagoon. The furniture was contemporary beach style.

Upstairs, along with the bedrooms was a bathroom that incorporated a washing machine and dryer - a must for families. Our bedroom also had its own private deck that overlooked the lagoon.

The whole apartment was air-conditioned, a must for the hot months of Jan/Feb/March in Vanuatu.

The food was excellent, especially Alice's banana pancakes for breakfast - a real treat. No lunch required after this meal.

Our friendly hosts were happy to pick us up or drop us off at the airport and any time we wanted to go to town, we only had to ask.

The resort is quite close to town - only about 5 minutes.

Thank you for a wonderful stay - we will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Park Sth Aust
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We used Trip Advisor to locate Lagoon Beach Resort and are so glad we did. My Husband, 16 year old son and myself loved every minute of our 10 night stay. We travelled in Nov/Dec 09, lucked in with the weather and even a small earth tremor didn’t rattle us! What you see on the Lagoon Beach Resort Website is what you get; A two storey fully self contained apartment ideal for families who like to have their own space, immaculate gardens, a pool that isn’t huge but certainly suitable for those who just need a dip to cool off, friendly and helpful staff, all at a very reasonable cost. I had always said that if was going to travel I did not want to go to the same place twice. After staying at LBR we are planning to go back again in 2010.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments

Address: Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Port Vila
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.